Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Audio Crossfade
JRW [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Sep 28, 2019 12:29 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
I am new to Power Director. I have tried applying crossfades to shots in various ways & in each case where the underlying sound is fairly constant (eg aircraft engine noise) the audio crossfades, but each time there is a small blip/thud in the audio where the audio changes, so it is not a seamless transition ... is this a limitation of the program or am I doing something wrong?

I have tried crossfading with audio and video split and using different transitions and also just overlapping the clips but in very instance whilst the video is smooth the audio is not.

I am used to audio editing where a crossfade does not produce effects like this. I just upgraded to PD 365 from V16 because 16 was unable to show the audio waveform, now I am wondering if I should have upgraded!
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 6464 Offline
[Post New]
Let us know if your transition behavior is set to overlap or cross.
JRW [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Sep 28, 2019 12:29 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Let us know if your transition behavior is set to overlap or cross.

Thanks for the quick reply!

My initial crossfades were done by dragging one clip to overlap the other. I also tried using the Cross transition but the effect on audio was the same
Alex Foster [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Dec 16, 2016 11:09 Messages: 43 Offline
[Post New]
Same problem here!

How many times does this ugly bug has to be addressed, dear Cyberlink staff? (If you're reading this, which you of course don't since it's "only a forum")....
StevenG [Avatar]