CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
NO SUPPORT
Reply to this topic
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
I upgraded to PD 13.

The upgrade presented many problems Cyberlink will not talk to you about or address.

They do not tell you that upgrading puts a new package on your computer and does not remove the old one. It is not an upgrade it is a replacement of PD12 to PD13.

Then finding out there are problems in PD13 I was told by internet tech support to upgrade to the latest patch. They did not say that patch was for all versions of Cyberlink. It upgraded the PD12 that was left on the computer.

In doing so I figured out you need to uninstall the PD12 then reinstall the patch again so it goes to PD13.

Then, in installing the patch it removed most of the Suite information and files from PD13.

Now, trying to get to talk to an install expert at the 1-888-226-6030 number with the VS number they gave to me they say the VS number is invalid. Tried many times with the number given to me.

Sent email tech support about this issue and they say give us the VS information and the like so they could respond. I gave them all that information and they ignored it.

To me, this smells like bait and switch. Give you a phoney number so you get frustrated enough to spend $30 on tech support.

These companies will do anything not to talk to a customer. These tech responses feel like they come from Asian like countries.

Frustrated enough to move on.

Don't feel better yet!!

Alan

Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 5713 Offline
[Post New]
Never heard of a patch for both PD12 & PD13. Learn something new every day. The links for those separate patches are posted on this forums as stickys and on Cyberlink's web site. You can reinstall either or both if you still have the downloaded files or dvd. I haven't use their tech support for a long time because my experience with them is bad. Eventually I do fix everything myself. Some users do get good help from tech support.

Believe the reason that the upgrade leaves PD12 on the computer is because PD13 is so new and has many known bugs that needs to be ironed out. This way at least one stable version is on the pc. Eventually, later purchasers may find the upgrade removes PD12.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Dec 01. 2014 17:36

Reply
18tillidie [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Los Angeles, CA Joined: Sep 29, 2014 12:24 Messages: 46 Offline
[Post New]
Just for the record... I had a few issues when upgrading from PD12 to PD13 Live, and I couldn't have been happier with the responsiveness or the helpfulness of the support team in resolving my issues.

Guess we all have different experiences from time to time.
https://vimeo.com/timsanson
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
I finally gave in to their pressure and purchased the $30 support. You still don't get very knowledgeable techs on the other end.

The patch for PD 13 is not for PD13 live. The patch is where we had the big mess.

May of PDs introduction videos were not working right and the patch was to fix some of that.

I did not know they change your password/product key every 7 days so that also was a problem in trying to use the software on a reinstall in verification of the product key.

Alan
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 5713 Offline
[Post New]
You did not say you were a PD13 live subscriber for $xx per month. You said PD13 upgrade. Those patches on the Cyberlink site clearly states "Note: This patch is not for PowerDirector Live subscribers." Subscribers get different updates.
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
I think that is what I said. I am a PD 13 user not a PD13 live user.

Sorry if you misunderstood.

Alan
Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Hi acg,
Are you sorted out yet by support or can we assist you?

Upgrade or full build?

Did you know that you can uninstall PDR12 and then install the Upgrade (this is just info for the Upgrade build and not the Full build version) to PDR13? All you need is run the PDR13 install and have the activation key for PDR12 handy and when asked input the data before continuing with the PDR13 and then activating that software. The patches you would need to apply are the PDR13 and only latest patch.

Dafydd
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
Yes. I finally did uninstall the PD12 and the patch did apply to PD13. But you have to be careful putting the patch on. The patch seems to be just a PD13 replacement. Don't assume it is a full Cyberlink13 replacement - it is not. So follow the directions explicitly.

After forking over the $30 I finally got to talk to someone. They just said reinstall everything and they gave me passwords and links to do it. But the customer hotline is not intuitive- you have to press the right response button from their voice system in order to put in the 10 digit TSID number for paid support. Otherwise it wants a 13 digit number for free install support. Things you have to learn by doing it wrong a few times. The 13 digit number they gave me the response said it was invalid. Forced me to buy paid support because I had customers waiting for product.

Today I will try the install again.

