CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Is my PC is too old for the PD9?!
Reply to this topic
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,
I have problems with PC: when I edit some project or just surf in internet, my PC time to time like freezes (waits for buffer or something) and I need to wait minute or two to continue.... its very frustrating, believe me
PD9 time to time also wants to rendering (PD program and files for edit I have on separate hard disk). Shadow files are generated.
Windows 8.
PowerDirector9 32-bit Ultra 64 9.0.0.3305

Could someone check my PC information and give me some advise, do I need to replace there something or need to buy already a new PC?! Of course, money is never enough, so first option is to replice something
Diagnostic file, etc added.
 Filename
fff.nfo
[Disk]
 Description
System information file
 Filesize
3074 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
232 time(s)
 Filename
DxDiag.txt
[Disk]
 Description
DxDiag.txt
 Filesize
69 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
348 time(s)
 Filename
rr.txt
[Disk]
 Description
Video file information (Mediainfo)
 Filesize
3 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
207 time(s)

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at Apr 10. 2013 14:33

PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Your computer will struggle with HD files.

Expect long delays and pauses.

If you can afford a new super computer, you would have greater joy editing HD content.
If you install Powerdirector 9 Ultra on a new 64 Bit computer you would have a 64 Bit version of Powerdirector.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Mar 17. 2013 21:31

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Your computer will struggle with HD files.

Expect long delays and pauses.

If you can afford a new super computer, you would have greater joy editing HD content.
If you install Powerdirector 9 Ultra on a new 64 Bit computer you would have a 64 Bit version of Powerdirector.


Hello Carl, thank you very much for reply!
I went today to the store and they made me an offer: if I just want to improve my present PC. Please take a look and give me your opinion: is it ok or should I changed there something?

Windows 8 64bit
CPU Intel Core i5-3350P 3,1G/6M
Ram memory DDR3 4Gb 1333 C9 Corsair
MSI B75MA-E33 mATX

those are now, what I should replaced, the rest of in my PC stays as is.
Video files are with max. quality.
BTW, Asking just in case: do I do correctly, when I keep my PD program and video files on one hard disk and Widows on the second one?
Andres
PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote:
Quote: Your computer will struggle with HD files.

Expect long delays and pauses.

If you can afford a new super computer, you would have greater joy editing HD content.
If you install Powerdirector 9 Ultra on a new 64 Bit computer you would have a 64 Bit version of Powerdirector.


Hello Carl, thank you very much for reply!
I went today to the store and they made me an offer: if I just want to improve my present PC. Please take a look and give me your opinion: is it ok or should I changed there something?

Windows 8 64bit
CPU Intel Core i5-3350P 3,1G/6M
Ram memory DDR3 4Gb 1333 C9 Corsair
MSI B75MA-E33 mATX

those are now, what I should replaced, the rest of in my PC stays as is.
Video files are with max. quality.
BTW, Asking just in case: do I do correctly, when I keep my PD program and video files on one hard disk and Widows on the second one?
Andres

Ram Memory is too little, for a 64 bit OS you should have 6 to 8 GB as the minimum RAM.

You not did if say if that computer comes with a SSD drive.
SSD drives are still a big question for Powerdirector use. Some users do OK some have problems.

If you have a large spinning drive, you put your Windows OS and Programs on one Partition (about 200 GB partition) and you can keep your videos that you edit on another partition.

I keep my Windows and Programs on one partition and all of my data on other partitions. That way I can do a disk image of the OS and Programs. If I need to restore, I just restore the OS and Programs. My Data backup is a separate method.

A 1 TB or larger Hard drive is recommended.
Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks Carl! PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Carl, please give me one more advice:
I started from small and added more RAM memory (now I have it 8 totally) and PC runs much faster. Not like rabbit, but faster
But still I have rendering problem. I read this topic: http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/24773.page
and downloaded nvidia 301.42 version. I uninstalled the newer version I had (left Nvidia PhysX System Software 9.12.0604. was it right action from my side?) and tried to install 301.42, but still I got warning, that its version is not compatible!
My driver is NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT .
Widows 8 32 bit.
What me to do, to avoid rendering?
P.S. Just got information, that shadow files are not recommended, I had them. I turn them off now, lets see, does it helps me or not.. PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi Carl, please give me one more advice:
I started from small and added more RAM memory (now I have it 8 totally) and PC runs much faster. Not like rabbit, but faster

But still I have rendering problem. I read this topic: http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/24773.page
and downloaded nvidia 301.42 version. I uninstalled the newer version I had (left Nvidia PhysX System Software 9.12.0604. was it right action from my side?) and tried to install 301.42, but still I got warning, that its version is not compatible!
My driver is NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT .
Widows 8 32 bit.
What me to do, to avoid rendering?
P.S. Just got information, that shadow files are not recommended, I had them. I turn them off now, lets see, does it helps me or not..

More RAM...can't go wrong! Amazing how much difference it makes. It makes a great deal of difference on a 64 Bit system.

I looked up your Video Card and OS system, the 301.42 is not available for Windows 8 32 bit, but you can try the 296.17 driver and see if it stops the Rendering problem. 301.42 is the right Nvidia driver for Windows 7 32 and 64 bit. Not available for Windows 8.

http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx

I think all of the later versions have that problem in Powerdirector 9.

Of course, you can throw money at the problem and invest in a ATI/AMD video card instead. ATI/AMD does not have the same problem of rendering and rendering and rendering......
Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Hello Carl!
Seems that my problem is solved, with min. expenses!
What I did:
1. installed W8 64bit
2. Installed 296.17 driver
3. Added more RAM memory,was 2x2, now I have 4x2 Gb

Have edited here already hour and half and no PD crashes, no rendering, world is beautiful!
Thanks for help!
Andrse
PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hello Carl!
Seems that my problem is solved, with min. expenses!
What I did:
1. installed W8 64bit
2. Installed 296.17 driver
3. Added more RAM memory,was 2x2, now I have 4x2 Gb

Have edited here already hour and half and no PD crashes, no rendering, world is beautiful!
Thanks for help!
Andrse

WOW!
That is really great to hear.

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team