CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Is my GPU doing anything ?
Reply to this topic
Peter Podder
Member Private Message Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
On my machine I have an intergrated chip set and a dedicated GPU.

It appears that when my GPU should be working it is not. I have tested it using GPU Z and it performs as expected.
Nvidia has a little monitor that shows if there is activity or not and when I do anything with PD activity is NONE. I have created test projects with all sorts of visual effects including 3D like rotating images in title designer. Still NONE when previewing or rendering.
All hardware acceleration is on in PD and in production Intel Quick Sync has been tested in on or off modes with zero change in rendering times.

Customization is not allowed for PD in the Nvidia management tool.

I have never had a machine with a GPU so my expertise level is NONE.

Included are some screen shots that may be helpful as well as a DxDiag
Maybe someone here can enlighten me.

Thank you
 Filename
3 GPU Z.PNG
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
127 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
11 time(s)
 Filename
2 Topology.PNG
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
118 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
7 time(s)
 Filename
1 3D settings.PNG
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
128 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
6 time(s)
____________________________________

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,
____________________________________

Reply
Peter Podder
Member Private Message Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
And the last 2 attachments
 Filename
5 DxDiag.txt
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
27 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
228 time(s)
 Filename
4 GPU test.PNG
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
557 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
8 time(s)
____________________________________

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,
____________________________________

Reply
PepsiMan
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Clarksville, TN Joined: Dec 29, 2010 01:20 Messages: 1024 Offline
[Post New]
yes! 96% and you're complaining... ^^
look GPU Load parameter not making sense . PDs GPGPU will kick in...

happy happy joy joy

PepsiMan
'garbage in garbage out'

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 29. 2018 11:22

'no bridge too far'

Yashica Electro 8 LD-6 Super 8mm
Asrock 970 Extreme4, W7Pro 64, AMD FX 8370E, MSI GTX960 2GB, Corsair 16GB/RAM
Dell XPS L702X i7-2860QM, W7P / W10P 64, Intel HD3000/nVidia GT 550M 1GB, Micron 16GB/RAM
Samsung Galaxy Note3/NX1
Reply
Peter Podder
Member Private Message Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
Not complaining ...ha ha just want to understand if its working the way it should. That screen shot of GPU Z is just during the GPU test. Not while using any other app. when PD runs its is null. Could it be that the cpu is comfortable and there just isnt a need for the GPU ?

It bogs a bit when I push it so I dont really know. Overall a vast improvement over the old m4700 though. ____________________________________

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,
____________________________________

Reply
Myk
Senior Member Private Message Location: The Hartland of Michigan Joined: Feb 05, 2015 16:09 Messages: 205 Offline
[Post New]
PD not using an Nvidia GPU has been an ongoing complaint for many years/versions. .
.
Never, under any circumstances, combine a laxative and sleeping pill on the same night.

PowerSpec G310
ASRock Extreme 6 A85X
AMD A10 6800K Quad Core Processor 4.1GHz
16GB DDR3-1600 RAM
EVGA GTX960 Super OC GPU
Windows 7 Pro
Reply
Peter Podder
Member Private Message Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
Quote PD not using an Nvidia GPU has been an ongoing complaint for many years/versions.


Yeah I have read what I could find on here but it doesnt seem to be the case with everyone. I am still trying to figure it all out but thanks. ____________________________________

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,
____________________________________

Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 5349 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Yeah I have read what I could find on here but it doesnt seem to be the case with everyone. I am still trying to figure it all out but thanks.

The laptop is about 5 years old with the Quadro k2000m kepler architecture video card. The Nvidia card is not used at all when you created the DxDiag.txt.

See these posts: https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/45462.page#234767 and this one: https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/42357.page . Your Nvidia video card driver cannot be later than 337.88 of May 26, 2014.

It is possible that the nvidia card can be enabled in your computer. The older 337.88 drivers or earlier need to be used. The newer drivers enable the hardware encoding for the newer cards only in PowerDirector. These older posts were created when PD13 was current and Nvidia created newer drivers for their newer architecture video cards. You have the older card.

If installing the older drivers work to enable that Nvidia card on your PowerDirector then please post the results here as it will help others with the same questions.