I appreciate your offer and will let you know how it goes. (either way)

Alan
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
I mentioned I would give an update on my issues with Cyberlink

I upgraded from PD 12 Ultimate suite to PD 13 Ultimate suite.

This has not been a good experience. It took about 3-4 days to finally get it right.

I signed up; for paid phone support. That really did not help. You get to talk to alleged tech in India that does not understand the meaning of our sentences and don't know how to interpret what you are saying. It basically drives up the frustration level when you cannot communicate.

I think I hit all the pitfalls of the upgrade and there are many.

The upgrade resolved some problems but also created a few new ones. It resolved the bug where the button would not stay with words "scenes" or "play" in the Create disk mode after burning the disk - now it does. That was troublesome for me.

They eliminated a menu choice in Create Disk mode that I was using. It was the "interactive" menu choice. I liked it and used it now it is gone. This is where I explained to India tech and asked if there was any way to get it back. They said no. I told them that was not a good thing to remove a menu choice, because customers might need it to be consistent with other productions that use this choice.

They hung up on me!!! Must have been a bad day for them.

It appears they removed the advertising they put in front of you when rendering, etc . . ..Haven't tried everything yet so not sure if they removed all of it.

I would suggest if anyone is looking at upgrading to PD 13 to let me know and I can explain the pitfalls I went through so you don't have to repeat them again.

As always, we have to rely on our own ingenuity to resolve issues.

It is probably is worth the upgrade price - just don't expect much help if any.

Have fun troops!!

Alan
Reply
Dafydd B [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Hi acg/Alan,
I have passed on your feedback to CyberLink's Taiwan based support team.
Dafydd
Reply
[Post New]
Quote: Forced me to buy paid support because I had customers waiting for product.
Alan

You need to read their EULA too... this product is NOT for commercial use. This issue was discussed many times here.

You want commercial use, need to fork out $ for Sony Vegas or Adobe Premiere CC.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Dec 04. 2014 12:40

Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
Did not know that about commercial use. Is there a reason for that.

I hate to learn another video editing package. I used Corel before Powerdirector, then upgraded to Powerdirector. Now a third one.

UGH!

What allegedly are the consequences for using it if any?

Just opened the doors and only at this point have one paid customer but am moving to do more.

Ala
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
I just spoke to Sony - and they say as long as you own the content (I. e. the home movies given to me to convert) and produce dvd shows, you are ok.

It is questionable that if you do not own the content you are working with is where the problem might be.

It appears that the commercial angle is on the original content on what you own not on what you do with your converted product.

Make sense?

Alan
Reply
[Post New]
Why did you spoke with Sony? This product (that we are talking here) is made by Cyberlink...
You can read their EULA by yourself:
http://www.cyberlink.com/support/product-faq-content.do?id=17447&prodId=4&prodVerId=-1

The issue is with ownership of the containers for your content. MPEG2, MPEG4, AVC... they are not "free".
Sony and Adobe pay royalties for those formats and that licensing is included in the software they sell.

Cyberlink (and Corel) don't.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Dec 05. 2014 06:43

Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
The eula agreements are more or less the same between powerdirector 13, vegas and premier.

I checked and read them all.

I also talked to several video conversion companies across then nation. Some with multiple locations.

They indicate they convert videos and produce them on a 1 to 1 basis. They do not make multiple copies for commercial use. They call that fair use.

None of them have had any issues with the copyright law.

I expect it is the same with Cyberlink.

I think I know what forum I am on. Just verifying your introduction of vegas and premier and their eula agreements.

Alan
Reply
[Post New]
You didn't read the EULA... try one more time. Especially this part:

If you are going to use the SOFTWARE for commercial purposes then additional licenses will be needed for the following non-exhaustive list of third party technologies:

Technology Contract Name Licensing Agent/ Licensor
H.264/MPEG-4 AVC AVC Patent Portfolio License
MPEG-LA, LLC, 6312 S. Fiddlers Green Circle, Suite 400E Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA 80111
MPEG-1/2 Audio (Encoder) MPEG-2 Patent Portfolio License
MPEG-2 Video MPEG-2 Patent Portfolio License
MVC MVC Patent Portfolio License
Sensio 3D/2D Software Library License and Ancillary Services Agreement Sensio Technologies, Inc., 1751, Richardson, Suite 4.206, Montreal (Quebec), Canada, H3K 1G6
MPEG-2/4 AAC, 5.1-ch Decoder + 2-ch Encoder AAC Patent License Agreement Via Licensing Corporation, 475 Brannan Street, Suite 320, San Francisco, CA 94107-5420, USA

CyberLink does not license the above items for commercial use and you are advised to approach the relevant licensing agents at the above addresses for more information.

