CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Geforce Driver 416.16 no more GPU Hardware Encoding
Reply to this topic
blasiusxx [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 12, 2011 09:44 Messages: 330 Offline
[Post New]
If I install the latest Geforce driver 416.16 on my Pascal GTX 1060, it is no longer possible to enable GPU fast rendering when producing videos (MP4, MKV). It does not matter if you produce in AVC or H.265, the field to enable the GPU support remains grayed out. PD16 is up to date, Windows 10 64Bit as well (1809).
Then I reinstalled the predecessor driver 411.70, and everything works again.
I bet it's happening on other Pascal GPU's and also in Power Director 17. What about with you ?
Reply
Domimvp [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: May 13, 2018 09:45 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Quote If I install the latest Geforce driver 416.16 on my Pascal GTX 1060, it is no longer possible to enable GPU fast rendering when producing videos (MP4, MKV). It does not matter if you produce in AVC or H.265, the field to enable the GPU support remains grayed out. PD16 is up to date, Windows 10 64Bit as well (1809).
Then I reinstalled the predecessor driver 411.70, and everything works again.
I bet it's happening on other Pascal GPU's and also in Power Director 17. What about with you ?


indeed im having the same problem dont know if its a nvidia driver issue or windows i guess i need to roll back even tho the new driver Provides the optimal gaming experience with support for the Windows 10 October 2018 Update i dont want to roll back
Reply
[Post New]
I already have this problem 1 year ago, my AMD Radeon card, I think the problem is with PD, I checked with PD17 continues, I suppose that is the one similar problem to yours.
Whenever I update drivers to see if it works and it did not work, I just revert the video drivers.
Device Manager, 2 clicks, Video Adapter, Driver Tab, Button, Reverse Driver, OK
Note: If it was a new clean installation this does not work. AMD-FX 8350 / 8GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
Radeon RX 570 / AOC M2470SWD
Windows 10-64Pro / PD18 v365
Reply
blasiusxx [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 12, 2011 09:44 Messages: 330 Offline
[Post New]
We know, how to roll back to previous driver. wink

This is only a question, if someone else have the same experience with the new 416.16 GeForce Drivers and PD16 or the new PD17.
Reply
Cartof [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 11, 2017 06:12 Messages: 38 Offline
[Post New]
I can confirm this happened on both PD17 (the few days i had it before refund) and PD16 on my GTX1080..

PD16 encodes fine with the GPU on the Windows 398 driver. Can anyone from CyberLink look into this? We are basically left with CPU encoding only which is pretty taxing and time consuming.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 07. 2018 16:33

Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 4045 Offline
[Post New]
I see the same behavior with PD17 and a GTX780Ti (with the exception that with HEVC, the "Fast" options are always unavailable).

Since nVidia made some significant changes with regard to the Win10 October 2018 update, I think there's a reasonable chance that Cyberlink will address the incomaptibilities in a future release. They have been known to do that for the previous version (and sometimes for the 2-yr old version).

In the mean time, it seems like sticking with/rolling back/reinstalling 411.70 is the best option if you really want GPU access. Historically, I've consistantly seen better quality with CPU-only producing, but YMMV, especially depending on what kinds of FX and transitions you might use.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 24. 2018 02:26


youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
blasiusxx [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 12, 2011 09:44 Messages: 330 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks all.

Only CPU Usage is not enough for me. Even rendering a short video takes far too long if the GPU is not used. In any case, I do not see any disadvantages in quality when rendering with GPU. And for that, the Nvidia GTX was finally bought, just to accelerate the GPU encoding in PD significantly. Otherwise, it would have done any integrated GPU.
Reply
Cartof [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 11, 2017 06:12 Messages: 38 Offline
[Post New]
Just before we blame (or point the finger) to Microsoft or nvidia (though they are at fault too) i would like to let you guys know that both Vegas Pro 16 and Corel VideoStudio 2018 SP3 (which i bought today because my CyberLink PowerDirector 16 does not gpu encode anymore) still use without problems my GTX1080 to encode albeit to a slower pace:

1h30min 100Mbits 1440p video - was 28 min with PD16, is 48 min with VP16 and 56 min with CVS2018.
Reply
blasiusxx [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 12, 2011 09:44 Messages: 330 Offline
[Post New]
With newest GeForce Drivers 416.34 there is still no more Hardware Encoding possible. Options are greed out in the Production Table.
Reply
[Post New]
Quote With newest GeForce Drivers 416.34 there is still no more Hardware Encoding possible. Options are greed out in the Production Table.