Good luck with your investigation.
Reply
Myk
Senior Member Private Message Location: The Hartland of Michigan Joined: Feb 05, 2015 16:09 Messages: 205 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Your Nvidia video card driver cannot be later than 337.88 of May 26, 2014..

You can get it here. Bottom of the page. NOT for Win 10.
http://www.guru3d.com/files-categories/videocards-nvidia-geforce-vista-|-7.html

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Feb 01. 2018 01:56

.
.
Never, under any circumstances, combine a laxative and sleeping pill on the same night.

PowerSpec G310
ASRock Extreme 6 A85X
AMD A10 6800K Quad Core Processor 4.1GHz
16GB DDR3-1600 RAM
EVGA GTX960 Super OC GPU
Windows 7 Pro
Reply
Peter Podder
Member Private Message Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
Quote
Quote Yeah I have read what I could find on here but it doesnt seem to be the case with everyone. I am still trying to figure it all out but thanks.

The laptop is about 5 years old with the Quadro k2000m kepler architecture video card. The Nvidia card is not used at all when you created the DxDiag.txt.

See these posts: https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/45462.page#234767 and this one: https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/42357.page . Your Nvidia video card driver cannot be later than 337.88 of May 26, 2014.

It is possible that the nvidia card can be enabled in your computer. The older 337.88 drivers or earlier need to be used. The newer drivers enable the hardware encoding for the newer cards only in PowerDirector. These older posts were created when PD13 was current and Nvidia created newer drivers for their newer architecture video cards. You have the older card.

If installing the older drivers work to enable that Nvidia card on your PowerDirector then please post the results here as it will help others with the same questions.

Good luck with your investigation.



You guys are amazing. I will have time either later tonight or tomorrow to investigate.
The only questions I have before I change any drivers is will it effect anything else that may use the card ? Or if it doesnt fix the issue can I reinstall the driver that I currently have without any issues ? Stupid question probably but I am still learning.
I really cant express the appreciation I have for people like yourselves and this forum.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 31. 2018 23:23

____________________________________

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,
____________________________________

Reply
Peter Podder
Member Private Message Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Your Nvidia video card driver cannot be later than 337.88 of May 26, 2014..
You can get it here. Bottom of the page.
http://www.guru3d.com/files-categories/videocards-nvidia-geforce-vista-|-7.html


Thank you !!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 01. 2018 01:56

____________________________________

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,
____________________________________

Reply
PepsiMan
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Clarksville, TN Joined: Dec 29, 2010 01:20 Messages: 1024 Offline
[Post New]
hey, Myk. hope you've enjoyed Super Blue Blood Moon Lunar Eclipse all rolled up in one!!!

Quote PD not using an Nvidia GPU has been an ongoing complaint for many years/versions.


i had to look for my old kodachrome slides... ^^
don't ask me about wX and or PD15 & 16...

happy happy joy joy

PepsiMan
'garbage in garbage out'
 Filename
20170124_190456.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
PD14 HA w GTX 950 WHQL 365.10
 Filesize
1153 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
9 time(s)
 Filename
20141112_213006.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
PD13 HA w GTX 750Ti WHQL 344.65
 Filesize
395 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
8 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Feb 01. 2018 19:08

'no bridge too far'

Yashica Electro 8 LD-6 Super 8mm
Asrock 970 Extreme4, W7Pro 64, AMD FX 8370E, MSI GTX960 2GB, Corsair 16GB/RAM
Dell XPS L702X i7-2860QM, W7P / W10P 64, Intel HD3000/nVidia GT 550M 1GB, Micron 16GB/RAM
Samsung Galaxy Note3/NX1
Reply
PepsiMan
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Clarksville, TN Joined: Dec 29, 2010 01:20 Messages: 1024 Offline
[Post New]
one more...

always try to be happy happy joy joy ^^

PepsiMan
'garbage in garbage out'
 Filename
20180130_154159.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
PD12 HA w GTX 950 WHQL 365.10 your wife is Hot! baby.
 Filesize
904 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
12 time(s)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Feb 02. 2018 23:26

'no bridge too far'

