CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Capture VHS with PD12
Reply to this topic
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5934 Offline
[Post New]
Hey folks, I just want to explain how I am capturing VHS tapes at very high quality (for VHS).


  • Install PD 12 as a 32-bit application by removing 64 bit installer. This allows PD to access 32-bit AVI capture codecs.

  • Download and install desired AVI codecs, I have successfully captured analog signals using MagicYUV, Microsoft Video1, Indeo 3.2, Indeo 5.1, Alparysoft (watermark), and MJPEG (watermark). I mostly use Lagareth lossless codec as I get few drops and a decent (if large) file size.

  • Capture to a seperate 7,200 rpm drive away from your OS for better performance, fewer drops.

  • I am using a Hauppage USB dongle to capture.

  • Having 2 good VCR players so I can choose. My main player is a Super-VHS JVC HR-S5912U, it has S-video, calibration, sharpen/soften, and stabilizer, but no Time Base Corrector.

  • A near-new Philips DVP-3345V (cheapo with zero frills) using only RCA.

  • Using a video switcher I can keep both machines ready to go on the same USB dongle, just press a button to choose.

  • VHS tapes can be very finicky so multiple machines widen the possibility of a quality capture. Unfortunately some tapes really benefit from a TBC so I have to eventually get a better VCR with TBC inside it, or get an external TBC unit.


If you have any questions please feel free to ask.

EDIT: I can also capture to Divx profiles. Keep in mind DivX and Mpeg2 are 720x480. AVI and DV are 640x480.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Sep 10. 2017 18:44

My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 4530 Offline
[Post New]
I find it far better to use the 32 bit software that comes with the old name brand pci capture cards. Mpeg-2 has replaced those obsolete Indeo codecs. A JVC svhs with a tbc may not be what you want. Old stretched tapes that have bending at the top when viewed on a high end tv may not be corrected with the vcr built-in tbc turned on. The right capture card actually work better with those old tape. The consumer svhs machines have what they call a 3 line tbc which is not a full tbc.

You may want to purchase those old tbc cheap now. Unfortunately they don’t make 64 bit drivers for those old cards and devices that I know of. My xp machine gave out 3 years ago.
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5934 Offline
[Post New]
I am going to try my HV30 for capture. I have used it in the past, many years ago. There are some mentions on the internet that using a DV camera for pass-thru may work as a TBC.

Currently for TBC, the only affordable new ones are the CTB-100, which some claim have a defective chip. I bought one, it helped a little on a particularly bad tape, but the frame-drops were horrific. I wonder if I had tried to capture to a different drive I would have had fewer drops. I may try that again. DV is not the best codec either.

If I were to use MPEG2 I would bump up the bitrate to 11-15,000 but then all MPEG2 codecs are not equal, and maybe the CL version is a little lacking. Lagareth gives me a big file but few artifacts.

I fear buying any VCR on the web due to age and any with TBC are quite expensive and I wonder how much life is left in them. A rebuilt top-shelf JVC with TBC can run many hundreds of dollars, and a used external TBC-1000 can run $500.

Anyone got a decent VCR they're not using anymore? My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 4530 Offline
[Post New]
The expected resolution of vhs is 240 horizontal lines resolution because of the 3 Mhz bandwith. It is 4.2 Mhz for ntsc broadcast and 5 Mhz for Svhs. DV of 720 horizontal pixels beats them all and each frame is independently compressed at about a 5 to 1 ratio. 1hour of DV is 13 GB of data.

You should definitely try your HV30 for capture as you have suggested.
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 4530 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I have successfully captured analog signals using MagicYUV, Microsoft Video1, Indeo 3.2, Indeo 5.1, Alparysoft (watermark), and MJPEG (watermark).

EDIT: I can also capture to Divx profiles. Keep in mind DivX and Mpeg2 are 720x480. AVI and DV are 640x480.


The Intel Indeo 5 codec is not watermarked if you can find it. That is before it was sold to Ligos. It was supplied free on older versions of windows, hardware, and software.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team