CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Zoom (the application) and zoom (the feature) don't play together
Reply to this topic
jerrys
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Britain, CT, USA (between New York and Boston) Joined: Feb 10, 2010 21:36 Messages: 1031 Offline
[Post New]

  1. I set my zoom in YouCam.

  2. I start Zoom (the app).

  3. If YouCam is aready open, then Zoom shows the proper image.

  4. If YouCam is not open when I connect to it with Zoom, the image is not correct.

  5. I open the Effects room, and Zoom changes to the correct image.

  6. Every time I turn off my video in Zoom, YouCam closes.

  7. Every time I turn on my video in Zoom, the image is not correct.

  8. If I launch the YouCam app, or just open the Effects room, the image corrects itself.



That's a long way of saying that when Zoom turns on YouCam, the YouCam zoom settings are lost.

Has anyone else noticed this?

YouCam version 10.0.1830.0

Zoom version 5.11.1 (6602)

Logitech Brio camera

Windows 10 Pro

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Sep 04. 2022 18:28

Jerry Schwartz
Reply
Forum Moderator [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Feb 27, 2018 01:01 Messages: 455 Offline
[Post New]
Hello,

We have confirmed with our contact at CyberLink that this is now the expected behavior. Once you start the Zoom call, you'll need to double click on the YouCam system tray icon to launch YouCam in panel mode.

Cheers
YouCam Moderator Please direct any sales or technical issues to CyberLink's customer support team:

Sales or installation related issues:
https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do

Software technical issues:
https://membership.cyberlink.com/sup
Reply
jerrys
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Britain, CT, USA (between New York and Boston) Joined: Feb 10, 2010 21:36 Messages: 1031 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Hello,

We have confirmed with our contact at CyberLink that this is now the expected behavior. Once you start the Zoom call, you'll need to double click on the YouCam system tray icon to launch YouCam in panel mode.

Cheers
YouCam Moderator


That's not the precise issue.

When the Zoom call starts, all of the settings in the panel stay the same—except for the camera zoom! I have to open the panel to get the camera zoom back. I have to go through that every time Zoom turns the video off and on. Jerry Schwartz
Reply
Forum Moderator [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Feb 27, 2018 01:01 Messages: 455 Offline
[Post New]
Quote

I have to open the panel to get the camera zoom back. I have to go through that every time Zoom turns the video off and on.


Hello,

Yes, this is what I explained above. YouCam does not auto launch when calls start anymore, so that is why the YouCam zoom setting is not activated (it is not open). You need to double-click on the icon to open YouCam in panel mode.

Cheers
YouCam Moderator Please direct any sales or technical issues to CyberLink's customer support team:

Sales or installation related issues:
https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do

Software technical issues:
https://membership.cyberlink.com/sup
Reply
jerrys
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: New Britain, CT, USA (between New York and Boston) Joined: Feb 10, 2010 21:36 Messages: 1031 Offline
[Post New]
Quote


Hello,

Yes, this is what I explained above. YouCam does not auto launch when calls start anymore, so that is why the YouCam zoom setting is not activated (it is not open). You need to double-click on the icon to open YouCam in panel mode.

Cheers
YouCam Moderator


Interesting—but not exactly the real problem. If, in the middle of a call or meeting, I turn off video for some reason, when I turn video back on all of the other settings (brightness, color temperature) are still there. So far as I can tell, camera zoom is the only exception. I the other settings can survive, why can't camera zoom? Jerry Schwartz
Reply
Forum Moderator [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Feb 27, 2018 01:01 Messages: 455 Offline
[Post New]
Hello,

YouCam has always auto closed when you stop a video call or turn off the video, this has not changed. When you turn the video back on, it is the same as when you start a video call. You now need to double click on the system tray icon to launch it.

I couldn't duplicate the brightness and color temperature adjustments from YouCam auto returning when starting video again in Zoom. They settings only returned when I restarted YouCam.

I suggest you contact CyberLink Customer Service directly if you find this continues to be the issue for you:

https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/service/technical-support.do

Cheers
YouCam Moderator Please direct any sales or technical issues to CyberLink's customer support team:

Sales or installation related issues:
https://membership.cyberlink.com/support/customer-services.do

Software technical issues:
https://membership.cyberlink.com/sup
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team