CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Preview Screen when playing is black
Reply to this topic
Goobergirl69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 14, 2018 15:00 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
I have a mp4 video that I am trying to edit. When I add this or any video into my timeline and attempt to preview I get a black screen and can hear the sound. I can clink and move the the video forward and see it moving but once I select play the clip changes to black and only hear the sound. In researching I installed all the patched/updates. I have ensured the check boxes on the time lime are selected for both the audio and video. Someone had mentioned in the forum to unchecked the boxes for the hardware acceleration under preferences. Please advise. I have both Power director 14 and 16 and neither will work.
Reply
[Post New]
Quote I have a mp4 video that I am trying to edit. When I add this or any video into my timeline and attempt to preview I get a black screen and can hear the sound. I can clink and move the the video forward and see it moving but once I select play the clip changes to black and only hear the sound. In researching I installed all the patched/updates. I have ensured the check boxes on the time lime are selected for both the audio and video. Someone had mentioned in the forum to unchecked the boxes for the hardware acceleration under preferences. Please advise. I have both Power director 14 and 16 and neither will work.


If you upgraded your video card drivers, go into Device Manager, Video Card, Reverse Drivers
Reply
Goobergirl69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 14, 2018 15:00 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


If you upgraded your video card drivers, go into Device Manager, Video Card, Reverse Drivers




I have a laptop when I go to Device manager I do not see Video card as an option.


Thank you,
Cindy
Reply
[Post New]
Quote




I have a laptop when I go to Device manager I do not see Video card as an option.


Thank you,
Cindy


Here's how:
Video Adapters
AMD Radeon ... (name of your video card)
2 click on the video card, Drive tab see the image
[Thumb - driver video.jpg]
 Filename
driver video.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
183 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
24 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Sep 23. 2018 10:45

Reply
The Shadowman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: UK Joined: Dec 15, 2014 13:06 Messages: 1831 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Here's how:
Video Adapters
AMD Radeon ... (name of your video card)
2 click on the video card, Drive tab see the image


Hi Cindy

You dont make it clear if you have actually tried unchecking HA in preferences. If you haven't, try it. Unchecking HA can often cure the strangest things.

Good luck

Robert
Reply
Goobergirl69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 14, 2018 15:00 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Hi Cindy

You dont make it clear if you have actually tried unchecking HA in preferences. If you haven't, try it. Unchecking HA can often cure the strangest things.

Good luck

Robert


Thank you I had seen you posts in the forum regarding this and had already unchecked the Hardware acceleration boxes. Thank you, any other sugestions?

CIndy
Reply
Goobergirl69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 14, 2018 15:00 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Here's how:
Video Adapters
AMD Radeon ... (name of your video card)
2 click on the video card, Drive tab see the image



Okay I located the drivers for my video chipset and there is not an option for rolling back the drivers.
Reply
The Shadowman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: UK Joined: Dec 15, 2014 13:06 Messages: 1831 Offline
[Post New]
Quote



Okay I located the drivers for my video chipset and there is not an option for rolling back the drivers.


Does the MP4 clip play on any other player such as VLC player or similar? If you havent tried it, give it a go.

Robert
Reply
Goobergirl69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 14, 2018 15:00 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Does the MP4 clip play on any other player such as VLC player or similar? If you havent tried it, give it a go.

Robert


Yes the only problem is while trying to view the preview when editing. I have played the video on other players and have produced videos from Powerdirector that work fine. It is just the preview.

Thank you
Reply
The Shadowman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: UK Joined: Dec 15, 2014 13:06 Messages: 1831 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Yes the only problem is while trying to view the preview when editing. I have played the video on other players and have produced videos from Powerdirector that work fine. It is just the preview.

Thank you


Is it just this one clip?
Reply
The Shadowman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: UK Joined: Dec 15, 2014 13:06 Messages: 1831 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Is it just this one clip?


Just had a thought. Have you unintentionally unticked the video track in PD?
Reply
Goobergirl69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 14, 2018 15:00 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Just had a thought. Have you unintentionally unticked the video track in PD?



It is with all videos and i have checked and unchecked.
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6089 Offline
[Post New]
Can you attach a sample clip unaltered from the source?
While we’re at it, what’s the source?
Do you have any codec packs installed? HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Tape capture using 4 VCR, TBC, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-6
Reply
Goobergirl69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 14, 2018 15:00 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Can you attach a sample clip unaltered from the source?
While we’re at it, what’s the source?
Do you have any codec packs installed?


No I do not believe I have any codec installed. The link of a video I downloaded is here. I downloaded it converted as a MP4 made its with the preview not working properly (black screen) and made the video at this location.

Location 1 source-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vH8hgfAhldI


Location 2 what I created-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GDnZAscl6Y

Earlier today I made a couple of mp4 videos using my phone and its the same no mater what I use.

It seems to be just the preview function

Thank you
CIndy
 Filename
2018 Cindy Tilton Bench National.pds
[Disk]
 Description
Mp4 created
 Filesize
434 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
194 time(s)
Reply
[Post New]
Quote
Okay I located the drivers for my video chipset and there is not an option for rolling back the drivers.


If you did update video drivers and then had this problem, and have no way to revert the drivers, try to uninstall and reinstall the ones you know worked.

In my case I have to use old drivers because the new AMD R9 drivers does not work with PD16 or PD17 I already tested it yesterday.The new Driver looks good for other applications.
Reply
Goobergirl69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 14, 2018 15:00 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


If you did update video drivers and then had this problem, and have no way to revert the drivers, try to uninstall and reinstall the ones you know worked.

In my case I have to use old drivers because the new AMD R9 drivers does not work with PD16 or PD17 I already tested it yesterday.The new Driver looks good for other applications.


I do not believe the drivers have been updated

Thank you,
CIndy
Reply
[Post New]
Quote


I do not believe the drivers have been updated

Thank you,
CIndy


Capture a screen of the occurrence with PD16 and post here, maybe we can see something that helps.
Reply
Goobergirl69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 14, 2018 15:00 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Capture a screen of the occurrence with PD16 and post here, maybe we can see something that helps.


Here is a screen shot-

CIndy
[Thumb - Capture.JPG]
 Filename
Capture.JPG
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
114 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
20 time(s)
Reply
The Shadowman
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: UK Joined: Dec 15, 2014 13:06 Messages: 1831 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Here is a screen shot-

CIndy


I see you are using shadow files. Try without. If that works we can discuss why.
Reply
Goobergirl69 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 14, 2018 15:00 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


I see you are using shadow files. Try without. If that works we can discuss why.


I unselected the shadow files and I am still having the same issue. If I pause the preview of the video it does show me a picture of the present location of the clip. When O press play again the preview goes to a black screen agin and I can hear the sound.

Thank you,
CIndy
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team