Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Quote: You were wrongly claiming that your 290X had hardware HEVC decoding acceleration, I'm glad you are now taking this back as you have realized it does not.
I'm definitely not taking it back. I can't take it back, because I'm using that feature.

Quote: The fact that someone has been working for 25 years in the video industry doesn't mean anything
It means I'm a professional. By the way, do you know there are $50 Android TV boxes doing full 4K h265 hardware decoding? But I have no doubt those $50 devices are more powerful than a core I7 + a high end PC GPU.

Quote: I have been working for 25 years in both the computer and the
film/video industry, there are incompetent people (or people who know
less than they think, which doesn't stop them from giving lessons to
others and making false claims) in every industry.
How amusing... suddenly, you're also a 25 years+ expert. Isn't that an interesting coincidence?

Ignorance isn't stupidity. Refusing to acknowledge you are ignorant is stupid, though. Don't limit what is possible to the limits of your own imagination and/or knowledge. Now you can go back in your garage and play with that camcorder. I mean, you've been doing that the last 25 years, that must make you a film/video expert.
Quote: Learn about hardware acceleration and hardware decoding, and you'll understand why you need a new GPU.
I've been working in the video industry the last 25 years. Nice try though.

You don't need full GPU hardware acceleration to have maximum decoding quality. Both the Intel and AMD OpenCL solution offload the CPU so that even lower end CPUs can achieve the decoding.