CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Browser not found on PD17 for downloading Templates
Reply to this topic
[Post New]
After the upgrade, I can't download templates because I get a "Please install a browser on your PC" message (I have 3 installed).
Has this been fixed or is there a workaround other than going directly to DirectorZone to get templates? Thanks! See the Difference video can make with DaveCVideo!
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote After the upgrade, I can't download templates because I get a "Please install a browser on your PC" message (I have 3 installed).
Has this been fixed or is there a workaround other than going directly to DirectorZone to get templates? Thanks!
Is one of those browsers, Internet Explorer or Edge?

Powerdirector uses IE or Edge for downloading. Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9915 Offline
[Post New]
Hi davecvideo -

You're right. Accessing DirectorZone via PDR is quite different in PDR17 compared to previous versions.

My view is that either (a) something's been left out or (b) I'm missing something.

In all previous versions, DZ templates can be downloaded via PDR. In PDR17 (aside from sound clips in the Media Library) a user only has access to their own previously uploaded or downloaded templates.

See this screen capture...



I may be wrong & I wouldn't mind being shown where. Deliberately or not, I think PDR17 is missing one of these in each of the template rooms... of course, you can download templates directly from DZ (just not via PDR17).



Cheers - Tony

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 12. 2018 21:47


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
[Post New]
Quote
Is one of those browsers, Internet Explorer or Edge?

Powerdirector uses IE or Edge for downloading.

Yes sir, they are. Both of which kick in if some other program decides it only wants to open with them. Chrome is my default browser, though. Thanks for the followup. See the Difference video can make with DaveCVideo!
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
Quote
Yes sir, they are. Both of which kick in if some other program decides it only wants to open with them. Chrome is my default browser, though. Thanks for the followup.

I wonder if there's simply a problem with how your default browser is registered in Windows. Close PowerDirector and go to Windows' Start menu, then click on the gear (Settings), then Apps and then Default Apps. Try changing it to Edge for this test:

You can keep the Setings window open, and then start PD and try to download a template. If Edge opens correctly, then close PD and change the default browser back to Chrome and see if the problem with PD is resolved.

I changed my default browser to Opera and PD opened it when I clicked on "More Premium Effects" from the PiP Objects Room, so I don't think there's a reason that PD can't use other browsers. That's why I think you may get Chrome to work by changing the default browser away from Chrome, then back to it.

Let us know how it goes!

YouTube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | Ryzen 9 3950X | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 10TB SSDs | 5K+4K HDR monitors

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
[Post New]
Didn't work. Changed to Edge. Verified pages opening in Edge. Opened PD and still getting the error.



Quote

I wonder if there's simply a problem with how your default browser is registered in Windows. Close PowerDirector and go to Windows' Start menu, then click on the gear (Settings), then Apps and then Default Apps. Try changing it to Edge for this test:

You can keep the Setings window open, and then start PD and try to download a template. If Edge opens correctly, then close PD and change the default browser back to Chrome and see if the problem with PD is resolved.

I changed my default browser to Opera and PD opened it when I clicked on "More Premium Effects" from the PiP Objects Room, so I don't think there's a reason that PD can't use other browsers. That's why I think you may get Chrome to work by changing the default browser away from Chrome, then back to it.

Let us know how it goes!
See the Difference video can make with DaveCVideo!
Reply
[Post New]
Yes. I have both of those installed. I followed the suggestion given later of changing my default browser to Edge and restarting PD to see if that resolved it. It did not. Any idea why PD now required one of those browsers? Thanks!
DaveC

Quote
Is one of those browsers, Internet Explorer or Edge?

Powerdirector uses IE or Edge for downloading.
See the Difference video can make with DaveCVideo!
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
You may want to try uninstalling PD, rebooting, and then reinstalling PD. You won't lose any settings, downloaded content or customizations.

YouTube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | Ryzen 9 3950X | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 10TB SSDs | 5K+4K HDR monitors

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
[Post New]
No success. I saw at least one other person was having the same problem.

Quote You may want to try uninstalling PD, rebooting, and then reinstalling PD. You won't lose any settings, downloaded content or customizations.
See the Difference video can make with DaveCVideo!
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7965 Offline
[Post New]
Definitely time to raise the issue with Cyberlink Tech Support.

YouTube/optodata


DS365 | Win10 Pro | Ryzen 9 3950X | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 10TB SSDs | 5K+4K HDR monitors

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team