CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Setting gaps between clips n PowerDirector 16
Reply to this topic
Zorikh [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Jul 05, 2015 20:33 Messages: 99 Offline
[Post New]
I have a video of about 100 5 and 10 second long clips,and I want to put a two seciond break between each of them.

I figured out that if I just create a 2-second clip (like a title), I can insert that between each clip and then delete all of those 2-second clips without moving the remaining clips, but is there a way to automatically "create break between all clips?" Zorikh
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 7990 Offline
[Post New]
There's no way to have PD automatically do that, but your idea of a 2-second title is a great start. As long as there's nothing in the text box you also won't have to delete it afterwards, so start with a single 10-sec clip followed by a title and make sure you've deleted the title's text.

Next, select both the clip and the 2-sec title then copy them (Ctrl+C is probably the easiest way to do that), then paste 9 more times so you have a block of 10 sets of clips. Now select all the clips and titles and paste that 10 more times and you'll have all the timeline placeholders arranged exactly as you want.

The final step is to drag each clip from the Media Room directly onto the desired placeholder on the timeline and choose the Replace option so that you have the correct clips for your project. The length of a 10 second placeholder will drop to 5 seconds if that's the duration of the replaced clip, but the reverse isn't true if the new clip is longer.

Unfortunately PD won't automatically shift the remaining clips left to fill the gap, so you'll need to right-click in the gap and choose Remove and Move All Clips on the Same Track to bring everything together each time you replace with a 5-sec clip.

An alternate approach would be to select all 100 clips in the Media Room and place them all on the timeline in one fell swoop (I'm assuming that they're already in the correct order). Next create a 2 second blank title and drag that to the end of the first clip, where you'll want to choose the Insert option.

Now copy that blank title and do the same thing by pasting a copy at the end of each clip. It's probably faster to use the keystrokes Ctrl+ right arrow to skip to the end of the current clip, then Ctrl+V to paste then choose Insert fromm the pop-up menu, then 2x Ctrl+right arrows to skip to the endo of the next clip and repeat.

I know it sounds like a lot of work, but in reality you'll probably be done in less time than it took me to write all this up
Reply
PowerDirector Moderator [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan Joined: Oct 18, 2016 00:25 Messages: 1768 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I have a video of about 100 5 and 10 second long clips,and I want to put a two seciond break between each of them.

I figured out that if I just create a 2-second clip (like a title), I can insert that between each clip and then delete all of those 2-second clips without moving the remaining clips, but is there a way to automatically "create break between all clips?"


Hi,

Presuming that you want the end result to be clip-black screen-clip-black screen......

Then you can always use a 2 sec black color board and :

either

Fill a timeline with 2 sec color boards, using "block" copy and paste so it goes 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128.... which is quick and easy, and then just insert each video clip in the order you want.

or

Set out your timeline as required, then insert a black colorbord in between clips

Both would produce a hard jump cut effect between clip and black but would also give you the possibility of rt click>Apply to all videos to add a 0.25sec fade to make a softer cut effect, if that was visually more appealing but would need care to avoid synching issues with an audio track?

If you could customise or get hold of a plain black transition then that might give you the possibility of rt click>Apply to all videos but I haven't come across one that would suit.

Or have I misread your requirement??

Cheers
PowerDirector Moderator


For customer support related issues, please contact:
- Customer service: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do
- Technical support: https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/service/technical-support.do
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team