Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Creating Custom WMV Profiles in PD14
Canonman5D3 [Avatar]
Newbie Location: UK Joined: Jun 26, 2016 14:17 Messages: 17 Offline
[Post New]
I am very new to PowerDirector, and have searched for a method to generate custom wmv profiles. I found something for older versions, but it didn't seem to apply to 14 (PD Toots). Sorry if that sounds a bit lame but I did say I was new

Could somebody also explain to me whether the structure of the wmv container, and the way it is handled by PD. allows a trade off between resulution and quality. For example can you do a 640 x480 wmv file at 1Mbps, but also a 1920x1080 file at less quality?
Carl312
Senior Contributor Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
There are some already created,

http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/45598.page

The wmv encoder is found here:

http://www.videohelp.com/software/Windows-Media-Encoder

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 30. 2016 09:58

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Canonman5D3 [Avatar]
[Post New]
Thanks for that Carl, but I was trying to understand how a PRX file is created in the first place.
J
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Thanks for that Carl, but I was trying to understand how a PRX file is created in the first place.
J

Why?

A PRX file is just a profile, a template an instruction to carry out an action - to create a wmv video from the media you have placed in PDR's tracks.