CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Import Tiff with layers
Reply to this topic
BadWolf [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Sep 10, 2015 09:45 Messages: 109 Offline
[Post New]
I know PHD supports TIFF files with layers, but is it for files only created and exported with PhotoDirector? If I export a file with layers as TIFF format from photoshop, for example, and open it in PHD, the layers are gone. Is this normal behavior?
Reply
ynotfish
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: N.S.W. Australia Joined: May 08, 2009 02:06 Messages: 9915 Offline
[Post New]
Hi BadWolf -

That's right, & it's not just PhD.

Here's a quote from the PS Help File:

TIFF format supports CMYK, RGB, Lab, Indexed Color, and Grayscale images with alpha channels and Bitmap mode images without alpha channels. Photoshop can save layers in a TIFF file; however, if you open the file in another application, only the flattened image is visible. Photoshop can also save notes, transparency, and multiresolution pyramid data in TIFF format.


Another PS export option is .PSD, but PhD doesn't recognise it.

Just complete all your layer editing in PS & export as a flattened file.

Cheers - Tony
Visit PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials, tips, free resources & more. Subscribe!
Full linked Tutorial Catalog
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Reply
BadWolf [Avatar]
Member Private Message Joined: Sep 10, 2015 09:45 Messages: 109 Offline
[Post New]
Oh Adobe with your proprietary shenanigans!

thanks for the info mate!
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team