Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Size in GB of clips
Scott1234 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Aug 14, 2020 14:27 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
I am BRAND new to video editing and recently bought (and updated!) PowerDirector 15. I have captured all my old VHS tapes, some dating back to 1983, and my intention is to burn clips to DVDs in chronological order. My understanding is a DVD will only hold 4.7GB unless it's a dual layer and I don't want to go there.

Here's my question: since I am going to try to use as few DVDs as possible how can I tell how big, in GBs, a clip is? Do I right-click and check under Properties? Can I just right-click a clip on the timeline and get this information?

Also if anyone has undertaken a project like this before any tips or help you offer up will be much appreciated. What I want the end product to be is a DVD with a working menu and scene selection available.

Thanks to all in advance.
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 6091 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I am BRAND new to video editing and recently bought (and updated!) PowerDirector 15. I have captured all my old VHS tapes, some dating back to 1983, and my intention is to burn clips to DVDs in chronological order. My understanding is a DVD will only hold 4.7GB unless it's a dual layer and I don't want to go there.

Here's my question: since I am going to try to use as few DVDs as possible how can I tell how big, in GBs, a clip is? Do I right-click and check under Properties? Can I just right-click a clip on the timeline and get this information?