Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Subscription? No thanks
[Post New]
I have been using PowerDirector for several years....

I prefer to 'own' the software I purchase, so doubt I will be upgrading.

I was already forced into the subscription game with Adobe, so have their video editing software at my disposal.... not sure why I would want '2' subscriptions of video editing software.

Anybody have experience with Adobe Premier Pro ? How does it compare to PowerDirector? Joe Friday - "Just the facts, Ma'am!"
TDK1044 [Avatar]
Member Joined: Apr 11, 2019 12:27 Messages: 130 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I have been using PowerDirector for several years....

I was already forced into the subscription game with Adobe, so have their video editing software at my disposal.... not sure why I would want '2' subscriptions of video editing software.

Anybody have experience with Adobe Premier Pro ? How does it compare to PowerDirector?

I've found over the years that owning a fully patched stand alone version of software like this is the way to go. A fully patched PD17 Ultimate remains on my computer and continues to work perfectly. I purchased PD18 Ultimate, added it to the same computer as a stand alone product and have had no issues so far. There are clearly a few bugs in it that will be addressed in an upcoming patch, but none of them have impacted me in any way at all. I guess the subscription model makes sense if you are going to be a heavy user of the product and you need the updates that are offered monthly with that model, but the rollout of PD18 365 seems to have been a disaster.

As for the Adobe product, I have no experience with that product.
[Post New]