Thanks for the update. Guess we wait for a driver that supports it. Not sure who to contact at nvidia or if they even care.
Reply
blasiusxx [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 12, 2011 09:44 Messages: 330 Offline
[Post New]
The German CL support wrote me back. The problem is known, and they are already working on a solution. However, you can not say how long it will take.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 17. 2018 02:37

Reply
[Post New]
Quote And for that, the Nvidia GTX was finally bought, just to accelerate the GPU encoding in PD significantly. Otherwise, it would have done any integrated GPU.

Intel GPU's support hardware encoding too, you didn't need nvidia specifically for that.
Reply
blasiusxx [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 12, 2011 09:44 Messages: 330 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for the info, but as a longtime PD user I know that, of course. wink

It's just that a dedicated Geforce as the GTX1070 in hardware GPU encoding is several times faster than an iGPU such as the Intel UHD 630. I have compared several times. The iGPU also brings an improvement, but is not synonymous with a dedicated Geforce, there are "worlds" between the GPU's. In particular, when it comes to 4K 60p material is a significant improvement.

I did not buy the Geforce to play, but only for movie encoding and video editing, and not just for PowerDirector only. This brings tangible benefits everywhere, and there are no disadvantages -in my eyes- in terms of image quality at all. At least not for my areas. Otherwise I would not have invested so much money. And that was a lot of money for me.

So I hope the problem will be fixed soon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 21. 2018 03:51

Reply
[Post New]
Quote In the mean time, it seems like sticking with/rolling back/reinstalling 411.70 is the best option if you really want GPU access. Historically, I've consistantly seen better quality with CPU-only producing, but YMMV, especially depending on what kinds of FX and transitions you might use.

Many thanks. Rolling back have resolved the issue. No latest drivers for me apparently but hey, at least it works :p

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 24. 2018 02:10

Reply
PowerDirector Moderator
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan Joined: Oct 18, 2016 00:25 Messages: 717 Offline
[Post New]
Dear All,

A beta patch hotfix has been released for this issue. Please consider installing if you want:

https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/77562.page

Cheers
PowerDirector Moderator


For customer support related issues, please contact:
- Customer service: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do
- Technical support: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/service/technical-support.do
Reply
blasiusxx [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 12, 2011 09:44 Messages: 330 Offline
[Post New]
Runs very good.

All tests Producing (H264 & H265 Import) from 4K 60p/1080 60p to Export 4K 60p H265/H264 and 1080p60 MKV and MP4 runs very smooth and fast, and picture Quality is well.

All tests with GTX1060 and Geforce Driver 416.34.

And now - in my opinion - the Creating of 1080i BD Disc had a very better Picture Quality.

Creating Interlaced BD Discs with Geforce Videocards Hardware (even if you could not enable GPU support when creating the BD disc) was always very bad. Now it looks much better. I do not know if it's the new patch, or the newer Geforce driver. I always had to make the BD Disc Progressive to solve the bad quality, now everything looks much better.Could anyone compare this ?!

Thank you very much for fast Patch. smile
Reply
Cartof [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 11, 2017 06:12 Messages: 38 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Dear All,

A beta patch hotfix has been released for this issue. Please consider installing if you want:

https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/77562.page


Hello, how about PD17.. ?
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 4045 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hello, how about PD17.. ?
The mod linked to one of the main threads, but maybe the more appropriate link is this sticky post at the very top of the PD16 forum (which should probably be duplicated in the PD15 and 17 forums since the patch covers all 3 versions)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct 25. 2018 10:15


youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Cartof [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 11, 2017 06:12 Messages: 38 Offline
[Post New]
Quote
The mod linked to one of the main threads, but maybe the more appropriate link is this sticky post at the very top of the PD16 forum (which should probably be duplicated in the PD15 and 17 forums since the patch covers all 3 versions)


That does not solve (my) issue. I still have nvidia (gtx1080 with 416.34) hardware encoding option grayed out in Produce room.
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 4045 Offline
[Post New]
Yes, you're right. I got the two issues confused.

I have to assume that a patch for the stand-alone (not subscription-based) version of PD17 is imminent, and a full patch for all subscription versions will follow. Reverting to the v411.70 driver is still the best workaround until then.
youtube/optodata

DS365 | Win10 Pro | 8 Core/16T i9-9900K (4.8GHz) | RTX 2070 | 32GB RAM | 6TB SSDs

Canon Vixia GX10 (4K 60p) | HF G30 (HD 60p) | HF S200 (HD 30p) | Yi Action+ 4K | 360Fly 4K 360°
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team