Yashica Electro 8 LD-6 Super 8mm
Asrock 970 Extreme4, W7Pro 64, AMD FX 8370E, MSI GTX960 2GB, Corsair 16GB/RAM
Dell XPS L702X i7-2860QM, W7P / W10P 64, Intel HD3000/nVidia GT 550M 1GB, Micron 16GB/RAM
Samsung Galaxy Note3/NX1
Reply
Peter Podder
Member Private Message Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
What you are showing me is that it uses GPU in PD 12, 13, and 14 ? Remember I am not as smart as I look. Regardless when I run that monitor whether it be during playback ( with assorted FX and junk) or
<p style="display: inline !important;">when rendering, the activity is all CPU. That much I can do. Other programs such as Gimp , running a spinning globe logo test allowed me to use the GPU and it showed on GPUZ. So....before I proceed with installing the older driver I have to ask myself. Do you feel lucky today ? Because so far with the new, old, refurb that I souped up significantly, things have been going surprisingly well. Fact is I am afraid to install stuff that I dont know much about. And if I power up and get a blue screen of death or anything else besides my smiling avatar, I will be emotionally unstable for a while. If I have to f2 or f anything else to start up in "safe" mode for instance, I dont feel so safe. Is all this worth it ? I dont know. So who's wife is hot anyway ?
<p style="display: inline !important;">
<p style="display: inline !important;">

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 02. 2018 04:17

____________________________________

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,
____________________________________

Reply
PepsiMan
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Clarksville, TN Joined: Dec 29, 2010 01:20 Messages: 1024 Offline
[Post New]
Jeff and Tomasc is very knowledgeable so don't worry about it. it'll not crash, it'll burn itself to death. ^^
whenever updating the GPU drivers always always do a clean install.

what really you and Myk want to see is GPGPU acceleration... since my desk pc is built on AMD so PD goes to discrete video cards; however, when you have Intel cpus with built in GPUs then PD wants to go to the sugar daddy, intel HD GPUs... then there is Optimus problems... yup both dsktops and laptops.

like i said earlier, don't worry be happy happy joy joy. mentioned problem is about two years old or during PD14 when the new GPU architectures devued...

i've also included in my pics are the nVidia WHQL driver versions that'll do HA! WHQL 378.92 also do HA on my desktop. i say again don't ask me about wX and or PD15/16.

my dell xps which is 6 years old and the nVidia driver version is WHQL 285.77 with Intel HD3000, it'll go into overdrive to GPGPU whenever, she's doing 4K AVC H.264 at 176Mb/sec video bitrate if i remember correctly...

when you saw that my desktop doing GPU HA, the percentage is mostly less than 40%. that's because there is a bottlneck in my system besides PD itself!

read for reference -> Speed rendering tests: nVidia and Skylake GPU with PD14 .

if you happened to spend 1K for mobo, 3K for gpu, 9K for cpu and 1K for memory, then with less system and software bottle neck one might see >40% GPGPU utilization, but is it worth it to the individual???
moreover, funny thing one will notice is that cpu is so fast that one could care less about GPGPU HA then... ^^

once upon a time, i bought a brand spanking new video card with 1MB vram for $100 or more and played EF2000 and Apache day and night... ^^

oh, i got side tracked a bit. whose wife is hot of course yours! ^^

happy happy joy joy

PepsiMan
'garbage in garbage out'
 Filename
20140720_094524.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
vern fix your ac
 Filesize
897 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
7 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Feb 02. 2018 23:28

'no bridge too far'

Yashica Electro 8 LD-6 Super 8mm
Asrock 970 Extreme4, W7Pro 64, AMD FX 8370E, MSI GTX960 2GB, Corsair 16GB/RAM
Dell XPS L702X i7-2860QM, W7P / W10P 64, Intel HD3000/nVidia GT 550M 1GB, Micron 16GB/RAM
Samsung Galaxy Note3/NX1
Reply
Peter Podder
Member Private Message Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Jeff and Tomasc is very knowledgeable so don't worry about it. it'll not crash, it'll burn itself to death. ^^
whenever updating the GPU drivers always always do a clean install.

what really you and Myk want to see is GPGPU acceleration... since my desk pc is built on AMD so PD goes to discrete video cards; however, when you have Intel cpus with built in GPUs then PD wants to go to the sugar daddy, intel HD GPUs... then there is Optimus problems... yup both dsktops and laptops.

like i said earlier, don't worry be happy happy joy joy. mentioned problem is about two years old or during PD14 when the new GPU architectures devued...

i've also included in my pics are the nVidia WHQL driver versions that'll do HA! WHQL 378.92 also do HA on my desktop. i say again don't ask me about wX and or PD15/16.

