CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
slow, sporadic playback in the preview window
Reply to this topic
spotlightonhealth31 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jun 09, 2012 18:09 Messages: 18 Offline
[Post New]
Hello. When I attempt to preview my video creations in the preview window it will quite often have trouble "keeping up" with the timeline scrubber. The footage will "freeze" on certain portions of the video while the audio continues to play.

I would be surprised to learn that it is because the specs of my computer aren't adequate. It's not a new computer, but it's not a dinosaur either. It has 4gb of ram and dual-core processor. I would think those specs would be sufficient to keep up. Especially considering that most of my videos are quite short (under three minutes, usually)

After the video is rendered out and produced, everything lines up correctly, but as you can imagine it makes editing more difficult when I'm not able to see these elements sync up correctly during the editing process.

Any input or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Reply
1Nina
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Norway, 50km southwest of Oslo Joined: Oct 08, 2008 04:12 Messages: 1070 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,
In your post in this thread: http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/23736.page
Neil showed you an image of how to set preview resolution.
Have you tried the different ones?
In the same thread, the issue was pixelating lower third.
Have you considered post with attachment for us to help you on that issue?
If I don't say it, someone else will;
can you attach a Diaxdiag of your computer?
If you have already, pardon me, but if you havn't I think it's needed.

Nina

Just something.
https://www.petitpoisvideo.com
Reply
spotlightonhealth31 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jun 09, 2012 18:09 Messages: 18 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Nina. Thanks for your response. Thanks to the help of the helpful people on this forum I was able to resolve the issue with the lower thirds. Thanks for following up on that problem. I would still be appreciative for any advice some of you could share about why the edited video can't seem to keep up in the preview player. Thanks, Sam
Reply
HalCon
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Charlottetown, PEI Joined: Mar 01, 2008 10:36 Messages: 718 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi Nina. Thanks for your response. Thanks to the help of the helpful people on this forum I was able to resolve the issue with the lower thirds. Thanks for following up on that problem. I would still be appreciative for any advice some of you could share about why the edited video can't seem to keep up in the preview player. Thanks, Sam


My basic computer specs are in my signature. They are not fantanstic, but are better than yours. Depending on the number of tracks in use and the special effects added to the clips, my computer will struggle if I have the preview resolution set too high.

If you are trying to edit High Def. media files then your system will struggle with the preview. If you set your preview to a lower resolution you will take some of the load off the system as you view your edits.

When your computer plays a media file it has only to read the information for the frame and output to the screen and speakers.

Once you move the clip to the timeline, PD has to do the following steps 25/30/50/60 times per second depending on the frame rate of the source material. The higher the resolution of the media, the more information there is to read, edit, render and write.

1. Read the information for the frame. This includes the specifics for each pixel in the frame and the audio in the frame. Is this frame progressive or interlaced. etc. The number of pixels per frame: HD file at 1920X1080=2,073,600 pixels/SD file 720X480=345,600
2. Check the timelines/tracks for any effects, audio, and other edits that you have done/added. Then add these edits to the frame, pixel by pixel
3. Combine all the tracks into one picture, pixel by pixel, combine the audio tracks (if more than one used)
4. Render the frame to the specification that it uses for the preview at the resolution you have set. Pixel by pixel
5. Output the resulting render to the screen and the speakers. Pixel by pixel.
6. Repeat steps 1 through 5 at the frame rate in use.

The above is a simplified version of what happens when the clips hit the timeline. But, it does illustrate the amount of work a computer must do when editing a video clip. The thing to remember is that the system, software and hardware, has a lot of work to do once the clip hits the timeline. Even if the clip has no edits done and no effects added, the software must go through the basic steps 1 - 5 for each frame in the clip.

Every computer has a limit to what it can handle once the editing starts. To smooth out the preview you will likely have to lower your preview resolution or pre-render the section you want to view.

Hal OS - Win11 Pro, Alienware R13, CPU - Intel Core I7-12700KF 12 CPUs), 16g DDR5 4400 RAM, Video - Geeforce RTX 3080ti 12g, PD11 & PD365
My YouTube
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi

Have you adjusted your preview screen quality from HD to High or Normal Preview Resolution?

This will make a huge difference to lagging but not to the Produced product.

http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/23736.page

Happy editing

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 26. 2012 03:48

Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
spotlightonhealth31 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jun 09, 2012 18:09 Messages: 18 Offline
[Post New]
I made the adjustment as you recommended and it worked swimmingly... yes, I just used the word "swimmingly". Thank you so much Neil and Hal.

Hal, I had never really stopped to consider how much computin' is actually going on when a clip is dragged to the timeline, but after reading your post above, it's a pretty remarkable thing to think about.

All the best, gentlemen.
Reply
HalCon
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Charlottetown, PEI Joined: Mar 01, 2008 10:36 Messages: 718 Offline
[Post New]
Happy to be of assistance.

Many people do not understand the amount of work a system has to do when it comes to video editing.

Hal
OS - Win11 Pro, Alienware R13, CPU - Intel Core I7-12700KF 12 CPUs), 16g DDR5 4400 RAM, Video - Geeforce RTX 3080ti 12g, PD11 & PD365
My YouTube
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team