CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Media error with HuffYUV
Reply to this topic
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5933 Offline
[Post New]
This is happening with all my lossless AVI formats.
UTTER DISASTER.
Error type : Video cut
Material type : Video
Error information : Unknown
Material filename : H:\Raw videos\Arroyo2-.avi
Detailed information : ..\CES_Source\Src\CES_Engine\CES_MediaLoader.CPP:4308
Source filter GUID : 3AA3A577-B842-46DC-A554-EA2D630592FF
Video decoder filter GUID : 8A0836E9-6E48-454D-8F68-507BC13F3D0B
Video hardware decoder filter GUID : 8A0836E9-6E48-454D-8F68-507BC13F3D0B

I can play it in the library, get thumbnails, but fails to play in the timeline.

Plays perfect in PD17, 14, 12, etc.

I just KNEW this was gonna happen.

Sigh, back to PD14 now that 17 is gone.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Sep 18. 2019 06:15

My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3840 Online
[Post New]
Same thing with MagicYUV. All other apps play fine EXCEPT for PD18, CD8 and Movies & TV. All previous versions of PD and CD work normally, and even the new PhD11 can open MYUV clips and let me use the Video-to-Photo tools.

You should report this to CL, and in the meantime I'll see if I can find a workaround.
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5933 Offline
[Post New]
I’m not home but I’ll bet Colordirector can play it.
This is an untimely disaster for me. There are additional samples of lossless on my site. My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3840 Online
[Post New]
Quote I’m not home but I’ll bet Colordirector can play it.
This is an untimely disaster for me. There are additional samples of lossless on my site.

On my system, I can't get ANY CL apps to read HuffYUV clips - not even the older ones - even though the codec is installed and can be accessed by VDub2:



Only VLC, VDub2 and WMP can play it

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Sep 18. 2019 14:16


youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5933 Offline
[Post New]
The new ColorDirector failed also. My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3840 Online
[Post New]
Try converting one of your existing HYUV/MYUV clips using VDub2's H265 lossless codec. Save it as an AVI as usual. I don't know how it compares quality-wise, but PD18 can edit clips made with that codec:


youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Warry [Avatar]
Member Private Message Location: The Netherlands Joined: Oct 13, 2014 11:42 Messages: 134 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks very much gentlemen for sharing the details from this issue.
Given that you, I and many others all of a suden got into (workflow) problems, maybe even missing deadlines, and have inability to proceed after the introduction of a new version, I think that Cyberlink should consider and implement one or more of the following features in de 365 model:
a) Option - facility to back-out (restore) to the previous version
b) Option to postpone the installation of a newer version (We have that already: just do not press the update button)
c) Option - facility to test a new version, whether a beta of final version along with the current (working) version.

Option C of course is the most ideal, for both Cyberlink and its users, as it gives Cyberlink the option to have new versions tested wider and gives users the option to test out the new features, find all the bugs there are to be found, whilst they still can continue working with the previous version. Maybe the period in which more than one version coexist should be limited for both Cyberlink and users sake (like: update to latest version within 30 days?)
I have submitted this suggestion to Cyberlink through the suggestions facility.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3840 Online
[Post New]
There is hope in BTC Land!

Try using FFDShow again just like you described in this post. I went back to the system image I made before updating to PD18, and I ran FFDShow because I didn't have HuffYUV installed. PD17 was able to view one of the HuffYUV clips you'd sent me.

I then updated to PD18 and I can now edit the clip:



I know you can't go back in time like I did, but I'm optimistic that running FFDShow now that PD18 is installed will restore your ability to work with HuffYUV clips!

UPDATE: Running FFDSHow with the default settings will let PD18 play HuffYUV clips! cool

So far, still no luck with MagicYUV, but one thing at a time...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Sep 22. 2019 13:07


youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5933 Offline
[Post New]
I'll look at that later but I have already pre-processed all my clips for PD18.
Also...I had a hissy-fit when there was no SVRT for my profile, but now for some unknown reason it is now accepting the profile.
Sigh. My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5933 Offline
[Post New]
Well, this is odd.
For some unknown reason, my HuffYUVs play today! Not MagicYUV, but it's a step in the right direction.
I did nothing to make this work.
The only fiddling I did was with my monitors' colors, trying to tweak them, including messing with Nvidia settings, but that's got nothing to do with codecs.
I am baffled, happy, but baffled.
Hopefully I won't be back here later today stating it's not working again.
Claws crossed.

Yes, as I feared, every time I try a adjust the video it crashes.
Sigh.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Oct 05. 2019 09:50

My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5933 Offline
[Post New]
Praise Cyberlink tech support.
Great work Kevin Cheng!
After describing the issues, providing a link to samples lossless AVI on my site, providing a dxdiag, and a couple of crash reports, Kevin NAILED it.
As instructed I deleted 2 registry keys and BAM, back in bidniss.
Very pleased. My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5933 Offline
[Post New]
Now...if it only worked in ColorDirector... My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3840 Online
[Post New]
Quote As instructed I deleted 2 registry keys and BAM, back in bidniss.
Very pleased.

Please share the RegEdit changes!
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5933 Offline
[Post New]
I do NOT suggest fiddling with the registry unless you know what you are doing, and these keys may have NOTHING in common with another user's issues.
But...

Meanwhile, you may try to delete the media caches and then try again on v18.

To delete media caches, please do the following steps.

1. Open Windows Registry Editor

2. Browse to the below path on the left side of Registry Editor.

[Computer\HKEY_CURRNT_USER\Software\CyberLink\MediaCache5]

3. Right click on the registry key “MediaCache5” and choose the option “Delete” to delete media caches.

and...

1. Open Windows Registry Editor

2. In the Registry Editor, browse the registry keys on the left side.

[Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\CyberLink\DSP_EffectLogger]

3. Right click on the “DSP_EffectLogger” and choose “Delete” in the right click menu to delete the registry key.

4. Launch PowerDirector to check if the issue has been resolved.


Of course, it still does not work in Colordirector but support is looking at that.

My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3840 Online
[Post New]
Thanks Barry! The first key is probably the one that cleared up your problem, because it clears the media cache and PD probably had conflicting information there regarding the HuffYUV clips, especially if some were generated before you applied the hotfix.

It looks like the second key simply logs which Digital Signal Processing FX have been active, and maybe clearing those will ensure that PD is starting clean with the hotfix.

I backed up the registry and removed both keys on my system. I was able to work with HuffYUV clips before, and there was no change once the keys were gone. There's also no change in getting PD to work with MagicYUV clips, so I'll have to wait and see if support or RD will fix that.
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team