CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
TV Format - is a 24fps Option in the Works?
Reply to this topic
Andyatone50 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 25, 2013 23:09 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Yes love power d just done a movie on Canon d5 mk2 need 23.976 soon please :
Reply
Andyatone50 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 25, 2013 23:09 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Also can u work with Technicolor and license it then to me u have the best program ever on the Planet thks :
Reply
Andyatone50 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 25, 2013 23:09 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Im sorry to bug u one last thing how about a mask for cinemascope sorry about spellings thats it thk :
Reply
jmone
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Nov 26, 2010 00:05 Messages: 706 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: Hi Nathan,
2013-01-09: The 24fps PDR display feature is still being worked on I'm told (by CyberLink). Best I can do at the moment.
Dafydd


Hi Dafydd, any update from CL on this.
Thanks
Nathan PD 64 Bit-Win10 64 Bit-32GB RAM-80TB HDD
Sony FX6 - 500Mbps 4k/50p AVC-I HLG
Canon XF400 - 150Mbps 4k/50p AVC
GoPro Hero6 Black
Pana HS700-28Mbps 1080/50p AVC (High@L4.2)
Canon HV20-HDV 25Mbps 16:9 1440x1080/25p MPEG
Reply
Eugen157
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 662 Offline
[Post New]
This is tongue in cheek.

I wonder why a lot of people are so fond of 24P. Yes, I understand film look etc, but 16,18 and 24 fps was a function of keeping the cost of film down. I think if 60 fps was affordable they would have used it.

But as Carl points out, it depends what the end use is.

Anyway it is 60 P for me = best possible PQ within the 1920x1080 format

As I said, tongue in cheek.

Eugene

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul 26. 2013 17:02

73s, WA6JZN ex DL9GC
CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
PD14,
Win10,64bit.CPU i7 6700,16GB ,C= 480 GB SSD ,GPU GTX1060 6GB 1 fan. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HDD's for video etc.LG WH16NS40 reads UHD.
4K 24" ViewSonic monitor.Camera Sony FDR-A
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Nathan

I doubt very much CL will do anything with PD11 as its life is almost over.

I'd wait for PD12 as this will most likely have the 24FPS setting

Happy editing Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
jmone
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Nov 26, 2010 00:05 Messages: 706 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks Neil...I was just doing some testing on another prog..... and it reminded me more than any burning desire.

Hi Eugene - The reason "why" is that if you have 23.976/24fps footage it is good to be able to edit and output this without doing (the inevitable terrible) frame rate conversion.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Jul 27. 2013 01:27

PD 64 Bit-Win10 64 Bit-32GB RAM-80TB HDD
Sony FX6 - 500Mbps 4k/50p AVC-I HLG
Canon XF400 - 150Mbps 4k/50p AVC
GoPro Hero6 Black
Pana HS700-28Mbps 1080/50p AVC (High@L4.2)
Canon HV20-HDV 25Mbps 16:9 1440x1080/25p MPEG
Reply
jmone
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Australia Joined: Nov 26, 2010 00:05 Messages: 706 Offline
[Post New]
Turns our PD12 does have this, and my initial testing is good Will post in the PD12 forum PD 64 Bit-Win10 64 Bit-32GB RAM-80TB HDD
Sony FX6 - 500Mbps 4k/50p AVC-I HLG
Canon XF400 - 150Mbps 4k/50p AVC
GoPro Hero6 Black
Pana HS700-28Mbps 1080/50p AVC (High@L4.2)
Canon HV20-HDV 25Mbps 16:9 1440x1080/25p MPEG
Reply
Beryl94903 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: San Rafael, CA 94903 Joined: Dec 14, 2014 12:22 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
I have a very old tv clip and somewhere along the line it became (or originally was) 10 fps. It is very choppy. THe popup in PowerDirector tells me there is a conflict and it is my understanding that if I set the fps to match the clip, the choppiness will be reduced. However, in general preferences there is no override option to take it down to 10fps. Amy I missing something? If I could, t heoretically match the clip 10 fps to PowerDirector preference of 10 fps would it improve the quality of the clip or am I chasing the wrong thing? Beryl
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I have a very old tv clip and somewhere along the line it became (or originally was) 10 fps. It is very choppy. THe popup in PowerDirector tells me there is a conflict and it is my understanding that if I set the fps to match the clip, the choppiness will be reduced. However, in general preferences there is no override option to take it down to 10fps. Amy I missing something? If I could, t heoretically match the clip 10 fps to PowerDirector preference of 10 fps would it improve the quality of the clip or am I chasing the wrong thing?

