CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD17, max capture 1 hour +- (4gb) Insufficient disk space
Reply to this topic
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6194 Offline
[Post New]
Im running PD17, capturing VHS to MP4, but I keep hitting an obstacle, it says I have insufficient disk space, free up some space, but I've got plenty of free space.
My workaround is of course to join the several captured files later, but that is unacceptable.
So, has anyone had this happen?
Did you find a solution?
It only happens in the capture module, all my other capture programs have no issue, so it IS A PD issue!
I'd like some input before I contact Support. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)
Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5.
Tape capture using 6 VCR, TBC-1000, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/BarryAFTT
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 8058 Offline
[Post New]
Barry it sure sounds like you're runnning into the FAT32 4GB size limit. Can you format at least one of your drives with NTFS (or exFAT for a USB drive)?

If drive formatting isn't the issue, it may in fact be a limitation of the PD capture module
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6194 Offline
[Post New]
The C: drive is NTFS, no surprise there, capturing to my desktop.
Ill try my external, and maybe install PD14 to try.
This, if I recall is only a 17 problem as it happens on my other machine.
EDIT: A ticket has been submitted. I do not expect much, honestly, it is after all version 17,
however... better functionality and fewer sticker packs would be a better use of resources.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Dec 13. 2022 20:23

HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)
Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5.
Tape capture using 6 VCR, TBC-1000, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/BarryAFTT
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 6254 Offline
[Post New]
I recall answering a question about the mp4 capture from the vc-500 where the OP stated the same problem on the then current PD20/365 that Barry brought out in 2021 in this link: https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/85167.page and is answered by optodata in exactly the same way.

The Op stated that he will not contact Cyberlink support as he only had a few more to do and the workaround works and is of no concern to him. I was trying to get him to write the support ticket since he has the same problem in the current PD20 version that Barry reported here for PD17. No , I won’t write a ticket for someone else that has the problem that I have no interest in pursuing. I reported the PD17 then current capture issues found and it took almost a year for most of them to get fixed.
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6194 Offline
[Post New]
I bet it is a simple registry hack, but maybe not so simple to me!
Something is corrupted, that's my guess. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)
Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5.
Tape capture using 6 VCR, TBC-1000, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/BarryAFTT
Reply
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 6254 Offline
[Post New]
Registry hack or not, these problems need to be reported to Cyberlink support as forum users are not allowed to reverse engineer or hack the program. I would not ask any user to spend the time to fix it without being paid to do so.
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6194 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Registry hack or not, these problems need to be reported to Cyberlink support as forum users are not allowed to reverse engineer or hack the program. I would not ask any user to spend the time to fix it without being paid to do so.
Maybe registry repair/fix is the better term. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)
Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5.
Tape capture using 6 VCR, TBC-1000, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/BarryAFTT
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 6194 Offline
[Post New]
Well...I'm very pleased to have received a reply from Support.
They reproduced the error and are escalating to troubleshoot it (my words).
Support was clear and friendly and so we shall see if they can issue a patch.
Good for them if they issue an update for an older product version. HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)
Nvidia GTX 960(4GB)/16GB DDR3/
Canon Vixia HV30/HF-M40/HF-M41/HF-G20/Olympus E-PL5.
Tape capture using 6 VCR, TBC-1000, Elite BVP4+, Sony D8 camcorder with TBC.
https://www.facebook.com/BarryAFTT
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team