* MPEG DISTRIBUTION
ANY USE OF THIS PRODUCT IN ANY MANNER OTHER THAN PERSONAL USE THAT COMPLIES WITH THE MPEG-2 STANDARD FOR ENCODING VIDEO INFORMATION FOR PACKAGED MEDIA IS EXPRESSLY PROHIBITED WITHOUT A LICENSE UNDER APPLICABLE PATENTS IN THE MPEG-2 PATENT PORTFOLIO, WHICH LICENSE IS AVAILABLE FROM MPEG-LA,LLC AT THE ADDRESS ABOVE.

THIS PRODUCT IS LICENSED UNDER THE AVC PATENT PORTFOLIO LICENSE FOR THE PERSONAL AND NON-COMMERCIAL USE OF A CONSUMER TO (i) ENCODE VIDEO IN COMLIANCE WITH THE AVC STANDARD ("AVC VIDEO" AND/OR (ii) DECODE AVC VIDEO THAT WAS ENCODED BY A CONSUMER ENGAGED IN A PERSONAL AND NON-COMMERCIAL ACTIVITY AND/OR WAS OBTAINED FROM A VIDEO PROVIDER LICENSED TO PROVIDE AVC VIDEO. NO LICENSE IS GRANTED OR SHALL BE IMPLIED FOR ANY OTHER USE. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION MAY BE OBTAINED FROM MPEG-LA.

You also acknowledge that no rights are granted or may be extended to you to use the SOFTWARE with MPEG-4 Video Content unless such MPEG-4 Content is sold or delivered to you by a content outlet licensed under the MPEG-4 Essential Claims to make such sale or delivery.


You won't see that in Vegas or Premiere.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Dec 05. 2014 12:15

Reply
Richmond Dan
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Richmond, VA Joined: Aug 07, 2014 17:17 Messages: 658 Offline
[Post New]
Why do I remember, as a child, putting my fingers in my ears and shouting, "La-la-la-la-la..."? Regards,
Dan

Power Director 19-Ultimate v.2808, XPS-8940, Win-10 64-bit, Intel Core i9-10900 processor (10 core, 20M Cache),
32GB DDR4 RAM, 2TB M.2 PCIe NVME SSD, 2TB 7200 RPM SATA HDD, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 SUPER 8GB GDDR6, PassMark 8172, Cinebench R23 13709

Panasonic HC-V750
Reply
[Post New]
Dan,

If this doesn't matter to you, is OK. Following the same thought process, you could also download for free a torrent with pirated PD13.
Reply
acg [Avatar]
Senior Member Private Message Joined: Jan 04, 2011 20:47 Messages: 275 Offline
[Post New]
I understand what you are saying. This specific language is not in the vegas or premier eula.

But I think the original intent of the 3 eulas are very similar. They all say the same about the carriers being for private not commercial use.


I am doing further checking on specific use as I have described what I am doing - with Cyberlink.

The film conversion companies I checked with around the country use premier or vegas. But they also indicated doing individual conversions on privately owned content editing them an selling them back the converted result is fair use and would not be a problem with any editing software.

I am not a lawyer.

Sounds like I have hit some hot buttons here.

I will personally follow through and make sure I am on solid footing with my projects.

Thanks,

Alan

Probably should put this to rest.

Reply
Kevinv64 [Avatar]
Member Private Message Location: Upper Midwest Joined: Jun 28, 2012 05:41 Messages: 106 Offline
[Post New]
SoNic67, I think you misunderstood Dan. He was sympathizing with what you have tried to do on this thread.

Kevin
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team