my dell xps which is 6 years old and the nVidia driver version is WHQL 285.77 with Intel HD3000, it'll go into overdrive to GPGPU whenever, she's doing 4K AVC H.264 at 176Mb/sec video bitrate if i remember correctly...

when you saw that my desktop doing GPU HA, the percentage is mostly less than 40%. that's because there is a bottlneck in my system besides PD itself!

read for reference -> Speed rendering tests: nVidia and Skylake GPU with PD14 .

if you happened to spend 1K for mobo, 3K for gpu, 9K for cpu and 1K for memory, then with less system and software bottle neck one might see >40% GPGPU utilization, but is it worth it to the individual???
moreover, funny thing one will notice is that cpu is so fast that one could care less about GPGPU HA then... ^^

once upon a time, i bought a brand spanking new video card with 1MB vram for $100 or more and played EF2000 and Apache day and night... ^^

oh, i got side tracked a bit. whose wife is hot of course yours! ^^

happy happy joy joy

PepsiMan
'garbage in garbage out'



Oh boy....I am doing a clean install of my brain at the moment in order to process all the information here and linked to here.
My goodness you guys are thorough.
But as I read and absorb ....I will keep an eye on my hot wife. Ha ha !
You guys are amazing. Thank you all.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 03. 2018 05:13

____________________________________

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,
____________________________________

Reply
Peter Podder
Member Private Message Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
UPDATE

Well I downloaded and went to intstall the older driver as suggested and what do you know.......screen went BLACK and I couldnt access anything. No joke. So after many stressfull moments researching from my phone a hard restart brought everything to life again.
I HATE doing things like this but live and learn. My external HDD and backup was unplugged so at least I cant loose EVERYTHING.

So bottom line. Back to Nvidia control panel and I still cant select my GPU for PD. It does allow me to select it for other programs such as paint so I know it can be selected where a program allows. I will just have to let the i7 gpu do the work.
It wasnt performing badly though. I really wanted to know if there was a benefit to a dedicated GPU or not. I will not know for sure on this machine. But will use it where programs allow.

Next and hopefully last thoughts.......leave the old driver now or clean re-install the original ? I do plan on installing other graphics programs down the line as my needs for motion graphics increases.

Thanks to all of you who provided very helpful information. ____________________________________

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,
____________________________________

Reply
[Post New]
Quote PD not using an Nvidia GPU has been an ongoing complaint for many years/versions.

Only for laptops with Intel GPU/nVidia GPU combinations, because of NVIDIA Optimus Technology.
And stop linking that onld driver! That's justr for the nVidia GPU's from generations previous to Kepler, that didn't have integrated the NVENC core! There is no need for that driver on newer that 2010 nVidia GPU's, and actually will make things worse!

PS: Buying a laptop for video editing is just pissing away money. But... whatever floats ones boat!

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at Feb 08. 2018 04:30

Reply
[Post New]
Quote Next and hopefully last thoughts.......leave the old driver now or clean re-install the original ? I do plan on installing other graphics programs down the line as my needs for motion graphics increases.

Install the latest Quadro driver. Not GeForce (GeForce driver will install on a Quadro GPU, but is not recomended for video editing on a laptop)!
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6045 Offline
[Post New]
You folks should trust Sonic, he is the resident EXPERT on these things, he knows his stuff regarding graphics cards. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Analog tape capture equipment.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-609762572849441
Reply
Peter Podder
Member Private Message Location: Long Island, N.Y. Joined: Dec 03, 2016 16:13 Messages: 116 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks for the additional inputs guys. Will revert to proper driver and move on from this. I have to say though that this machine was purchased for $ 300 and performed very nicely out of the refurb box. Upgrade to SSD and moved the HDD to the DVD bay and it not only scores highly on Benchmark tests but Windows is at 6.9 and thats more than sufficient for me. It will not float my boat however but can be used ON my boat if I so choose. And I like that. Again thanks to all for sharing your knowledge. It truly is appreciated.
Scott ____________________________________

Dell Precision M4700 i7-3840QM 2.80 GHz
16gb ram , NVIDIA Quadro K2000M GPU
Samsung 850 EVO 1tb SSD , 500 gb HDD ,
____________________________________

Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team