CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Cross transitions - Are they your preferred choice?
Reply to this topic
vn800rider
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Darwen, UK Joined: May 15, 2008 04:32 Messages: 1940 Offline
[Post New]
Only post a reply if CROSS TRANSITIONS are your preferred default transition.

Overlap transitions are now the default, with the ability to switch to cross transitions by right click and select. The two transition types have significantly different effects on the whole timeline. This default has generated much debate.

In an effort to determine the default transition type most favoured by editors, please post a reply to this thread if your preference is the CROSS TRANSITION, or post to thread
http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/14570.page#69745
if it is the OVERLAP TRANSITION.

In order not to produce a massive thread, please give no more than 2 short reasons for your preference. I hope to be able to get the results forwarded to CL for their ongoing development programme.

Cheers
Adrian

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Feb 07. 2012 04:42

Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. (see below)
Confucius
AMD Phenom IIX6 1055T, win10, 5 internal drives, 7 usb drives, struggling power supply.
Reply
Cap'n Kevin
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Chebeague Island, Maine Joined: Dec 26, 2008 20:22 Messages: 2011 Offline
[Post New]
I prefer the CROSS transition:

When the CROSS transition is applied it does not effect the duration of the clips on the timeline.

Two 5 second clips on the timeline...place a Two second fade transition...resulting in a 10 second clip.
Check out PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials and more! Over 5,000 Subscribers.
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4755 Offline
[Post New]
Both when they function correctly and move TL correctly, it's a user preference, put a tick to select overlap or cross as default in Preferences > Editing > where the control for default transition duration currently is.
Reply
Cap'n Kevin
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Chebeague Island, Maine Joined: Dec 26, 2008 20:22 Messages: 2011 Offline
[Post New]
I like Jeff's idea better! Make it a simple choice selection.
Check out PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials and more! Over 5,000 Subscribers.
Reply
Andres.R
Senior Member Private Message Location: Tartu, Estonia Joined: Dec 31, 2009 02:26 Messages: 263 Offline
[Post New]
Hi,
I like Jeffs idea too!
But so far I prefere cross.. PowerDirector 17. Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770 (8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz); Hard Disk: SSD 250Gb + SSD 500GB.

My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/AndresRootsi
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6077 Offline
[Post New]
I prefer CROSS, as it does not move the timeline, and all this linking and un-linking is a bit confusing at times. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5. Tape capture using 4 VCR, TBC, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/B-Gill-Cyber-Studio-6
Reply
[Post New]
Absolute no-brainer for me - it has to be the CROSS TRANSITION as default. Simple, clean and for me it would be the preferrence if no system default was set. Not having to adjust for timings through transitions works for me too! Seeking wisdom - finding fluff - but wise fluff!
Reply
[Post New]
Cross for me too - same reasons as above!
Reply
All vodi
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Canada Joined: Aug 21, 2009 11:24 Messages: 1431 Offline
[Post New]
Cross please. It is inherently more logical - both technically and visually. Win 10, i7
Reply
[Post New]
For me cross is fine, too.
Kind regards,
Wolfgang
Reply
[Post New]
My videos are seamless and require no transitions...time pauses for me while I reload the camera...

Cross Transitions would be better for me when I use them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Dec 12. 2010 11:38

Reply
James W
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Lakeland, FL USA Joined: Aug 18, 2008 10:36 Messages: 911 Offline
[Post New]
I'll go with cross transitions, but giving the user the option to change the default is a good idea. Q9300 2.5 GHz
4 GB Ram
Nvidia 9800 GT
Reply
just_for_fun [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Jan 23, 2010 11:41 Messages: 111 Offline
[Post New]
I preferr cross and really dislike overlay.
I do not like the timeline change when overlay is used.

Like many here I think the default should be user settable in the preferrences. Just For Fun
i7 Core@3.8ghz 6gig mem 3 HDD geForce8400
Canon HF S20
Reply
[Post New]
Cross transition is smooth and is commonly used,hence preferable. PD 9 should make this as default and allow the user to change to overlap if so desired.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Dec 12. 2010 12:16

PC specs :
OS Windows 10.0 Pro
MB - AS rock Z77 extreme 11
Intel 3770K @ 4.0 Ghz OC
Gskill 32 GB RAM 1800 Mhz
6 TB HDD, SSD bootable
nVidia ASUS GTX 660 Ti
BenQ 22" LCD monitor 1920x1080

Reply
SeptimusFry
Senior Member Private Message Location: Brittany, France Joined: Feb 02, 2008 12:43 Messages: 243 Offline
[Post New]
Me for cross too.

(This thread illustrates my point that the forum could do with voting threads )

denbigh i7 980x; W7 Pro; 12GB; Nvidia GTX 285; 2x300G Velociraptors in Raid 0; 2x1.5TB Barracuda in Raid 1; 2TB WD Studio Ed.II (eSATA); NEC SpectraView Reference 2690 + MultiSync EA232
Reply
1Nina
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Norway, 50km southwest of Oslo Joined: Oct 08, 2008 04:12 Messages: 1070 Offline
[Post New]
Of course I prefer cross, and I prefer it WITHOUT
zoom, please.
Overlay I will use seldom.

Nina
Just something.
https://www.petitpoisvideo.com
Reply
Bubba in TX
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Central Texas Joined: Dec 12, 2009 21:32 Messages: 1332 Offline
[Post New]
OK CYBERDINK... watch my lips...

CROSSOVER

What was you thinking making the overlap the default?

Best way to fix it and some other goof ups you still got going is to make them USER SELECTABLE in the SET UP PAGE or in the transition page. While you're at it, pick up the set duration button your dropped on the floor and put it BACK.

After all it only took you 8 versions to get the title effects in alphabetical order... don't want you to get excited and rush into anything now...

Any questions????? Feel FREE to contact me in person...... I'll tell you what I really think..

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Dec 12. 2010 13:04

__________________________________________
Windows 8 Pro 64 bit

CyberLink PowerDirector 10 Tutorials
PDtoots PowerDirector Tutorials

**NOTICE**
When you are asked to provide a DXDIAG you go the following link and do part "B". Your posted specs are NOT what we are looking for as they tell us nothing. The specs on the box of your computer mean nothing. The DXDIAG shows us how your computer is configured as it runs.

DXDIAG Link
Reply
vhaynes [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Sao Paulo Joined: Sep 17, 2007 13:47 Messages: 12 Offline
[Post New]
I prefer cross transitions - Vivian from Brazil
Reply
CubbyHouseFilms
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne, Australia Joined: Jul 14, 2009 04:23 Messages: 2208 Offline
[Post New]
Cross too - in more ways than one! Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD13 Ultim v3516. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD16 Live v2101 Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Mob.Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite 6: PowerDirector 16 Live, PhotoDirector 9, ColorDirector 6, AudioDirector 8

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, a6300 4k, HDR TG5E, GoPro 4 Black, Canon 6D DSLR

Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
- PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!

Reply
RobertJ/OZ [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Melbourne Australia Joined: Aug 14, 2006 02:26 Messages: 1209 Offline
[Post New]
Cross for me too, much easier to manage

Robert Intel i7 930, 16GB ram, Radeon HD 5770 1Gb,Ver. 14.12 Win7 64 bit
Intel i7 7700 HQ, 16 GB ram Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB dual drives 1 TB SSD + 1 TB HDD Win 10

PDtoots
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team