CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Using GoPro LRV files
Reply to this topic
Enrique_au [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 30, 2018 08:16 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Is there any way to use GoPro's LRV files as Shadow files in PowerDirector?



I got this idea reading about DaVinci Resolve. So the GoPro automatically generates low res shadow files, called LRV files. They're just small MP4 files. I renamed them to match how PowerDirector names its shadow files and put them in the ShadowEditFiles folder, then added my media to a new project.



But it didn't work, PowerDirector still made its own shadow files (with exactly the same names) and overwrote the ones I placed.



So the theory is, PowerDirector will already have the shadow files without needing to render them, saving me hours. Is there a way to do this? Or if CyberLink's reading this, could you add this feature somehow? Thanks.
Reply
PowerDirector Moderator [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan Joined: Oct 18, 2016 00:25 Messages: 1863 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Is there any way to use GoPro's LRV files as Shadow files in PowerDirector?



I got this idea reading about DaVinci Resolve. So the GoPro automatically generates low res shadow files, called LRV files. They're just small MP4 files. I renamed them to match how PowerDirector names its shadow files and put them in the ShadowEditFiles folder, then added my media to a new project.



But it didn't work, PowerDirector still made its own shadow files (with exactly the same names) and overwrote the ones I placed.



So the theory is, PowerDirector will already have the shadow files without needing to render them, saving me hours. Is there a way to do this? Or if CyberLink's reading this, could you add this feature somehow? Thanks.




Hi,

You might find some help in these posts?

https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/51858.page#post_box_271862
https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/43102.page#post_box_222623

Get back to us if you have further questions.

Cheers

PowerDirector Moderator

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 09. 2023 04:36


For customer support related issues, please contact:
- Customer service: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do
- Technical support: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/service/technical-support.do
Reply
2dguy [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jun 16, 2021 12:33 Messages: 36 Offline
[Post New]
Quote
But it didn't work, PowerDirector still made its own shadow files (with exactly the same names) and overwrote the ones I placed.
.


Fellow GoPro user here, if you don't mind... if you find a stable solution...please reply and share. Thank you.
Reply
Enrique_au [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 30, 2018 08:16 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Fellow GoPro user here, if you don't mind... if you find a stable solution...please reply and share. Thank you.


Hi 2dguy, I haven't found an easy way to do this yet.

The 2nd link provided by the moderator suggests to use the low-res LRV files to do all editing, then switch with the full-res files just before producing (rendering) the final product. I guess this could work but I don't think it's ideal.

I have a feeling that PowerDirector keeps its own database on the shadow files it creates and without me accessing this data it will never know that I already have low-res files it can use.

It would be so useful if PowerDirector would just recognise LRV files and use them, it would save me at least an hour.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team