CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Are Cyberlink products ready for Windows 11
Reply to this topic
Esseff [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Oct 10, 2020 16:47 Messages: 62 Offline
[Post New]
I ask because W11 is now a thing so it's only a matter of time until I upgrade. And this is kind of a global question as I also use Photo Director and Screenrecorder and am looking at Audio Director too.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7711 Offline
[Post New]
I imagine that CL is well aware of Win11 and will looking to make sure their apps will be compatible when the new OS is officially released, although there have been plenty of times when updates to Windows or nVidia drivers have crippled CL products.

With that said, I've been running Win11 on my Surface Book 3 for about a month and haven't seen any compatibility issues with any of the installed apps aside from a single issue with an older nVidia driver and the discrete GTX1660Ti GPU.

I have subscription versions of PD, SR4, AD, CD, PHD installed along with Office, Quicken, New Blue Titler Pro 7 and several Topaz AI photo tools, and so far they all work normally. Note that I haven't tried any exhaustive testing on that machine but nothing has come up during casual use.

If anyone else is running Win11 and sees an issue with any CL product, I think the best thing to do is to report it directly to CL tech support from this page. Reporting it here in this thread would alert fellow users as well.

BTW I'm currently running version 21H2 OS build 22000.100

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul 29. 2021 14:52

Reply
Esseff [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Oct 10, 2020 16:47 Messages: 62 Offline
[Post New]
Quote With that said, I've been running Win11 on my Surface Book 3 for about a month and haven't seen any compatibility issues with any of the installed apps aside from a single issue with an older nVidia driver and the discrete GTX1660Ti GPU.


A bit off-topic but:
How are you finding W11 so far. Is there a lot of bloatware. Any general performance issues? Is it user-friendly? Thoughts? Curious minds need to know.... laughing
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7711 Offline
[Post New]
My take is that it's not a huge change. The update to Win11 was very quick and took less time than some regular Win10 updates. It seems to boot quickly and I haven't had any issues at all since my last post. It used to be that some apps got uninstalled whenever a new version of Windows was installed, but nothing like that happened this time. It simply booted with Win11 running

Stylewise, the windows all have rounded edges now and there are new system fonts and sounds, Most of the old XP-style Control Panel settings are now available in the newer Settings menu. I think the most noticeable change is that the Start menu is closer to the center of the taskbar and the taskbar can no longer be switched to the other 3 edges.

The new Start menu is less cluttered and it's very responsive (type a single letter to see a list of apps) but it can take a little time to get used to. I use desktop or taskbar icons for my main apps so this isn't a big change for me.

About the only thing I dislike is that the power icon is located on the far right bottom edge of the new Start menu. Instead of simply clicking on Start then Power, then Reset/Shut Down, you now have to click on Start then move the cursor halfway across the bottom of the screen to access the Power menu (or right-click on Start and choose the desired option from the Shut down or sign out > pop-out menu) "undecided"

To me that one feature is clunky and quite a bit of unnecessary extra work, but it's nothing like the shock of installing the original Win8 and not knowing how to even reach the desktop!
Reply
CeriRees [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Dec 23, 2011 16:49 Messages: 20 Offline
[Post New]
I have been running Win11 for a couple of weeks and have experienced a few issues related to videos in general, such as being unable to find the process when trying to play an mp4 file. I also find myself restarting my system a little more frequently than before to clear a few hangups. As far as PD goes, a few strange things have been going on. If I update my gpu driver, PD no longer seems to ask me to optimize for hardware acceleration. In fact, on rendering, the fast rendering options are no longer available.

I also get a lot more drop frame/prerender messages, plus an error message about prerendering after completing an mp4 render (the render itself is fine though).

Of course these things may be related to my machine only, rather than have anything to do with Win11 but it does seem a coincidence that they started happening at the same time.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7711 Offline
[Post New]
Wow, those are some pretty significant issues, and it actually sounds like you might be having the same kind of problem I had earlier when using an older nVidia driver. Can you follow the steps here and attach the results of the DxDiag test so we can see how your system is configured?

I believe the current nVidia version (471.41) is the first one to fully support Win11, but you may have a hard time getting your GPU updated. In my case, the installer said there wasn't a compatible GPU on my Surface Book 3, and I spent about an hour trying various things before I finally got the device to show up in Device Manager so it could be updated to the latest driver.

Since that point, I can choose whether PD sees my GTX 1660Ti or the Intel iGPU (as shown here), and the relevant hardware encoding option is present on the Produce page. I also definitely get prompted to run the PD GPU test when a new nVidia or Intel video driver is installed, and I think we can get your system working like this as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Aug 09. 2021 23:04

Reply
Warry [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Location: The Netherlands Joined: Oct 13, 2014 11:42 Messages: 483 Offline
[Post New]
I understand that Internet Explorer only runs in EDGE compatibility mode in windows 11. PD required the good old IE for a number of internet activities. Did you try this already? Thanks
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7711 Offline
[Post New]
I haven't seen any IE-related issues. I just tried downloading from Shutterstock and DirectorZone from inside PD and everything works normally. Same with licensing/activation and the App Manager.

Here's how Edge is set to deal with IE-specific sites by default, and I haven't changed anything:



BTW I've also updated my main desktop PC so both of my Win11-compatible systems are updated. I also have 2 older Surface devices that will have to stay on Win10.
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 5387 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I haven't seen any IE-related issues. I just tried downloading from Shutterstock and DirectorZone from inside PD and everything works normally. Same with licensing/activation and the App Manager.

I'm not running 11 on anything so just a question, I'd assume IE11 is still active in Windows features so maybe not to conclusive. Proof will probably be IE11 EOL, June 15, 2022 and how MS handles that and CL response.

Jeff
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7711 Offline
[Post New]
I'm not seeing it in the appwiz.cpl tool, so maybe they really have done away with it in Win11 from the start:



BTW "Legacy Components" only contains DirectPlay

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Aug 31. 2021 20:13

Reply
astroASMR [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: May 20, 2021 07:02 Messages: 7 Offline
[Post New]
cyberlink is NOT ready for windows 11

i couldn't get "power director 19" to work on windows11 n
no matter what i did, i assume it was the "N" version so media player wasn't installed so thats why it wouldn't work, no matter whatever i did, from installing 'media player' to other crap and still couldn't get it to work

the software kept saying it was missing stuff to run it i.e a virtal component, it wouldn't even give a REAL error message eg xxxxx.dll is missing, it juts gave a vague error message i even typed the full error out in google to find a reason or if anyone was facing the same issue and still couldn't pin point a solution, i gave up and had to reinstalled windows 10

EXTREMLY disappointed!

p.s it was a clean installation, it might work if I installed windows 10, then power director THEN upgraded to win11
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7711 Offline
[Post New]
I'm afraid the problem on your end is Windows N, not whether it's based on Win10 or 11. See this discussion.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team