CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Powerdirector OpenCL VS Nvidia Cuda Quadro
Reply to this topic
RuiFigueiredo1971 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jul 26, 2013 15:12 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
My boot SSD broken up.

So I bought another one and installed windows 10 from DVD again, at the begining
windows installed Nvidia Quadro P400 driver.

Installed more SW on it and finaly Powerdirector 16 at the time. While was using initial Nvidia driver installed during windows 10 install PD16 had enable NVIDIA CUDA choice by default

This image is taken from internet to show Enabled Nvidia CUDA


After that I installed Vidcoder and by default did not have NVENC turned on, so I downloaded and installed NVIDIA Driver for Quadro P400

When I got to PD16 The only encode available was OpenCL, which I must say way MORE SLOW than Nvidia CUDA.

I was so desperate because PD16 was so fast before OpenCL unchangable option and amazed how fast Nvidia CUDA was
specialy in MULTI-TRIM (I used shadow files bafore and after).

That I bought Powerdiretor 365, whcich has PD18.



Which only has OpenCL available !!!!

Total frustration! why can't I choose ?

Nvidia CUDA over OpenCL which makes PD fly !

Specialy in MultiTrim

Even on PD18.

Please help me get my speed back.


PS Tried uninstall Nvidia downloaded drivers to get back to windows 10 initial install drivers, but no sucess either


Guys PD using Nvidia CUDA is something to behold
[Thumb - Cuda.jpg]
 Filename
Cuda.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
40 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
6 time(s)
[Thumb - OpenCL.jpg]
 Filename
OpenCL.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
79 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
5 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 14. 2020 15:56

Reply
[Post New]
AFAIK CUDA is available only for old video cards that don't have the hardware NVENC. And only with older drivers that account for that.
Newer cards will switch to OpenCL. I don't know why, probably is laziness to program just one time for every GPU out there (nvidia, AMD, intel)?
Does nvidia's version of OpenCL is behind CUDA? Well... that's on them.

https://phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=GTX-1080-OpenCL-vs-CUDA

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Feb 16. 2020 22:33

Reply
RuiFigueiredo1971 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jul 26, 2013 15:12 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
Quote AFAIK CUDA is available only for old video cards that don't have the hardware NVENC. And only with older drivers that account for that.
Newer cards will switch to OpenCL. I don't know why, probably is laziness to program just one time for every GPU out there (nvidia, AMD, intel)?
Does nvidia's version of OpenCL is behind CUDA? Well... that's on them.

https://phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=GTX-1080-OpenCL-vs-CUDA


Thanks for gaving the time for replying.

But the issue here is PD18.

As I saidthe timeline was this:

1) My boot SSD blew up
2) Bought another one, started everything from scracth windows 10 and on
3) Installed PD16, at this time PD was using CUDA and way faster. (At this time windows was using it's first install Quadro P400 driver)
4) Had the need to install Vidcoder which now is part of MS Store.
5) Vidcoder did not have NVENC
6) Downloaded and installed from nvidia driver for Quadro P400 in order to get NVENC for vidcoder
7) Vidcoder was ok then.
8 ) PD16 switched to OpenCL
9) Thought It was for beeing old PD16, so I bought PD 365 (PD18 )
10) Yet again PD18 did not let me switch HW acceleration to Cuda instead of OpenCL

Big suggestion to Cyberlink, works way faster like I said specialy in Multitrim using Cuda instead of OpenCL.

The ones who have these type of cards should get to option to choose between OpenCL or Cuda

And it's just the entry level for Quadro, imagine those who have high end Cuda cards ?

PS I also tried to rollback nvidia driver to the one windows 10 installed by default, but no success.


Thanks again for havind the time to respond.

Kind regards.
Reply
[Post New]
Nvidia deprecated their CUDA encoder, in favor of nvenc (hardware ASIC spearated from CUDA cores, used for example for streaming game videos).
So the only way CyberLink knows how to do hardware encoding is to use nvidia's code, because is freely included with the drivers. That is is NVENC. It comes with some licensing restrictions and that's why EULA says you can't use the PC commercially.

Also they decided to code the rest of their software for use of OpenCL. Why they did that? IDK.
On one of my older laptops PD with Quadro from Fermi generation, and older PD, it still "serves" CUDA, but I had to use older NVIDIA drivers that still have CUDA encoding.

Now some of the effects, developed separatelly, still have CUDA capabilities. You can use those instead.
Vegas Pro uses OpenCL too and nvidia also behaves badly and the reviewer discovered a "fix":

https://techgage.com/article/exploring-magix-vegas-pro-16-gpu-performance/

In my nvidia control panel I have this:

[Thumb - CUDA.jpg]
 Filename
CUDA.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
349 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
3 time(s)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Feb 17. 2020 09:23

Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team