Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Timeline view won't resize - takes up 90% of screen
Capt.Tim [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Feb 26, 2021 08:07 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
I've been using PowerDirector for a few weeks now, very much enjoying it. But today I started PowerDirector and the Timeline takes up most of the view, and won't let me resize it. No matter how I try to resize or drag it - it won't resize. This has happened twice now. The first time I finally gave up and re-installed PowerDirector and it fixed it. I can't keep re-installing every couple weeks. Has anyone else run into this? I'm running on a laptop with a 32" 4K monitor attached.
Capt.Tim [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Feb 26, 2021 08:07 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
To be clear, there's barely any view of the Media Content pane, or the preview pane left. And if I resize the window, the timeline just grows with it leaving me in the same scenario.
optodata
Senior Contributor Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8630 Offline
[Post New]
It's normally a simple matter of dragging the control with 5 little dots above the timeline up and down, and the one with 5 vertical dots long the left edge of the preview window as is shown in this short screen recording:



If that doesn't work for any reason, a screenshot or screen recording would help us see your situation and give us a better shot at helping you.
Michael Dean [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Nov 16, 2015 13:31 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Quote It's normally a simple matter of dragging the control with 5 little dots above the timeline up and down, and the one with 5 vertical dots long the left edge of the preview window as is shown in this short screen recording:



If that doesn't work for any reason, a screenshot or screen recording would help us see your situation and give us a better shot at helping you.



I have the same problem. Timeline also has a large area at the top with no tracks...
optodata
Senior Contributor Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8630 Offline
[Post New]
A screenshot would be very useful.

Use Alt+PrintScreen or the Windows snipping tool (Win+Shift+S) then save the image as PNG or JPG. Click on the Attachments button below the forum's text box to upload and share it here.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Apr 05. 2021 15:18

GAC [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jun 27, 2021 20:37 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Quote A screenshot would be very useful.

Use Alt+PrintScreen or the Windows snipping tool (Win+Shift+S) then save the image as PNG or JPG. Click on the Attachments button below the forum's text box to upload and share it here.


I'm having the same problem with stuck view of the Media Control pane after an upgrade to PowerDirector 365. The side to side function using the 5 little dots works but the up down function cannot be pulled down lower than about one-fourth of the window size. See the attached picture.

Is there a way to reset or reload the software? If so, screenshots of where to go and how to do would be helpful. I've been unable to find any reset or reload functions in settings or under manage my subscription.

Thanks for your suggestions.
 Filename
Cyberlink screen stuck.pdf
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
63 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
289 time(s)
PowerDirector Moderator [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan Joined: Oct 18, 2016 00:25 Messages: 2104 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


I'm having the same problem with stuck view of the Media Control pane after an upgrade to PowerDirector 365. The side to side function using the 5 little dots works but the up down function cannot be pulled down lower than about one-fourth of the window size. See the attached picture.

Is there a way to reset or reload the software? If so, screenshots of where to go and how to do would be helpful. I've been unable to find any reset or reload functions in settings or under manage my subscription.

Thanks for your suggestions.


Hi.
I'm not at the desk but try making the timeline tracks smaller, they look maxed out to me.

Cheers,
PowerDirector Moderator
optodata
Senior Contributor Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8630 Offline
[Post New]
The horizontal silver line in your screenshot only appears on my system when I click and hold on the 5 dots to drag the timeline edge up or down. When I let go of the mouse button, the line disappears and the 5 dots show up again.

If you can't drag that area at all, click on the Restore down icon at the top right of PD's main window:



Then click and drag on an edge or corner of the main PD window and manually make it smaller. That will redraw the editor window and may make the dots visible. You may need to reduce the window in both height and width for this to happen.

Another option is to change the display scaling in Windows. Go to Start | Settings | System | Display and change the scale to 125% or 150% and see if that helps. You may need to close and reopen PD to see the change, and you can change the scaling setting back after you get PD sorted out.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Nov 06. 2021 14:15

JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I'm having the same problem with stuck view of the Media Control pane after an upgrade to PowerDirector 365. The side to side function using the 5 little dots works but the up down function cannot be pulled down lower than about one-fourth of the window size. See the attached picture.

Is there a way to reset or reload the software? If so, screenshots of where to go and how to do would be helpful. I've been unable to find any reset or reload functions in settings or under manage my subscription.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Since your pdf shows a solid whiteish line, that to me indicates possibly an undocked window or it should disappear. Have you tried right mouse click in say the media library and does "Reset All Undocked Windows" display and help?

Jeff
GAC [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jun 27, 2021 20:37 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Hi.
I'm not at the desk but try making the timeline tracks smaller, they look maxed out to me.

Cheers,
PowerDirector Moderator



This recommendation worked. Being a newbie, I didn't know that the tracks could be sized. It took me a moment to figure out but the sizing is done with a left click on the section where the number of the track is rather than in the track itself.

Thank you!!
GAC [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jun 27, 2021 20:37 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Quote The horizontal silver line in your screenshot only appears on my system when I click and hold on the 5 dots to drag the timeline edge up or down. When I let go of the mouse button, the line disappears and the 5 dots show up again.

