CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Speech or Dialog Bubble
Reply to this topic
Maliek
Contributor Private Message Location: San Antonio, Texas USA Joined: Nov 10, 2012 12:01 Messages: 304 Offline
[Post New]
Hello Tony.

I was trying to avoid the image upload to an external site but oh well. Thank you for sharing the video. It aws quite useful, as all of your tutorials are. laughing

Here are the images of the thought bubble title from the DirectorZone. I opened the Title Designer and went back to the title saving it multiple times at different sizes and positions. There were nodes for both the text and the speech bubble and each could be adjusted independently of one another or in conjunction with one another.

As you can see there is no graphic on a separate track but I still have the ability to make adjustments to every aspect of the title. I hope this helps.









This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jun 14. 2016 23:14

Subscribe to PowerDirector University on YouTube to watch a new PowerDirector tutorial every Tuesday & Saturday.

Canon C200
Canon C100 MKII
Canon 5D Mark IV
Panasonic G85
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 4399 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: As you can see there is no graphic on a separate track but I still have the ability to make adjustments to every aspect of the title. I hope this helps.


Thank you Maliek in showing that both the text and speech bubble can be modified separately when using win 10.

I believe that you are saying that that the speech bubble image does not display in a separate track in Title Designer in win 10. You were still able to modify the image by clicking on the outer area of the dialogue balloon instead of clicking on the text in the center of that dialogue balloon in the Title Designer preview window. You can correct me here if this is wrong. This is exactly the way I made the changes using win 7. I never had to click on any of the separate tracks showing while in the Title Designer. Hope this helps the OP.
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9683 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I was trying to avoid the image upload to an external site but oh well.


Yes - that's what the second part of the tutorial was about - after about 1:08 - embedding an image without using an external site.

Interesting that you're able to modify the image. Here, it doesn't matter what I do or where I click, the image cannot be resized or moved at all. Wonder what's causing it???



Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
Maliek
Contributor Private Message Location: San Antonio, Texas USA Joined: Nov 10, 2012 12:01 Messages: 304 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I believe that you are saying that that the speech bubble image does not display in a separate track in Title Designer in win 10. You were still able to modify the image by clicking on the outer area of the dialogue balloon instead of clicking on the text in the center of that dialogue balloon in the Title Designer preview window.


You hit the nail on the head. I was able to follow the exact same order of operations on a Windows 10 machine using PD 14.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Jun 15. 2016 09:14

Subscribe to PowerDirector University on YouTube to watch a new PowerDirector tutorial every Tuesday & Saturday.

Canon C200
Canon C100 MKII
Canon 5D Mark IV
Panasonic G85
Reply
Maliek
Contributor Private Message Location: San Antonio, Texas USA Joined: Nov 10, 2012 12:01 Messages: 304 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Yes - that's what the second part of the tutorial was about - after about 1:08 - embedding an image without using an external site.

Interesting that you're able to modify the image. Here, it doesn't matter what I do or where I click, the image cannot be resized or moved at all. Wonder what's causing it???

Cheers - Tony


Thanks for clarifying Tony. I went back and watched the second part of the video. How easy it is to miss a big blue button that stands out from the rest of the forum. embarassed

Definitely strange that the option exists for some and not others. Hopefully the issue can be diagnosed and resolved.

 Filename
Text Nodes.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
149 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
20 time(s)
 Filename
Graphic Nodes.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
146 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
19 time(s)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Jun 15. 2016 09:16

Subscribe to PowerDirector University on YouTube to watch a new PowerDirector tutorial every Tuesday & Saturday.

Canon C200
Canon C100 MKII
Canon 5D Mark IV
Panasonic G85
Reply
Neil.F.1955 [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Australia (Port Stephens area, NSW) Joined: Mar 07, 2012 09:15 Messages: 1303 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi, Tony and Bouyscout!

Your discussion about dialogue bubbles started giving me some ideas on how to use these and have them follow the opbect on a timeline via the use of "Motion Tracker" but, Tony's experiences, "I made a new template containign a speech bubble and text - saved it - all good - went to modify it and BAM! Exactly as you've described. The graphic does not appear on its own track and is unselectable." Granted, Tony was working on a Windows 10 platform and I'm on Windows 7 Home Premium, but nonetheless, I'll hold off until an answer can be found to the problem is sorted.

