Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PowerDirector 16 Corrupting Files and Crashing
cosmocornbread [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jan 02, 2018 08:16 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
I have been using Power Director for several years and started using 16 in October. Last week I created a short video and saved it/produced the same way I do all of my videos. I tried to use that short video as a trailer to other videos and the second it starts to play, PD crashes and closes. The file can not be played at all. PowerDirector can't play it without crashing and closing every time. It is as though the file it created is corrupted.

Earlier today, I spent hours on a project. I finished it and uploaded it to YouTube, and YT said the file could not be processed.

I opened the video in PD and once again, it crashed and closed.

I opened the saved pds file ( I always save one as I am working along the way through a project) and RE-produced/rendered the video all over again. Once again, the same thing has happened. I can play the whole video all the way through in the workspace with no issue. But as soon as I render it into a finished Mp4, and is crashing everything.

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have not changed any settings in PD16, everything is as it has always been, but this seems to be happening with no reason or known cause, on a random basis. I ahve lost hours of work. Every time it happens, it sends a crash report to Cyberlink, but that doesn't do me any good. I love PowerDirector and really don't want to have to learn a whole new editing program. But I will have no other option if I can't find out what is causing this.