CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Remove advertisement
Reply to this topic
[Post New]
Hi,
I have PD 8 and it serves me well. I have no plan to go to PD 10. How do I get rid of the advertisement for PD 10 on most of the PD 8 screens?
Thanks
Frank C Win Vista 64 bit SP 2
PD 8
Reply
amjadm94 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Feb 02, 2012 05:46 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
there must be some configurations is this regard where you can set advertisements off... if not then i guess cyberlink should consider this as suggestion
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9041 Offline
[Post New]
You can modify your HOSTS file and stop the ads.

http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/13149.page

Scroll to ynotfish's post.

Windows 7 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB,256GB SSD,1TB HD.
http://www.carlmcmillan.com
Not responsible for any harm that may come to your wallet
Reply
[Post New]
Thanks for the replies,
If I look at Preferences and tab through
File, General, Editing. Confirmation. Capture, Produce and Director Zone
I see the unwanted ad on each of these. I don't see a way to turn it off.
This is not an ad that is coming from the Internet. It is an ad within Power Director.
It is offering an upgrade to PD 10.
In the General tab I do not have "Automatically check for software updates" selected.
Carl, Which ynotfish post should I look at?
How do I include a screen shot with this post?
Thanks
Frank
Win Vista 64 bit SP 2
PD 8
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9041 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Thanks for the replies,
If I look at Preferences and tab through
File, General, Editing. Confirmation. Capture, Produce and Director Zone
I see the unwanted ad on each of these. I don't see a way to turn it off.
This is not an ad that is coming from the Internet. It is an ad within Power Director.
It is offering an upgrade to PD 10.
In the General tab I do not have "Automatically check for software updates" selected.
Carl, Which ynotfish post should I look at?
How do I include a screen shot with this post?
Thanks
Frank

The information is in the second post, ynotfish only has one post at the following link.
This Link: (Click on it, will take you there)
http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/13149.page

Part E How to screen capture.
http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/7958.page

How to post an attachment of the forum:
Use the Post Reply Button, not the Quick button.
Blue Attachments button below the text box.

Windows 7 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB,256GB SSD,1TB HD.
http://www.carlmcmillan.com
Not responsible for any harm that may come to your wallet
Reply
[Post New]
Hi,
The HOSTS file entry did get rid of the PD 10 promotion (screen one) . Now I have something just as annoying (screen two). It is an information message from the browser "Navigation to the web page was canceled"
What do I block for this?
I wonder if this annoyance was some choice like "check for updates" that I may have made at installation time. If so, I could re-install PD 8.
 Filename
Screen Two.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
original ad
 Filesize
42 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
375 time(s)
 Filename
Screen Two.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
after host blocking
 Filesize
42 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
380 time(s)
Win Vista 64 bit SP 2
PD 8
Reply
[Post New]
Duplicate attachment Here is screen one
 Filename
Screen One.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
119 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
386 time(s)
Win Vista 64 bit SP 2
PD 8
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Frank

I had the same problem - drove me nuts!

My internet security software is McAfee.

It has a 'block/permission program list function (as most do).

I have blocked PDR from accessing the internet.


And bingo - no more annoying ads of a product that you have already bought

Here's a link to a similar issue and a possible solution:

http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/9264.page

OR UNPLUG YOUR COMPUTER FROM THE INTERNET :


Have a great day Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
[Post New]
Thanks Neil,
My AVG firewall already had a rule to allow:
c:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDirector\PDR8.exe
I changed it to block.
Problem solved. Now on Burn I see the Power Director 8 chair. I haven't checked out the other screens yet. I suspect they will be OK.

BTW, You did a masterful job filming Niomi and Paul's wedding. It was very heart warming.
I also looked at the snake and the tour of Melbourne.
Thanks
Frank
Win Vista 64 bit SP 2
PD 8
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team