Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Totally crashes system constantly
mypasswordis1234 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Feb 03, 2023 19:23 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
I am totally frustrated. I've never seen a program that crashes a system as bad as this one does and I've been doing IT support since 1995. Also, why can I not find any real technical support for this program? I paid quite a bit for it I think there should be some technical support.

I bought the program about 4 months ago hoping to make some You Tube videos. I can record them outside of Powerdirector but can't edit them at all within. My system just crashes. Locks up hard and I have to do a very unhealthy cold boot. It's a pretty nice gaming system with an RTX-2070 graphics card with 8gb dedicated ram.

My system has an AMD Ryzen 2700x 8 core with 32 GB ram and a 256gb hard drive where Windows 10 runs and a 1 TB SSD where my apps run from. Runs all my games very well. I've updated the graphics card to the latest drivers and also the Powerdirector app as well as per the common responses in google searches.

To cause the problem to occur, just open Power director and drag one of the video clips I've recorded, any of them onto the storyboard. Often it will crash there, sometimes I can do some editing. Either way, the longest it will run is maybe 10 minutes before crashing. The videos are made in OBS studio using mostly default settings and play just fine by themselves in Windows. One I was trying today was only 339 mb and as soon as I dragged it on the storyboard, it crashed my system.

****EDIT*** I found the tech support forum and created a ticket. Hopefully they can resolve the issue.