CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PowerDVD 16.0.2011.60 playback issue: cannot play Bluray folder in TV mode
Reply to this topic
audreyp [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 07, 2016 16:44 Messages: 17 Offline
[Post New]
Just updated to PowerDVD 16.0.2011.60 from 16.0.1713.60.

In the TV mode, select a bluray movie folder from my computer's c: drive. Hit space bar (or click the play button on the keyboard), powerdvd screen flash immediate, but the movie did not start at all.

It was working fine in 16.0.1713.60 under TV mode. All you need to do is select the root of the BD movie folder or the BDMV folder inside the movie. Hit play or space button to play the movie. (it will say load the bd disc as if you play from iso image or BD disc. It has full access to all BD features including BD menus, BD-Live, Audio track, captions, etc.).

It is working in 16.0.2011.60 under PC mode though, but I always use TV mode everywhere even watching movies on PC because TV mode has a better UI. This forced me to revert back to PowerDVD 16.0.1713.60.

Also why did PowerDVD 16 remove OSD display selection from the menu under TV mode? It is useful stats info to see (audio/vidoe bit rates, etc.). Every other stream device/service offer these type of info in their apps. (Youtube, sling tv, roku...) I know you can hit hotkey D on the keyboard to display OSD, but I would like to see it in the menu selection just because other novice user may not know the hotkey. This feature is available in cinema mode PowerDVD version 8~15 and disappeared in version 16 TV mode. Very disappointed!
Reply
Hicham_B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Jun 09, 2015 04:02 Messages: 1347 Offline
[Post New]
Hi audreyp,

I can't reproduce this issue with version 2011.
Have you tried to delete the cache?
Please try to don't keep the personal setting by updating your PDVD to version 2011.
Let us know your result.

Best regards
Hicham Technical support:
EN: https://www.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
DE: https://de.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
FR: https://fr.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
ES: https://es.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
Reply
EddyHD [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Sep 18, 2015 21:58 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
I have the same problem after update 2011.

I delete the cache files, but the problem persist.
Reply
Hicham_B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Jun 09, 2015 04:02 Messages: 1347 Offline
[Post New]
Hi EddyHD,
Not just deleting the cache.
Please try to reinstall the software without keeping the user setting. But first, before doing that, delete this file under user's appdata:
C:\Users\(USER_NAME)\AppData\Local\CyberLink\PowerDVD16\cache

Greetings
Hicham
Technical support:
EN: https://www.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
DE: https://de.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
FR: https://fr.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
ES: https://es.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
Reply
EddyHD [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Sep 18, 2015 21:58 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
Thank you for your answear.

I'll do it tomorrow. We're at night in Australia and getting late.

Eddy
Reply
Hicham_B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Jun 09, 2015 04:02 Messages: 1347 Offline
[Post New]
Ok EddyHD, good night, and share your result with us.
I'll be the next few days not active, but I will check the result asap.

Greeting
Hicham Technical support:
EN: https://www.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
DE: https://de.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
FR: https://fr.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
ES: https://es.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
Reply
EddyHD [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Sep 18, 2015 21:58 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Hichman,

I fallow your instructions.

I delete the Cache and Caches folders. Then I unisntall from "Programs and Futures" in Control Panel. I choose "don't keep the personal setting".

I reboot my PC and try to install just the 2011 patch, but the patch wants the full program to be installed first. I install the full PowerDVD 16 Ultra program and activated with my key. Without any adjustment, I install the 2011 patch, but it never ask me if I want to keep my personal setting.

After install the patch, I reboot the PC. Open PowerDVD Ultra and choose the "TV Mode". I pick up any movie from my Hard Disks collection and press "Play" from my control remote: Nothing happend. Pressing the space bar from the keyboard have the same result: Nothing happend.

As Audreyp wrote, I have the same problem and all my movies collections are into three Hard Drives in them respective folders.

I never have problems with PowerDVD 15 Ultra and no problems at all with PowerDVD 16 Ultra build 1907.

The problem accur only in TV Mode. PC Mode works OK.

Regards,

Eddy
Reply
EddyHD [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Sep 18, 2015 21:58 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
UPDATE:

I re do it all over again (as previous post) BUT with those exeptions:

After installed the original PowerDVD Ultra 16, I deleted the cache folder and ALL temporary files. Reboot my PCand after rebooted, I double check if "Cache" folder was there: was there and deleted again.

Then I install the 1907 build patch (Before I didn't do it). I choose not to keep my settings. After the instalation finish and activate the program, I reboot the PC. Tested the "TV Mode" and try the blu-ray (Movie) folder refuse to open. Now I remembered the problem start from that patch.

I delete the cache folder and ALL temporary files again. Restart the PC and re-delete again the cache folder. Install the build 2011 patch and reboot my PC... again!

Tested and choosing the TV mode, the problem still there. Cannot start the movie from the Blu-ray folder.

Regards,

Eddy
Reply
audreyp [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 07, 2016 16:44 Messages: 17 Offline
[Post New]
I concur with EddyHD. The problem started in patch 16.0.1907.60 and it still lives in patch 16.0.2011.60. It is working as expected in patch 16.0.1713.60. It has nothing to do with cache since I was able to hit space bar to play BD folders in TV mode even with old cache files. However I am not able to play BD folder in TV mode at all in both 16.0.1907.60 and 16.0.2011.60 even after clean install.

