Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
I've used Powerdirector for years but I've moved to a new laptop (also Windows 10 to Window 11) and can't get it to run. OK, I'll just purchase the latest version. However, I see no option other than to pay around $60 per year. I'm not interested in ultimately paying hundreds of dollars for Powerdirector.

Is there no longer an option to purchase a non-subscription version?
Quote My editing needs are pretty simple, I'm not a pro by any means. I'm typically taking HD videos from a variety of sources and editing them down to smaller clips, then combining those smaller clips into one video. Highest resolution I'm editing to is typically 1080p. I'll add music soundtracks and intersperse some titles into the finished video, but that's about it.

I'm currently using my old Alienware M17x laptop (I am on the road a LOT so a laptop is required) which has an nVidia GTX 680m, 16 Gig of system RAM, and the CPU is a 3 or 4 year old Intel i7-3630QM @2.40 GHz. I think that's a dual core CPU.

It works OK for my work, a bit slow but OK.

This old machine is now breaking down and I am going to buy a new notebook. Since I travel so much, lightweight and long battery life is everything. I'll be getting a 1920x1080 display (I don't yet like some of the ways Windows 10 scales the 4K screens) so I'll be editing again at those levels.

There are a lot of options, and on any of them I'll be using the i7 Skylake (or perhaps the next gen i7 Kaby Lake quad core) dual core CPUs. But what is holding me back on the various options is the video card.