Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PDM, Perpetual Audio Fix?
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
It’s been nearly 3 weeks since PD21 released, still no viable editing because of audio issues in production released product. PDM provided this link https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/97734.page#392955 for an update pushed to subscription users a week ago, when will a hotfix or posted update be available for perpetual product holders?

Jeff
PowerDirector Moderator [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan Joined: Oct 18, 2016 00:25 Messages: 2104 Offline
[Post New]
Hello Jeff,

We asked and CyberLink RD has provided:

https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/97788.page

Thanks for the reminder.

Cheers
PowerDirector Moderator


For customer support related issues, please contact:
- Customer service: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do
- Technical support: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/service/technical-support.do
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hello Jeff,

We asked and CyberLink RD has provided:

https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/97788.page

Thanks for the reminder.

Cheers
PowerDirector Moderator

I still think this hotfix has some issues. A flat audio spot is created after certain editing. The following is one way to easily replicate with PD 21.0.2031 with hotfix applied.

1) Have pref set for NTSC 30fps timeline, no drop timecode (close PD so proper sample clips are loaded)
2) Relaunch PD and drag Mountainbiker.mp4 into the timeline
3) Produce to H.264, AVC 1920x1080/60i (24Mbps) in a M2TS container. Call this file T.m2ts for simplicity. (Simply trying to create a video stream close to camera stream)
4) Remove Mountainbiker.mp4 from timeline and replace with T.m2ts in track 1
5) Cut the timeline at 00:00:04:00, 4 seconds
6) Cut the timeline at 00:00:07:20, 7 seconds, 20 frames
7) Ctrl Del on center cut clip to remove and close timeline gap
8) Produce to H.264, MPEG-4 1920x1080/30p (16Mpbs) in MP4 container. Call this file T.mp4
9) Drop T.mp4 into track 2 and zoom in timeline near video splice to compare with original in timeline track 1. (I get attach pic PD21_Audio_Flat.png, a total flat spot with no audio in mp4 file which does not occur on m2ts track 1 of timeline.)
10) If one takes the clip T.mp4 into AudioDirector, zoom in on the timeline, a total audio flat, attached pic PD21_Audio_Flat_AD.png

If not careful, one can get a lot of these no audio flat spots in a real timeline with real camera source files. They typically are about 1 frame in duration, a total dead audio spot, occurring after a video splice.

Jeff
[Thumb - PD21_Audio_Flat_AD.png]
 Filename
PD21_Audio_Flat_AD.png
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
240 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
12 time(s)
[Thumb - PD21_Audio_Flat.png]
 Filename
PD21_Audio_Flat.png
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
697 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
13 time(s)
PowerDirector Moderator [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan Joined: Oct 18, 2016 00:25 Messages: 2104 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Jeff,

Thanks for the detailed reproduction steps. I can duplicate it and have shared this, and my produced file, with my CL contacts. I duplicated in 365.

Cheers
PowerDIrector Moderator


For customer support related issues, please contact:
- Customer service: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do
- Technical support: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/service/technical-support.do
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hi Jeff,

Thanks for the detailed reproduction steps. I can duplicate it and have shared this, and my produced file, with my CL contacts. I duplicated in 365.

Cheers
PowerDIrector Moderator

I'd assume your CL contacts could easily replicate the audio flat and now it's simply been reported to the engineering team and is under investigation?

Jeff
PowerDirector Moderator [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan Joined: Oct 18, 2016 00:25 Messages: 2104 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Jeff,

CyberLink has released a patch for 365 that "eases" the issue, if that makes sense. I can still see and hear something following your steps again with the new patch applied. See T-after.mp4.

Interestingly, if you follow the same steps, but make the cut at 3 (to 6) seconds, you don't hear or see it at all. See T3s.mp4.

I tried duplicating this with Sony camera files and some video files from newer GoPro cameras, and there was no issue.

If possible, can you maybe share an example file from the camera you use to record videos for editing, which you are getting this issue from. I'll see if it still happens and pass it along as another sample if required.

Cheers
PowerDirector Moderator
 Filename
T3s.mp4
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
9893 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
101 time(s)
 Filename
T-after.mp4
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
9364 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
106 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 26. 2022 04:13


For customer support related issues, please contact:
- Customer service: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do
- Technical support: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/service/technical-support.do
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hi Jeff,

CyberLink has released a patch for 365 that "eases" the issue, if that makes sense. I can still see and hear something following your steps again with the new patch applied. See T-after.mp4.

Interestingly, if you follow the same steps, but make the cut at 3 (to 6) seconds, you don't hear or see it at all. See T3s.mp4.

I tried duplicating this with Sony camera files and some video files from newer GoPro cameras, and there was no issue.

If possible, can you maybe share an example file from the camera you use to record videos for editing, which you are getting this issue from. I'll see if it still happens and pass it along as another sample if required.

Cheers
PowerDirector Moderator

Yes, it is cut dependent, the reason I was very specific on cuts in my step by step, I've also seen multi cut dependency and it can also be multi clip dependent, so not always easy to isolate a unique short clip camera source to share. That's why I was excited to replicate it with all internal to PD actions so no camera footage can be blamed and the issue could be corrected. I really see no valid editing reason for any of these dependencies. I provided the very detailed steps which easily replicates the issue so it can be properly isolated, debugged and corrected. Once properly debugged, hopefully a fix migrates to other real timeline situations of occurrence.

I typically see the issue in every timeline somewhere after cuts, so far I've seen it occur with source footage from GoPro, Canon, HandBrake encoded from a non PD compliant source, and even this random all internal to PD actions I had outlined so I believe it a bug/deficiency vs camera footage specific anomaly.

Your attached files show essentially another aberration of it as they don't even have the resolution defined in my prior step 8. I typically never utilize 1280x720 resolutions but as you post, you've seen the occurrence there too.

Jeff
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team