CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Warning for Win10 21H1 users BEFORE installing June & July 2021 PDR365 updates!
Reply to this topic
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
As was mentioned in this discussion, the current version of ScreenRecorder 4 (which also comes bundled with PDR365) MAY not run correctly on computers running Windows 10 21H1 (the May 2021 release).

The brand new version of PDR365 (v19.6.3016) will actually install and work fine, but the existing SR4 app will be uninstalled and will be replaced with a non-functional version. Trying to launch it will momentarily display a broken splash screen which will then disappear without starting, like this:



There is no immediate problem with the new PDR365 release if you don't normally use the ScreenRecorder app, and I'm sure CL will eventually provide a fix for the issue.

Otherwise, I strongly recommend holding off on installing the new PDR365 version until a hotfix or revised update is released. You should only proceed IF you have a separate SR4 license AND an older version of the SR4 standalone installer to repair the damage. Do not install the latest SR4 patch, either! Only apply the patch to 13448 from Jan 2021.

Downloading a new SR4 installer for 14.2.7.14500 and trying to install it MAY NOT WORK if you have a 21H1 system.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at Jul 30. 2021 01:07

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
After further testing, I can confirm that the issue occurs when SR4 presents the Accept and Continue screen, which is supposed to look like this:



If you have a standalone license for SR4 and are able to reinstall it using an older version of the installer, you can apply the latest patch as long as you launch the installed version and accept the terms BEFORE installing the 14500 patch.
Reply
[Post New]
Hi Optodata;
Based on your comment, I renamed the Sreen Recoder4 folder.
I updated PD19/365
I opened SR4 in renamed folder opened normal.
I opened SR4 updated and it also works normal for me.
Then I deleted the folder with previous SR4.
Screen Recorder4 is working normal, I think.

New update so far so good
Windows 10 Pro
Version 21H1
Installed on ‎21/‎10/‎2020
Compilation of SO 19043.1083
Windows Experience Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.3530.0

https://support.microsoft.com/pt-br/topic/july-6-2021-kb5004945-os-builds-19041-1083-19042-1083-and-19043-1083-out-of-band-44b34928-0a71-4473-aa22-ecf3b83eed0e

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul 13. 2021 15:59

XEON-E5-2670 v3 / Mem. 16GB DDR4
M.2 NVME 256Gb / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD RX570 / Display Philips 272V8
Windows 11-64Pro / PD20/365
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for the information. Are you on Windows 10 build 21H1? Start > Settings > System > About:



I've just reported the issue on CS002371740 and will post back when tech support responds

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 29. 2021 12:56

Reply
[Post New]
Windows 10 Pro
Version 21H1
Installed on ‎21/‎10/‎2020
Compilation of SO 19043.1052
Windows Experience Feature Experience Pack 120.212.2020.0

New update so far so good
Windows 10 Pro
Version 21H1
Installed on ‎21/‎10/‎2020
Compilation of SO 19043.1083
Windows Experience Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.3530.0

https://support.microsoft.com/pt-br/topic/july-6-2021-kb5004945-os-builds-19041-1083-19042-1083-and-19043-1083-out-of-band-44b34928-0a71-4473-aa22-ecf3b83eed0e

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Jul 13. 2021 16:04

XEON-E5-2670 v3 / Mem. 16GB DDR4
M.2 NVME 256Gb / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD RX570 / Display Philips 272V8
Windows 11-64Pro / PD20/365
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
If your system isn't showing the SR4 issue, then it may be related to newer updates since the same problem occurred on my Surface Book 3.

It's running Win10 Home but it's the same build as my desktop (19043.1081) and it has Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.3530.0. Both versions are lower on your PC.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 29. 2021 15:04

Reply
Warry [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: The Netherlands Joined: Oct 13, 2014 11:42 Messages: 662 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks very much Optodata, as always for the alert for the misbehavior of Screen recorder 4 (SR4).
I actually saw your warning to late: after I updated PD365 19.6.3016.0 (64bit).
I learn from this,that next time I should not be so eager to update and look at wait for remarks on the forum first?

In addition to what AVPlayVideo mentions: when I tried the SR4 (4.2.7.14500), it worked OK, but the splash-screen did (and does) not appear at all (which may be the wrong behavior but does not bother me).
I think that I have to very latest windows 10 updates running:
Edition Windows 10 Home
Version 21H1
Installed on ‎25-‎06-‎20
OS build 19043.1081
Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.3530.0 (your version is 3920.0)
The only difference is that you have the Pro version and I run the Home version of Windows.
Looking forward to seeing what is happening with this.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for the new details, Warry!

I just received confirmation that CL tech support was able to see the issue on their test platforms and they have forwarded their results to engineering. Hopefully a hotfix or new release will be coming in the not too distant future.
Reply
Maliek [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: San Antonio, Texas USA Joined: Nov 10, 2012 12:01 Messages: 807 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Thanks for the new details, Warry!

I just received confirmation that CL tech support was able to see the issue on their test platforms and they have forwarded their results to engineering. Hopefully a hotfix or new release will be coming in the not too distant future.


Thank you for sharing the status of this defect Optodata. I've had some YouTube viewers ask me about this issue and I'm asking them to monitor this thread in case a solution is identified.
Reply
fanci321 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jul 03, 2021 13:33 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
If only this warning was out BEFORE I got a message encouraging me to update CL to the newer version. Do you have any idea when this will be fixed or is there a way around it? If so, I need baby-steps instructions.

This has stopped me from working on my current and next project. I am fairly new to making videos, and it's the only software that I have, so where others may have multiple screen recorders, this is it for me and I am not downloading another one, since I did purchase your complete package. Also, tried a few in the past and the quality was terrible. I love the software and it was working fine until prompted and encouraged to update.

