CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
How do I encode a video at 640x360 using H.264 AVC?
Reply to this topic
Bryson & Kristy [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 17, 2009 12:24 Messages: 12 Offline
[Post New]
I am trying to convert an old 640 wide by 360 tall divx video to mp4, but I don't see any 640 wide widescreen options. Obviously, if I use the 640x480 option then the video is stretched with no black bars so that doesn't work and I don't want a 16:9 format that is larger than the source width. How do I get a 640x360 output?
Reply
[Post New]
Quote I am trying to convert an old 640 wide by 360 tall divx video to mp4, but I don't see any 640 wide widescreen options. Obviously, if I use the 640x480 option then the video is stretched with no black bars so that doesn't work and I don't want a 16:9 format that is larger than the source width. How do I get a 640x360 output?


I think you have a 4x3 video.
It is common for PD to adjust to the format when adding the video in the timeline, if does not modify the button, Select aspect ratio.
see the image
[Thumb - aspect ratio.jpg]
 Filename
aspect ratio.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
30 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
5 time(s)
AMD-FX 8350 / 16GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
Radeon RX 570 / AOC M2470SWD
Windows 10-64Pro / PD19 v365
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9810 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Bryson & Kristy -

640x360 is genuine 16:9, with square pixels (1:1 PAR). If you take a 640x360 clip and produce it to PDR's 640x480 MP4 profile, you'll still get a 16:9 video, but it will have a non-square PAR.

If you want, you can use the attached 640x360 profile to replicate the properties of your DIVX clips.

All you need to do is:

  1. Open the attachment with Notepad

  2. Select All & copy the contents

  3. Go to C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Roaming\CyberLink\PowerDirector\15.0\UserConfigure & open the Profile.ini

  4. Place the cursor at the start or end of the document & paste the profile

  5. Save & close Profile.ini


When you open PDR15 & go to Produce > AVC H.264 > MP4, select Custom & you'll see a 640x360 profile.

Cheers - Tony
 Filename
640x480 Profile.txt
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
1 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
67 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Aug 04. 2018 06:08


Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Bryson & Kristy [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 17, 2009 12:24 Messages: 12 Offline
[Post New]
Tony,
Thank you very much. That worked perfectly. The only thing I don't understand is how I can edit the profile to do that in PD15, which is what I wanted to do, without having to start tweaking scripts manually.
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9810 Offline
[Post New]
Unfortunately, with some profiles in PDR, the only way to do it is by manually editing the Profile.ini

Some profiles can be customised right in PDR, by clicking the + button in the Produce module.

Attached is a little doc written for PDR13, showing how to customise profiles. It still applies but the file paths are different for PDR15 (of course).

You'll also find a more updated explanation in PDNews Issue 10, written by Robert (The Shadowman).

Here's a visual, though it's way more complicated than what you need to do...



Cheers - Tony
 Filename
Creating Custom Profiles for PowerDirector.pdf
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
748 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
66 time(s)

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
ILS [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 03, 2018 19:48 Messages: 7 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hi Bryson & Kristy -

640x360 is genuine 16:9, with square pixels (1:1 PAR). If you take a 640x360 clip and produce it to PDR's 640x480 MP4 profile, you'll still get a 16:9 video, but it will have a non-square PAR.

If you want, you can use the attached 640x360 profile to replicate the properties of your DIVX clips.

All you need to do is:

  1. Open the attachment with Notepad

  2. Select All & copy the contents

  3. Go to C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Roaming\CyberLink\PowerDirector\15.0\UserConfigure & open the Profile.ini

  4. Place the cursor at the start or end of the document & paste the profile

  5. Save & close Profile.ini


When you open PDR15 & go to Produce > AVC H.264 > MP4, select Custom & you'll see a 640x360 profile.

Cheers - Tony

Tony, I also needed a 640x360 Custom profile. Lots of Zoom videos these days are saved as 640x360. I did what you suggested. Yes, I got something that said '640x360'. However, the resolution was listed as 320x240, and there was no way to change it to 640x360; the two aspect ratios differ.
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 5453 Offline
[Post New]
That is normal. To the right of the Profile name/Quality box is a Details button. Click on it and see what is the Width and the Height listed there.
Reply
ILS [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 03, 2018 19:48 Messages: 7 Offline
[Post New]
Quote That is normal. To the right of the Profile name/Quality box is a Details button. Click on it and see what is the Width and the Height listed there.

320 x 240
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 5453 Offline
[Post New]
There may be many buttons to the right depending on the PD version. Hover the mouse over each one until you find the details button and then click on the right one. This works if you did not make any changes to the Profile quality.
Reply
[Post New]
Hi ILS
In my opinion it should be based on the aspect ratio 16x9 or 4x3 in which your video fits perfectly, otherwise you must use some means of filling in if necessary.

Aspect ratio is not related to video resolution.Example I have fullhd video “16x9” with 1920x1080 or 1440x1080 resolution

Attach video images with 640x352 resolution with 16x9 aspect (but it could be 4x3) depends on the one selected on the camcorder.

I have a profile created for this video see image, just with the intention of reducing the size of the video file.

Note: PD “doesn't like” this if you open this profile even if just to look and say “OK” it will change to 320x240.

Anyway I have preferred to produce this video in 720x480 for better quality of the text added to the video.

Obs2: This 640x352 video leaves a small black band on the top and bottom of the video.
At first I zoomed in to fill the screen.
I found it better, right click, Set Clip Attributes, Set Aspect Ratio, mark 16x9 OK
This corrects without distorting the image.

Obs3: I use PD19/354
[Thumb - 640x352a.jpg]
 Filename
640x352a.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
93 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
3 time(s)
[Thumb - 640x352.jpg]
 Filename
640x352.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
108 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
3 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Nov 11. 2020 09:20

AMD-FX 8350 / 16GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
Radeon RX 570 / AOC M2470SWD
Windows 10-64Pro / PD19 v365
Reply
ILS [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 03, 2018 19:48 Messages: 7 Offline
[Post New]
Quote There may be many buttons to the right depending on the PD version. Hover the mouse over each one until you find the details button and then click on the right one. This works if you did not make any changes to the Profile quality.

to you and AVPLAYVIDEO: I finally decided that I couldn't get 640x360, even modifying the Profile.ini I'm using PD15. So I edited my zoom (640x360 25 fps < 1Mbps) mp4. I set the time-line preference to 25 fps to watch it correctly. Then I produced the edited mp4 using a custom 640x480 25 fps 1Mbps. The final video filled the screen fine. I'm not sure why, since the aspect ratio of the original was 1.777.. and 1.5 output. But all's well, and I plan to do this for other zoom videos that I edit in PD15. PS. I had no trouble seting up a 640x360 output with Adobe Premiere Elements 18. However, it gave black borders on all 4 sides. Go figure!
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team