Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
I can't set slide duration for a slideshow.
[Post New]
Hello All,

I'm new to PD but am excited at the possibilities. However I've hit a snag with my first project, a simple slideshow. I'm creating it for an older couple who would like a longish viewing time for each slide. (10s or more).

Here's what I've tried so far...

I started with the Slideshow Creator from the launch screen, however all the templates have quick slide durations, and according to the manual, and my experimenting, I can only modify slides to sync in different ways with the music. This does not affect the slide duration only the length of the entire slideshow. So this didn't work...

I then tried the Full Feature Editor, changing my program preferences to import slides at a default duration of 10s, and dragging my media directly into timeline. Each slide's duration was 10s as intended. I highlighted a group of slides on the timeline and selected the slideshow option. The end result was the same as described above. The slideshow process overwrote the slide duration set in the timeline. (Note: I did receive a warning message that this would be the case.) So this didn't work.

After digging deeper into the manual I thought I had found a solution within Theme Designer. In the manual it refers to adjusting the slide duration by right clicking on the desired slide and selecting "set duration", however no matter what theme I choose this option is not available. It is greyed out. "Modify effects settings" is also greyed out. I have checked this is true with multiple files, but can find no reason as to why.