CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
video capture why is it black and white
Reply to this topic
Chas1970 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 25, 2021 08:54 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
I am transferring VHS videos to my pc using PowerDirector. However, I cannot obtain colour. The transfers are black and white.
I am using Capture - Capture from a tv signal, as this seems to be the only setting that works. What do I need to do to obtain a colour digitisation?
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6089 Offline
[Post New]
Does your tape match the region/VCR you are in? PAL? NTSC? SECAM? HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Tape capture using 4 VCR, TBC, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-6
Reply
StevenG [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Jan 14, 2014 14:04 Messages: 368 Offline
[Post New]
What device are you digitizing with? What device or card is your VCR plugged into?
Reply
Chas1970 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 25, 2021 08:54 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Does your tape match the region/VCR you are in? PAL? NTSC? SECAM?


Yes, PAL. What I reported above is not strictly what happens. I do get colour, but only for about the first four seconds. There then seems to be a default which resets to monochrome. So if I want to choose clips from a home video, I am limited to 4 seconds of colour. For the next clip, I find if I toggle in settings between PAL B and PAL I, it will revert to colour, but again only for 4 seconds. I have succeeded in digitising two home VHS videos, but the digitisation is virtually all b/w.
Reply
Chas1970 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 25, 2021 08:54 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Quote What device are you digitizing with? What device or card is your VCR plugged into?


I am using the Silvercrest USB video grabber connected to my pc via a scart adaptor (as supplied) and the S-video cable into the USB video grabber (+ white/red sound cables; as supplied)
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6089 Offline
[Post New]
This is starting to sound like a cap issue. Open your vcr and inspect it for leaking bulging swollen capacitors. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Tape capture using 4 VCR, TBC, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-6
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team