At first, I thought it was me and something I did wrong, so I installed the patch... nothing... then uninstall the software and reinstalled, etc... Nothing! Then I realize that it wasn't me.


PLEASE fix this soon, I am sure I am not the only user being hampered by this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul 04. 2021 23:00

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
Quote If only this warning was out BEFORE I got a message encouraging me to update CL to the newer version. Do you have any idea when this will be fixed or is there a way around it? If so, I need baby-steps instructions.
...
PLEASE fix this soon, I am sure I am not the only user being hampered by this.

Unfortunately this is a user forum and we do not have any control over when Cyberlink will publish a fix. All we know is that they're aware of the issue.

The only workaround I'm aware of is for people who have purchased ScreenRecorder 4 by itself and have a separate license for it. I don't have any solutions for the version that comes bundled with PD365.
Reply
fanci321 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jul 03, 2021 13:33 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Thank you... but Wow!

My words and frustrations were clearly directed at the company and no individual user here... my apologies if you were offended.

1. I am under the assumption that at least one person who receives a paycheck from CL read these comments, they just don't respond, or care that real people have real issues based on what they do, don't do, or when they screw up.
2. Maybe I am a novice at this stuff, but not new to good customer service/bad customer service situations (in the real world). When you mess up something that your customers need and have paid for you don't sit silent. I shouldn't have had to write a comment on a YouTube video to find out that this wasn't something that I had messed up.
2.5 If there is a way around it... offer it. Would it be so hard to have people who have PAID for CL (including SR4) to receive (via their connected email) instructions, a license, and a new download... for good measure and good customer service? We have already paid for it.. what would they lose? (It's not like giving it away free to people who haven't made a purchase).
3. I am no genius, but based on how the problem is described in other posts here, (an issue with the accept & continue screen) God help us ALL when there is a REAL BIG problem.
4. Please, no need to respond to me, this is just my rant. This is a HUGE inconvenience for me because I researched several video editing software companies before buying and went with who I thought was BEST, I shouldn't have to be looking for another company just to finish my projects. #gettingmoreupsetbytheday


Quote

Unfortunately this is a user forum and we do not have any control over when Cyberlink will publish a fix. All we know is that they're aware of the issue.

The only workaround I'm aware of is for people who have purchased ScreenRecorder 4 by itself and have a separate license for it. I don't have any solutions for the version that comes bundled with PD365.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Jul 05. 2021 12:35

Reply
Marewel [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Feb 13, 2020 17:11 Messages: 6 Offline
[Post New]
SR4 not working.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Thank you... but Wow!

My words and frustrations were clearly directed at the company and no individual user here... my apologies if you were offended.

1. I am under the assumption that at least one person who receives a paycheck from CL read these comments, they just don't respond, or care that real people have real issues based on what they do, don't do, or when they screw up.

No offense taken, but I do think it would be better if you sent your comments directly to the people you want to see them. You can do that with File > Rate Us & Provide Suggestions.

Since this issue was the result of the latest upgrade, you should contact CL tech support/customer service from this page and ask for a link to install the previous version which had no issues with the screen recorder.
Reply
WackyData [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2020 20:55 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Just wanted to post here to share my own experience. This seems to be affecting my system as well, and I'm on Win10 version 20H2.
Reply
PowerDirector Moderator [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan Joined: Oct 18, 2016 00:25 Messages: 1761 Offline
[Post New]
Hello,

We got confirmation from CyberLink that the latest Screen Recorder 4 patch at the below link will fix this issue:

https://www.cyberlink.com/support/index.html?productId=372

Cheers
PowerDirector Moderator


For customer support related issues, please contact:
- Customer service: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do
- Technical support: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/service/technical-support.do
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks PDM! To verify this, I uninstalled/reinstalled PD365 and confirmed that SR4 build 14500 was reinstalled and that it showed the broken startup issue.

I then applied the 15396 patch and the Accept and Continue screen displayed normally as soon as I launched the app. That was followed by the product improvement participation screen, and then by the main product screen. I was not prompted to enter my separate standalone license at any point, so it looks like the issue is resolved!
Reply
Warry [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: The Netherlands Joined: Oct 13, 2014 11:42 Messages: 662 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Thanks PDM! To verify this, I uninstalled/reinstalled PD365 and confirmed that SR4 build 14500 was reinstalled and that it showed the broken startup issue.

I then applied the 15396 patch and the Accept and Continue screen displayed normally as soon as I launched the app. That was followed by the product improvement participation screen, and then by the main product screen. I was not prompted to enter my separate standalone license at any point, so it looks like the issue is resolved!

I can confirm Optodata's observation, however the Accept and Continue screen did not appear.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul 22. 2021 05:35

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I can confirm Optodata's observation, however the Accept and Continue screen did not appear.

It's possible that you had already accepted the terms, which could be the case if you just ran the patch. I had intentionally uninstalled PD365 to make sure my "fixed" and individually licensed SR4 was no longer present.

I'm sure that was the broken screen that was displayed when SR4 crashed, and if the terms had been accepted previously then even the older version wouldn't crash. Either way it's good to have the app available for everyone again!
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
Well it looks like some good news/bad news (with emojis) foot-in-mouth

The good news: The July 2021 PDR365 version just came out (19.7.3115.0) sealed

The bad news: Installing the update also installs the faulty 14500 version of SR4 yell

The acceptable news is that reinstalling the SR4 15396 patch provided by PDM a couple posts above will solve the problem (again) undecided

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul 30. 2021 00:57

Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team