Re-produce steps: (I assume you have a valid BD movie Folder (BDMV) that contains the PLAYLIST, CLIPINF, STREAM, AUXDATA, directories, index.bdmv file, and MovieObject.bdmv file)

0. Uninstall PowerDVD 16 Completedly

1. Search "PowerDVD" or "PDVD" or "Cyberlink" in Windows 10 file explorer and remove all traces of PowerDVD 16 files.

2. Search "PowerDVD" or "PDVD" or "Cyberlink" in Windows Registry and remove all trace there.

3. Install PowerDVD 16.0.1510.60 and hit space bar to play BD folder in TV mode. Works!

4. Patch to PowerDVD 16.0.1713.60 and hit space bar to play BD folder in TV mode. Works!

5. Patch to PowerDVD 16.0.1907.60 and hit space bar to play BD folder in TV mode. NOT WORKING!

6. Remove all cache files as you suggested. Still not playing!

7. Patch to PowerDVD 16.0.2011.60 and hit space bar to play BD folder in TV mode. NOT WORKING!

8. Remove all cache files as you suggested. Still not playing!

Repeat Step 0 to 3, skip to step 7. Still not working in 6.0.2011.60!

Repeat Step 8, Still not working!

Until it is fixed, I will be using 16.0.1713.60 and will never purchase future upgrade again.

As I mentioned earlier, you MUST select and play at root level of the BD folder or at next level, which is BDMV. This loads the BD folder as if it is playing the BD-DISC or ISO image with menus, etc. This is the reason people purchase PowerDVD. If you enter the STREAM folder and play individual M2TS files, it will play in TV mode. However, it is no different than using windows explorer to browse the BD folder directory and play video clips with Windows Media Player for FREE!





Also, what's your take on my other mention?

"Also why did PowerDVD 16 remove OSD display selection from the menu under TV mode? It is useful stats info to see (audio/vidoe bit rates, etc.). Every other stream device/service offer these type of info in their apps. (Youtube, sling tv, roku...) I know you can hit hotkey D on the keyboard to display OSD, but I would like to see it in the menu selection just because other novice user may not know the hotkey. This feature is available in cinema mode PowerDVD version 8~15 and disappeared in version 16 TV mode. Very disappointed!"
Reply
EddyHD [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Sep 18, 2015 21:58 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Hichman,
Are you still on holidays...?
Eddy
Reply
Hicham_B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Jun 09, 2015 04:02 Messages: 1347 Offline
[Post New]
Hi EddyHD,

No, I'm back. This is a bug and we are checking it.

Best regards
Hicham Technical support:
EN: https://www.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
DE: https://de.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
FR: https://fr.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
ES: https://es.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
Reply
audreyp [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 07, 2016 16:44 Messages: 17 Offline
[Post New]
Hi, it's been a month now, when will the fix be released? Thanks
Reply
Hicham_B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Jun 09, 2015 04:02 Messages: 1347 Offline
[Post New]
Hi audreyp,

Thank you for your patience. I have no information about the process of fixing this issue. One a fix has been implemented, I will annonce it in the forum.

Greetings
Hicham Technical support:
EN: https://www.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
DE: https://de.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
FR: https://fr.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
ES: https://es.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
Reply
OlivierMM [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Oct 26, 2016 11:06 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
I encounter the same problem: I cannot launch blu-ray folder in TV mode ("My Computer").

PowerDVD 16 build 2011, fresh install.
Reply
santoli3 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Dec 09, 2016 12:49 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Same problem here. This sucks!

What suggestions does anyone have for alternative products?
Reply
audreyp [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Sep 07, 2016 16:44 Messages: 17 Offline
[Post New]
I have encountered the problem since Sept. and Cyberlink still haven't release a patch for that. I am currently running 16.0.1713.60 in TV mode. The 6 month old app works fine, but without any new updates. If you want to use TV mode to play BD folders, use 16.0.1713.60 in TV mode or PC mode (the latest updates works fine, but the characters on screen looks tiny so I prefer TV mode at all time.) I don't know there is an alternative app to play DRM bluray in Windows 10. Since there's no competition, we get stuck with poorer service from Cyberlink. Players like VLC or Plex doesn't count b/c they can't play encrypted disc.
Reply
Hicham_B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Jun 09, 2015 04:02 Messages: 1347 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,

Thank you for your patience, we are still investigating. We will keep you informed.

Greetings

Hicham Technical support:
EN: https://www.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
DE: https://de.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
FR: https://fr.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
ES: https://es.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
Reply
Vincent.C [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jan 10, 2017 03:58 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,



I have the same issue here. It's really annoying, this bug is six months old now.



Regards
Reply
TOF [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jan 02, 2017 12:23 Messages: 17 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hi,



I have the same issue here. It's really annoying, this bug is six months old now.



Regards


It would seem that an interim fix would be to take the last Running update, add a higher number to it and reissue it until the glacial fix machine can be restarted. Not all that is sarcasm. laughing
Reply
Hicham_B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Jun 09, 2015 04:02 Messages: 1347 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,

I've tested it one more time with a BD folder on my drive, and it seems to work. Please see my capture.

If it is not the same one your side, please share some screenshots/screen records.

Thank you

Greetings

Hicham
 Filename
Capture_1.wmv
[Disk]
 Description
BD folder
 Filesize
9115 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
225 time(s)
Technical support:
EN: https://www.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
DE: https://de.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
FR: https://fr.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
ES: https://es.cyberlink.com/support/contact-support.jsp
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team