A thought occurred to me as I write this, there could be a workaround but it involves using Microsoft Publisher which has a selection of shapes labelled "callouts", these shapes include several styles of thought or dialogue bubbles which can have text typed in, adjust the thickness of the bubble's border, add a colour, then copy and paste to Paint, or Paint.Net(if possible), save as a PNG transparency which can then be superimposed on stills or video clips and size/position adjusted in "modify". If you can't paste directly to Paint.Net, then paste to Paint, saving in bitmap or png, then import that to Paint.Net and create your png transparency that way. It's a drawn-out(pardon the pun) process but it might work!

Cheers!

Neil.


Hi, I should've included a reference to Microsoft Word, in the event that Publisher may not be on some people's computers. Having a quick look at Word shows the "callouts" are available there as well. It's simply a matter of creating the callout in Word(or Publisher, if you have it), adding in the desired text, copying it across to Paint(or, Paint.Net if that's possible), create your image for superimposition. Because you've added the text whilst creating the callout in Word/Publisher, that'll save having to create the text in Title Designer. You then just drop it into a PoP track and manipulate size, position, duration and any motion effect like you would any other superimposed image you'd insert.

It should be noted that Word and Publisher are usually included together in a "Microsoft Office" bundle, along with a bunch of other goodies, like Excel, Outlook, etc. But often needs to be seperately activated. Quite a few may not have any real use for Publisher but it is a great tool for creating titles that can be copied to Paint and then converted into transparencies through Paint.Net. I will soon create a step-by-step instruction for creation of titles in Publisher or word, so "watch this space!"

Cheers!

Neil.
Reply
[Post New]
Hi

"Hi, Tony and Bouyscout!

Your discussion about dialogue bubbles started giving me some ideas on how to use these and have them follow the opbect on a timeline via the use of "Motion Tracker" but, Tony's experiences, "I made a new template containign a speech bubble and text - saved it - all good - went to modify it and BAM! Exactly as you've described. The graphic does not appear on its own track and is unselectable." Granted, Tony was working on a Windows 10 platform and I'm on Windows 7 Home Premium, but nonetheless, I'll hold off until an answer can be found to the problem is sorted.

A thought occurred to me as I write this, there could be a workaround but it involves using Microsoft Publisher which has a selection of shapes labelled "callouts", these shapes include several styles of thought or dialogue bubbles which can have text typed in, adjust the thickness of the bubble's border, add a colour, then copy and paste to Paint, or Paint.Net(if possible), save as a PNG transparency which can then be superimposed on stills or video clips and size/position adjusted in "modify". If you can't paste directly to Paint.Net, then paste to Paint, saving in bitmap or png, then import that to Paint.Net and create your png transparency that way. It's a drawn-out(pardon the pun) process but it might work!

Cheers!

Neil."

I've been using powerpoint to create speech bubbles. If you right click on the speach bubble in PP then you get the option to 'save as an image' ... that way you save the step of working in MS Paint. The nice thing about PowerPoint is that you can choose where the speech spike on bubble starts from ... so you can change its lenght. Unfortunatly as soon as you save it as a picture it looses that capability which makes positioning into PowerDirector a bit hit and miss.

Tom

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul 27. 2019 11:30

Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5899 Offline
[Post New]
Tom, this is an old thread, but if you are still looking for speech bubbles, Google is your friend (for this, anyway).
Do an image search in Google, and in tools specify Color=transparent and you'll be overwhelmed with selections.
This, of course, applies to any subject matter. I pinch many images/video from others! I give no apologies.
Damn formatting here is all wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul 27. 2019 10:05

My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus EPL-5
Reply
PowerDirector Moderator
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan Joined: Oct 18, 2016 00:25 Messages: 645 Offline
[Post New]
Quote
..................Damn formatting here is all wrong.


Sorted.


For customer support related issues, please contact:
- Customer service: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do
- Technical support: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/service/technical-support.do
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team