CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
GTX1060 laptop not using video card
Reply to this topic
coreyman [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Feb 04, 2019 15:54 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
PD17 is using the onboard intel video card how does one use the GTX1060, ive tried going to the control settings of nvdia but the option is greyed out to use the dedicated vido card

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 04. 2019 16:24

Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 4400 Offline
[Post New]
Let us know the Graphics driver version that you are using and the PD patched version that you are using. Were you able to use the Nvidia graphics in the past with PD16?
Reply
coreyman [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Feb 04, 2019 15:54 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Let us know the Graphics driver version that you are using and the PD patched version that you are using. Were you able to use the Nvidia graphics in the past with PD16?

Its a new laptop from cyberpower pc

NVDIDA Drivers 398.36
GeForce Expereince 3.14.0.139
PWD 17.0.2314.0
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 3742 Offline
[Post New]
Quote PD17 is using the onboard intel video card how does one use the GTX1060, ive tried going to the control settings of nvdia but the option is greyed out to use the dedicated vido card

coreyman, there's not a Optimus profile for PD hence no selection and/or control as you note. The only 100% method to force the issue reliable and continually is to turn off the internal iGPU via BIOS. Not all laptop manufacturers permit that setting in BIOS so simple look for the setting.

PD17 patch 2314 is capable of working with pre or post 416 drivers.

Jeff
Reply
Westcoast604 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 29, 2017 16:37 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
Quote

coreyman, there's not a Optimus profile for PD hence no selection and/or control as you note. The only 100% method to force the issue reliable and continually is to turn off the internal iGPU via BIOS. Not all laptop manufacturers permit that setting in BIOS so simple look for the setting.

PD17 patch 2314 is capable of working with pre or post 416 drivers.

Jeff


Cyberlink: PLEASE FIX this coding error in your software so that Optimus systems - the most advanced laptops - can make proper use of their powerful graphics cards to render Video. This has been ongoing for years and yet you do nothing about it. So frustrataing.

Pretty Please!
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 3609 Online
[Post New]
Quote Cyberlink: PLEASE FIX this coding error in your software so that Optimus systems - the most advanced laptops - can make proper use of their powerful graphics cards to render Video. This has been ongoing for years and yet you do nothing about it. So frustrataing.

Pretty Please!

FYI this is a user forum, and the people who you're trying to reach at Cyberlink won't likely ever read these posts. The best thing to do is open PD then go to File, Rate Us & Provide Suggestions and tell them how important this is. That's actually the main "official" feeedback channel.
Reply
[Post New]
Quote

Cyberlink: PLEASE FIX this coding error in your software so that Optimus systems - the most advanced laptops - can make proper use of their powerful graphics cards to render Video. This has been ongoing for years and yet you do nothing about it. So frustrataing.

Pretty Please!


This issue has been discussed for a long time and the root cause belongs to NVidia, some Optimus platforms will crash when using their API to access NVidia GPU.
Since there is no solution so far, using Intel GPU is the safe way.
Reply
Warry [Avatar]
Member Private Message Location: The Netherlands Joined: Oct 13, 2014 11:42 Messages: 130 Offline
[Post New]
Quote
This issue has been discussed for a long time and the root cause belongs to NVidia, some Optimus platforms will crash when using their API to access NVidia GPU.
Since there is no solution so far, using Intel GPU is the safe way.


Well, if that is true why can the manufacturers of other Video editing software I have (e.g. Vegas) get this working properly. I have asked both NVidia and Cyberlink to look at this together. I can imagine that they too like this long time discussion being brought to an end...
Reply
Anonymous [Avatar]
[Post New]
It's a Laptop configuration issue, not a Cyberlink issue. My GTX1060 doesn't activate either, but my i7GPU does an excellent job rendering. It's fast and accurate, so I don't care whether the 1060 is used.
Reply
[Post New]
Quote


Well, if that is true why can the manufacturers of other Video editing software I have (e.g. Vegas) get this working properly. I have asked both NVidia and Cyberlink to look at this together. I can imagine that they too like this long time discussion being brought to an end...


I don't have the latest version but just tried Vegas Pro 14, the option says "Render using CUDA if available", and it looks like using CPU to encode since two GPUs are idle.
Maybe the old NVidia GPU and old VGA driver may work, but CUDA has been dropped in current VGA driver.

and even Premiere Pro CC has the same result as PowerDirector: Use Intel GPU only.
 Filename
PremiereProCC.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
Premiere rendering
 Filesize
230 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
12 time(s)
 Filename
VegasRendering.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
Vegas option
 Filesize
256 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
6 time(s)
 Filename
VegasRendering.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
Vegas rendering
 Filesize
256 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
7 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Feb 12. 2019 04:12

Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 3742 Offline
[Post New]
Quote
Maybe the old NVidia GPU and old VGA driver may work, but CUDA has been dropped in current VGA driver.

Maybe a little confusion. CUDA has not been dropped in any driver and is very much alive and well. What was depreciated years ago, ~5/2014, was the CUDA based encoder provided by Nvidia as part of the driver install in lieu of the NVENC supported encoder. So for products like PD, that simply piggybacked on Nvidia's offerings, yes the CUDA based encoder from Nvidia disappeared and PD then adapted to the newer Nvidia NVENC offering.

For other products it's up to them what to do, I still use several CUDA based encoders and they will load the GPU substantially, just not the NVENC encode block. PD is not one of those as I indicated above, for encoding, it simply uses a subset of the current Nvidia NVENC encode offerings.

Jeff
Reply
Warry [Avatar]
Member Private Message Location: The Netherlands Joined: Oct 13, 2014 11:42 Messages: 130 Offline
[Post New]
I guess my last remark on this topic. Many active in this forum have some expertise and sense of what is happening behind the scenes. Many others have and should not have a clue. They buy a computer with an expensive GPU and the buy software that is advertised to use their expensive hardware and then just expect it to work. And so they should.
My Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 15 uses the GTX1060 whereas PD17 does not.
 Filename
test movie studio 15 plat.png.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
Using Vegas Movie Studio 15 Platinum
 Filesize
331 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
22 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Feb 13. 2019 06:18

Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team