I think you are chasing the wrong thing.

There any number of reasons that 10 fps clip may be jerky when viewed in Powerdirector.
If you are in a NTSC country, the normal frame rate is 30 fps or actually 29.97 fps. With a frame rate of only 10 fps, it is going to be much less that perfect.

First ignore the frame mismatch warning.

Put that video on the timeline, do nothing to it. Produce it to MP4 or WMV NTSC 30 fps 720x480@8Mbps.

Close Powerdirector.

Try that produced video in some player, VLC or Windows Media Player.

What happens?
Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Beryl94903 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: San Rafael, CA 94903 Joined: Dec 14, 2014 12:22 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
I did it; it is just as choppy though a little better looking...the problem is the handheld quality from the choppiness and a lack of perfect sync with speaking and lips...I'm afraid the 10 fps is really the problem and I can't recapture the video...oh well. It is what it is. Thank you so much for your help though Beryl
Reply
Carl312
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Texas, USA Joined: Mar 16, 2010 20:11 Messages: 9090 Offline
[Post New]
Quote: I did it; it is just as choppy though a little better looking...the problem is the handheld quality from the choppiness and a lack of perfect sync with speaking and lips...I'm afraid the 10 fps is really the problem and I can't recapture the video...oh well. It is what it is. Thank you so much for your help though

Yes, that is a shame, you can never recapture a TV program. Unless it is not on one of the national networks.

Cable Channels tend to repeat a show many times before it disappears for good.

Carl312: Windows 10 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB,240GB SSD,two 1TB HDs.

Reply
Neil.F.1955 [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 07, 2012 09:15 Messages: 1303 Offline
[Post New]
As I'm given to understand this, 25fps is what the PAL standard requires to function properly, with 625 lines making each frame(scanning twice-per-second, odd lines first, then even) process repeated 25 times per each second because our power supply is 240-250 volts at 50Hz(cycles per second), this applies to Australia, NZ, Britain and several Euro countries where PAL colour broadcasting was(and is) used(though there were some hybrid variants). The American/Canadian TV broadcast system employed NTSC colour which was designed to operate on 117 volts at 60Hz, thus the frame rate was to be 24fps, the frames being made of 525 lines. Interestingly, we're a little over a week away from marking a milestone in Australian TV history, Sunday, 1st March, 2015(1-3-2015) marks the 40th Anniversary of official commencement of Colour TV in Australia. It's interesting to note that as countries upgraded their TV broadcasting to colour in the analogue days, they, nearly all of them, chose the superior German PAL system over the US NTSC or the woefully-inferior French SECAM system. They knew where the best quality was.

I should add that I was talking about analogue TV, not digital in my comments above.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 20. 2015 10:23

Reply
James Dotson
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Tennessee Joined: Aug 24, 2009 20:40 Messages: 3066 Offline
[Post New]
Beryl94903, you posted this in an old thread. I suggest you start a new thread or this one will likely be locked. __________________________________
CORNBLOSSOM
Reply
Neil.F.1955 [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Mar 07, 2012 09:15 Messages: 1303 Offline
[Post New]
Before Jaime-Esque "locks" this thread, I'd like to add one last thought. I think our Australian TV stations, even now with 16:9 wide-screen digital transmission, may still be 25 frames per second. My DVDs using that frame rate play okay through my TV's inbuilt player, so I'm guessing 25fps is still "ruling the roost" here!
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team