CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Does PD 18 Edit 120 and 240 fps clips in real time on the timeline?
Reply to this topic
CS2014
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA-Eastern Time Zone Joined: Sep 16, 2014 16:44 Messages: 629 Offline
[Post New]
Ist's been a few years since I've done some video editing! I know I have a GoPro that will capture clips in 120 or 240fps and just wanted to know if - when I import them into the project - (provided all clips are the same frame rate) will I be able to edit those clips in real time on the timeline?

I thought in the past that 120 and 240 fps clips were able to be produced and the slo-mo achieved once the project was produced. But I was hoping by this generation of PD that I would be able to work with the project in 120 or 240 fps.

Thanks for any info,
CS PD13 Ultimate - Build 3516, WIN 8.1, 64 Bit, 16G RAM, Intel Core i5 4460, CPU @ 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT720, Graphics Memory(total avail.)-4093MB
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray Drive
Reply
StevenG [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Jan 14, 2014 14:04 Messages: 510 Offline
[Post New]
I don't believe PowerDirector can natively edit a video of more than 60 fps.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 25. 2020 13:23

Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 6358 Offline
[Post New]
I believe that StevenG is right. With a 60 or 59.94 fps timeline set in preferences then you can edit accurately to 2 frames and 4 frames respectively with the GoPro 120 and 240 fps clips. There are already default h.264 mp4 profiles for producing those 120 and 240 fps clips. You can always create and use a custom profile for your needs. There is no need to slow the footage down unless you want to.

This question may have been answered by Jeff 4 years ago: https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/46061.page .

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 25. 2020 19:07

Reply
CS2014
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA-Eastern Time Zone Joined: Sep 16, 2014 16:44 Messages: 629 Offline
[Post New]
I was hoping that shooting video at 120 fps, that I would be able to slow those clips down and be able to see a more clear slo-motion effect than what I did with 60fps clips. 60fps slo-motion viceo clips - a bit blurred for my tastes.

I don't know if I can have clips on the same timeline that have been shot at different fps values - can that be done? If they can exist on the same timeline, can I only change the speed of the 120 fps clips?

If I drag in the 120 fps clips into a project that has been set to 60 fps (59.94 fps) - will doing that drops frames from the 120 fps clip? Will the dropped frames make the clip look like its a 60fps clip or will the 120fps clip ? - Will that be just while viewing it in the timeline editor or will that also be in the final produced video project?

Obviously, I'm looking for a higher resolution slo-motion video clip end product (than what I've seen using 60 fps clips in the past) - I was hoping using 120 fps clips would achieve this.

Thanks for responding tomasc and StevenG

CS PD13 Ultimate - Build 3516, WIN 8.1, 64 Bit, 16G RAM, Intel Core i5 4460, CPU @ 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT720, Graphics Memory(total avail.)-4093MB
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray Drive
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 6358 Offline
[Post New]
The answer is yes. You can mix frame rates on the timeline and have no judder in the produced video as 30, 60, 120, and 240 are exact multiples of the lower frame rate. If your timeline is 60 fps and then your 120 fps clips are sharper without the motion blur desired by some filmmakers when produced at 60 fps. You can slow those down to 0.5 speed and the 240 fps clip to 0.5X or 0.25X speed if you want.
Reply
CS2014
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA-Eastern Time Zone Joined: Sep 16, 2014 16:44 Messages: 629 Offline
[Post New]
Quote The answer is yes. You can mix frame rates on the timeline and have no judder in the produced video as 30, 60, 120, and 240 are exact multiples of the lower frame rate. If your timeline is 60 fps and then your 120 fps clips are sharper without the motion blur desired by some filmmakers when produced at 60 fps. You can slow those down to 0.5 speed and the 240 fps clip to 0.5X or 0.25X speed if you want.





Thanks tomas............c.... for the response. Looks like you are doing well here !
CS PD13 Ultimate - Build 3516, WIN 8.1, 64 Bit, 16G RAM, Intel Core i5 4460, CPU @ 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT720, Graphics Memory(total avail.)-4093MB
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray Drive
Reply
Maliek [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: San Antonio, Texas USA Joined: Nov 10, 2012 12:01 Messages: 845 Offline
[Post New]
Quote The answer is yes. You can mix frame rates on the timeline and have no judder in the produced video as 30, 60, 120, and 240 are exact multiples of the lower frame rate. If your timeline is 60 fps and then your 120 fps clips are sharper without the motion blur desired by some filmmakers when produced at 60 fps. You can slow those down to 0.5 speed and the 240 fps clip to 0.5X or 0.25X speed if you want.


This 👆🏾 Subscribe to PowerDirector University on YouTube.

Subscribe to PDU Mobile on YouTube.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team