If you can't drag that area at all, click on the Restore down icon at the top right of PD's main window:



Then click and drag on an edge or corner of the main PD window and manually make it smaller. That will redraw the editor window and may make the dots visible. You may need to reduce the window in both height and width for this to happen.

Another option is to change the display scaling in Windows. Go to Start | Settings | System | Display and change the scale to 125% or 150% and see if that helps. You may need to close and reopen PD to see the change, and you can change the scaling setting back after you get PD sorted out.



Thank you Optodata, it seems the sizing of the tracks was the issue for me.
GAC [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jun 27, 2021 20:37 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Quote

Since your pdf shows a solid whiteish line, that to me indicates possibly an undocked window or it should disappear. Have you tried right mouse click in say the media library and does "Reset All Undocked Windows" display and help?

Jeff



Jeff, thank your for your suggestion. That whiteish line came up when I left clicked on the five dots. What ultimately fixed the problem was sizing the tracks! Thank you for your help!!
MyKentuckyKin [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jul 19, 2021 14:38 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
I have tried resizing tracks, minimizing the program window so it can be resized, undocking and then resetting the workspace windows, closing and opening the program. My upper workspace is stuck and won't get bigger.
[Thumb - PD workspace size issue.png]
 Filename
PD workspace size issue.png
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
149 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
17 time(s)
optodata
Senior Contributor Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8630 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I have tried resizing tracks, minimizing the program window so it can be resized, undocking and then resetting the workspace windows, closing and opening the program. My upper workspace is stuck and won't get bigger.

Thanks for the screenshot. You missed the part about dragging the 5 little dots downward, like this:

Antti 2023 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jan 12, 2023 04:49 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Still stuck with Timeline view. Is there a way around this?



Thanks in advance



Antti
[Thumb - PD timeline stuck.jpg]
 Filename
PD timeline stuck.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
179 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
19 time(s)
Kostandino [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Mar 11, 2013 18:29 Messages: 5 Offline
[Post New]
Same issue here - click the 5 dots to resize, but it cannot go bigger or smaller. Stuck with a tiny preview window and massive timeline view. Been going on for a couple of months, and nothing seems to work to bring it back to how it was, so am ending up with the pop out window for the video preview.
optodata
Senior Contributor Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8630 Offline
[Post New]
Does this post help?
balc3r [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Apr 12, 2022 05:06 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Same issue here - click the 5 dots to resize, but it cannot go bigger or smaller. Stuck with a tiny preview window and massive timeline view. Been going on for a couple of months, and nothing seems to work to bring it back to how it was, so am ending up with the pop out window for the video preview.


I have got the same problem yell
Wilder1 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Apr 29, 2022 16:30 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I've been using PowerDirector for a few weeks now, very much enjoying it. But today I started PowerDirector and the Timeline takes up most of the view, and won't let me resize it. No matter how I try to resize or drag it - it won't resize. This has happened twice now. The first time I finally gave up and re-installed PowerDirector and it fixed it. I can't keep re-installing every couple weeks. Has anyone else run into this? I'm running on a laptop with a 32" 4K monitor attached.



I HAVE HAD SAME PROBLEM FOR MONTHS -- FOUND A WORK AROUND.
1) GET OUT OF FULL SCREEN MODE - Top RIght button.
2) TOGGLE LOCK AND UNLOCK ALL VIDEOS (LOCKED).
2) TOGGLE AGAIN - ALL UNLOCKED.
3) SHRINK SCREEN TO 1/4 size of screen.
4) NOW I CAN RESIZE THE UPPER PORTION AGAIN --- FINALLY> ARGGGG.
IfYouEver2020 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Aug 04, 2023 01:01 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Quote



I HAVE HAD SAME PROBLEM FOR MONTHS -- FOUND A WORK AROUND.
1) GET OUT OF FULL SCREEN MODE - Top RIght button.
2) TOGGLE LOCK AND UNLOCK ALL VIDEOS (LOCKED).
2) TOGGLE AGAIN - ALL UNLOCKED.
3) SHRINK SCREEN TO 1/4 size of screen.
4) NOW I CAN RESIZE THE UPPER PORTION AGAIN --- FINALLY> ARGGGG.





This is the closest I got to fixing it, but when I docked everything back the TIMELINE disappeared now!! I can readjust the preview window and the library window but when I try to adjust the timeline, it goes straight back up to the top with the white line. Then I'm back to square one with no way to undo it.
I tried to add screenshots of the problem, but this is my first time using this forum so I might have done it wrong.
[Thumb - Annoying format DELETE 2.png]
 Filename
Annoying format DELETE 2.png
[Disk]
 Description
Once I lock/dock every window back
 Filesize
669 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
12 time(s)
[Thumb - Annoying format DELETE 3.png]
 Filename
Annoying format DELETE 3.png
[Disk]
 Description
As soon as I click and drag the five dots to adjust the timeline. Right back to the top
 Filesize
725 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
12 time(s)
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team