Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Saving clips...
frankhanna [Avatar]
Newbie Location: Isle of Man Joined: Feb 19, 2011 12:42 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
I am sure I am being a bit slow here but can anyone give me some advice as to how to save clips in a current project?

I have split a video in a few places and rather than deleting one of the new clips I want to quickly save it for use in something else later. I have tried everything I know but it does not seem possible. I hope I am wrong. Can anyone help?
Frank Hanna
garioch7
Senior Contributor Location: Port Hood, Nova Scotia, Canada Joined: Feb 07, 2011 06:45 Messages: 852 Offline
[Post New]
Frank:

I am a newbie myself, but as far as I can tell, PD9 does not actually split the original source a/v file(s). It simply creates a project file which tell it which parts to use and what effects, transitions, etc., to apply. I think your best solution would be to copy your current project file with a new filename, open the copy, and remove everything but the clip you want, then produce that. Once produced, you can use the production file in any new project and you can discard the presumably larger original source file if it is no longer required.

There is probably a simpler way. I haven't yet had time to look into all of the Library Management features, but there probably are options in that direction as well. I am sure that the real experts on this forum will have much better ideas.

Hope this helps. Have a great day.

Regards,
-Phil
frankhanna [Avatar]
Newbie Location: Isle of Man Joined: Feb 19, 2011 12:42 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks Phil,