CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PowerDirector 14 svrt with mov format
Reply to this topic
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 4924 Offline
[Post New]
PowerDirector 14 patch latest build 2707 has this in the release notes about mov files “Fixes the issue that SVRT doesn’t work on MOV video” I had recently answered a post in the PD previous version about black side bars on Canon camera videos in the mov format here : http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/47517.page .

Have not updated to build 2707 yet but found that on build 2302 that svrt is available on my Nikon camera mov videos which is not sold as a camcorder. PM ynotfish about that. He generously checked several Canon cameras for black side bars and for svrt on his own time.

Attached is a screenshot of my timeline showing svrt available on my mov videos.

Thanks Tony for all the work that you have done.
 Filename
Nikon_mov.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
svrt is available for mov video files.
 Filesize
362 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
101 time(s)
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9765 Offline
[Post New]
... and I'll post what I found, testing only Nikon & Canon DSLRs

Both Nikons - D5300 & P610 - have SVRT available, but the Canons are a different story

Many Canon DSLRs actually record at less than Full HD & upscale in-camera e.g. Canon 7D - 1728 x 1156 & get spewed out of the camera at 1920x1088


  • Canon 5D MkIII - SVRT laughing

  • Canon 7D, 60D, 500D, Canon 60D, T3i/600D - No SVRT undecided


Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 4924 Offline
[Post New]
I have svrt working now on the Canon T3i mov file downloaded from Vimeo by creating a custom mp4 profile. Took the MPEG-4 1980 x 1080/30p (16 Mbps) profile and changed it to Baseline Profile, CALVC, 48000 K bps and svrt is active. This is based on the clip properties.

Mediainfo reports that the sample video is 1920 x 1080, but original is 1088 and that is why it worked. The 8 pixels got truncated either in the upload to Vimeo or at Vimeo itself. A different custom profile needs to be created for 1920 x 1088. That means that you will have those black bars on the side.

There is no need for svrt for this Canon T3i video in my opinion. It is reported to be low resolution video that had been upscale to 1920 x 1088 on the internet. The high 48000 Kbps bitrate is unnecessary for low resolution video in my opinion.

A Canon consumer camcorder can record true high resolution 1920 x 1080/ 30 or 60p at a fraction of that high bitrate of the T3i camera from the same manufacturer.

EDIT: Attach the mediainfo for this video clip.
 Filename
T3i mediainfo.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
Mediainfo for the Canon T3i mov clip download from Vimeo.
 Filesize
124 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
91 time(s)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Mar 24. 2016 22:21

Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5997 Offline
[Post New]
I couldn't get svrt to work on my Nikon L110 MOVs since, hmmm, maybe version 9, 10? Now I get an applicable profile. Too bad the camera is a stink-bomb. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Analog tape capture equipment.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-609762572849441
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team