CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Does PowerDirector 17 support horizontal scroll with the Logitech MX Master 2s?
Reply to this topic
Cody45 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 04, 2018 20:31 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Hi there, I'm thinking about upgrading to PowerDirector 17 because I'm using 14, which is pretty old at this point.

But I would like to know if the new version supports the horizontal scroll wheel, PowerDirector 14 doesn't seem to; which is unfortunate because I find it to be very helpful with video editing.

Thanks for any info
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2159 Online
[Post New]
Have you tried using Logitech's SetPoint Manager to set the app-specific roles for your controls? I don't have a horizontal scroll wheel mouse so your settings will be different than my screen capture, but you can try adding PD14 and see if you can use the H wheel for anything useful:


Hopefully, someone who does have a similar mouse and PD17 will post if there's any native support built in.
youtube/optodata

Director Suite 365 | Win10 Pro | Core i7-4770K (o'ck to 4.3GHz) | GTX 780Ti | nVidia 411.70 | ASUS Z87 DX/QUAD | 5.4TB SSDs | 23TB HDDs | 32GB RAM | (12GB RAMDrive)
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5723 Online
[Post New]
My Microsoft 3500 has a scroll wheel.
Without changing anything...
PD12- scrolls up and down.
PD14- scrolls up and down.
PD17- scrolls left and right. My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2159 Online
[Post New]
Quote My Microsoft 3500 has a scroll wheel.
Without changing anything...
PD12- scrolls up and down.
PD14- scrolls up and down.
PD17- scrolls left and right.

Ha I hadn't noticed that! In PD17, the wheel scrolls vertically in the library or FX rooms when there's too much content to fit in a single window, but on the timeline it does scroll horizontally. That's a nice improvement
youtube/optodata

Director Suite 365 | Win10 Pro | Core i7-4770K (o'ck to 4.3GHz) | GTX 780Ti | nVidia 411.70 | ASUS Z87 DX/QUAD | 5.4TB SSDs | 23TB HDDs | 32GB RAM | (12GB RAMDrive)
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 3803 Offline
[Post New]
PD17 - scrolls left and right only on the timeline with the scroll bar only if the line with the scroll bar is first clicked on mine.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2159 Online
[Post New]
Quote PD17 - scrolls left and right only on the timeline with the scroll bar only if the line with the scroll bar is first clicked on mine.

Mine scrolls horizontally without clicking first as long as the cursor is hovering over the timeline and there's already content there (meaning whenever a horizontal scroll bar is present). It also scrolls vertically when hovering over a library/room as long as a vertical scroll bar is present, even without clicking.

It would be nice to hear from anyone who has a horizontal scroll wheel to see what (if anything) happens in PD17 when that's used.
youtube/optodata

Director Suite 365 | Win10 Pro | Core i7-4770K (o'ck to 4.3GHz) | GTX 780Ti | nVidia 411.70 | ASUS Z87 DX/QUAD | 5.4TB SSDs | 23TB HDDs | 32GB RAM | (12GB RAMDrive)
Reply
Cody45 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 04, 2018 20:31 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Have you tried using Logitech's SetPoint Manager to set the app-specific roles for your controls? I don't have a horizontal scroll wheel mouse so your settings will be different than my screen capture, but you can try adding PD14 and see if you can use the H wheel for anything useful:

Hopefully, someone who does have a similar mouse and PD17 will post if there's any native support built in.


I haven't tried that software, but I have tried Logitech's 'Options' software, which they recommend for this mouse. Unfortunately it dosn't do anything to set it specifically to PD14.

It seems I may have to take the plunge and upgrade to find out. I do like the software though so it'll probably be worth it either way.
So I'll check back in a bit when I've messed with it.
Reply
Cody45 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 04, 2018 20:31 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Nope no good, the horizontal scroll wheel doesn't scroll the timeline in PD17, it just does nothing for some reason.

I guess I can just hope that they implement that functionality one day.
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5723 Online
[Post New]
Quote Nope no good, the horizontal scroll wheel doesn't scroll the timeline in PD17, it just does nothing for some reason.

I guess I can just hope that they implement that functionality one day.
Two of us can scroll horizontally so it’s perhaps mouse-specific.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 2159 Online
[Post New]
Quote Nope no good, the horizontal scroll wheel doesn't scroll the timeline in PD17, it just does nothing for some reason.

I guess I can just hope that they implement that functionality one day.

Right, it's the vertical wheel that scrolls the timeline in PD17.

I'm pretty sure that apps have to be built with the internal code to utilize a second mouse wheel, and since they're kind of a niche item, it may be hard to find many programs that support them.
Reply
milos1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Slovakia Joined: Sep 06, 2011 15:49 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Nope no good, the horizontal scroll wheel doesn't scroll the timeline in PD17, it just does nothing for some reason.

I guess I can just hope that they implement that functionality one day.


Try first to click (left click) anywhere in the video tracks area and then scroll with vertical scroll. It causes (in my PD16) the time line to scroll horizontally (mouse Logitech M310, G700)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Nov 09. 2018 07:40

Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team