Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum will launch in a few months, providing a better experience to our users. Once launched, posting new topics or replying to old topics on the CyberLink Community Forum will no longer be available.
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Jump to begining of a clip
Reply to this topic
drummerchuckb1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jan 17, 2022 22:09 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Previously, I could click on a clip and jump right to the begining of it. This is important to me because I make videos with lots of short clips and getting right to the start of a specific clip is helpful for editing quickly. However, now I get the following pop up when I click on a clip:

"The playhead will not automatically jump to a clip you select. You need to drag the playhead to the clip to start playback."

Basically, I want the "playhead" to automatically jump to a clip I select. Is there a way to do this in the new version?
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6038 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Previously, I could click on a clip and jump right to the begining of it. This is important to me because I make videos with lots of short clips and getting right to the start of a specific clip is helpful for editing quickly. However, now I get the following pop up when I click on a clip:

"The playhead will not automatically jump to a clip you select. You need to drag the playhead to the clip to start playback."

Basically, I want the "playhead" to automatically jump to a clip I select. Is there a way to do this in the new version?

You might try a double click initially on a video clip to bring up the Edit menu. Then a single click on other clips should work. I'd probably "Don't show again" with that warning.

Jeff
Reply
drummerchuckb1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jan 17, 2022 22:09 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Quote

You might try a double click initially on a video clip to bring up the Edit menu. Then a single click on other clips should work. I'd probably "Don't show again" with that warning.

Jeff


Thanks, this works. You have to click "don't show again" first for this to work, though. I also found that clicking on a clip and then hitting the PageUp key jumped to the begining of the clip, which is useful if you want to jump to a clip without openeing the editor.
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6038 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Thanks, this works. You have to click "don't show again" first for this to work, though. I also found that clicking on a clip and then hitting the PageUp key jumped to the begining of the clip, which is useful if you want to jump to a clip without openeing the editor.

Yes, that would work too if you want to keep the media library active as it toggles to "Clip" mode vs "Movie" mode so the scrubber jumps to beginning of the clip for Clip mode. Not sure what design intent really was, but it really slowed up typical editing tasks as it adds another key stroke.

Jeff
Reply
Stoneware [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Feb 19, 2021 19:04 Messages: 15 Offline
[Post New]
This "feature" is so annoying now. Why change such a major piece of functionality and make it more difficult to use? If anything, this should have been a configurable parameter to either move the head or not. Simple. Now everyone has to disrupt their workflow and click more buttons or use the mouse. Awful implementation.
Reply
David62277 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jul 15, 2021 12:44 Messages: 10 Offline
[Post New]
I absolutely HATE this new "feature" I also make videos comprised of many small clips, and it makes it more time consuming. I have to click on the clip, then hit home/end (depending where I need to be)... but if the playhead isn't within the clip it jumps to the very beginning/end of the entire video, and I have to then figure out where I was... so annoying.
Reply
paulsw212 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: May 30, 2023 19:21 Messages: 21 Offline
[Post New]
So pleased to see this thread as this is such a major irritant in the new version. Why would you what to remove this functionality? what does it add to the application?

I use the PDSpeed.exe scripts to speed up editing (using keystrokes) and a number of these utilise the former functionality of the scrubber jumping to the beginning of the clip. So the removal of this functionality has messed that up a bit too.

Very frustrating! But thanks for the tips on workarounds.

Paul
Reply
504roadtrips
Newbie Private Message Location: New Orleans, Louisiana Joined: Apr 11, 2017 20:48 Messages: 17 Offline
[Post New]
Once again, something they "fixed" that wasn't broken. I've spent the last hour trying to recover some functionality that I had before. Most of my keyboard shortcuts quit working, and importing them back in didn't work.

What benefit is there to clicking on a clip and not having the timeline marker not go to the beginning of the clip? Completely useless.

I can get used to the rearrangement of some of the on-screen functions, and I like the updated look of the UI, but why take away functionality? 504 Road Trips
https://www.youtube.com/504roadtrips
Reply
[Post New]
Quote Previously, I could click on a clip and jump right to the begining of it. This is important to me because I make videos with lots of short clips and getting right to the start of a specific clip is helpful for editing quickly. However, now I get the following pop up when I click on a clip:

"The playhead will not automatically jump to a clip you select. You need to drag the playhead to the clip to start playback."

Basically, I want the "playhead" to automatically jump to a clip I select. Is there a way to do this in the new version?



Thankfully this is one feature that has returned in the latest update
Reply
504roadtrips
Newbie Private Message Location: New Orleans, Louisiana Joined: Apr 11, 2017 20:48 Messages: 17 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Thankfully this is one feature that has returned in the latest update


What latest update? The problem is in the update from September 19th. Are you getting a new update since then?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Sep 24. 2023 00:51

Reply
Stoneware [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Feb 19, 2021 19:04 Messages: 15 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


What latest update? The problem is in the update from September 19th. Are you getting a new update since then?


I just installed a new update since then, but the head still doesn't go to the beginning of an added clip. Not sure what he's talking about, unless I missed something. Still not user friendly to say the least.
Reply
504roadtrips
Newbie Private Message Location: New Orleans, Louisiana Joined: Apr 11, 2017 20:48 Messages: 17 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


I just installed a new update since then, but the head still doesn't go to the beginning of an added clip. Not sure what he's talking about, unless I missed something. Still not user friendly to say the least.


There's a new update released 9/25/23. Hopefully that'll fix the problem.
Reply
paulsw212 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: May 30, 2023 19:21 Messages: 21 Offline
[Post New]
Sadly, it doesn't!

Paul
Reply
JimJam [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Oct 31, 2020 05:30 Messages: 1 Offline
[Post New]
Awful this update, who thought this was a good idea?
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team