Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Cyberlink Rendering Underachievment?
Mapacho [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Oct 06, 2019 07:49 Messages: 21 Offline
[Post New]
I'm fairly new to using Cyberlink Powerdirector so maybe this is actually good performance?

I'm rendering a 13 minute 1920 x 1080 29.97 video with Cyberlink PowerDirector 20 and the best I can do is about 28 minutes rendering time and it doesn't seem to matter much what codec or bitrate I use etc.

Compared to Vegas Pro 15 which gives me real-time (or sometimes better) rendering speed, I feel like Cyberlink is underachieving?

My computer is an Asus i7-5820K CPU, 32 gb ram with an AMD R9 290x video card with 4 GB of ram, Windoze 10 64 bit and PowerDirector set as a "high performance" app in the Windoze graphics setting. My GPU driver is updated.

The video itself is nothing spectacular, just me talking with some PIP photos overlays, a few text overlays etc.,

In PD preferences under Hardware Acceleration, I Enabled hardware decoding and Optimized the GPU performance.

When I render, I select Fast video rendering technology with the "AMD Video Coding Engine" being the only selection that PD will let me make (SVRT is greyed out).

The CPU comes in at about 65% utilization, GPU around 16 to 18%, and Ram at about 6.4 GB out of 25 GB available.

I tried a few codecs and video bitrates and they all seem to come in around the 27 or 28 minute mark, with similar hardware performance (see attached screen shots).

I'm just wondering how this is for PD? Is this good, average or poor rendering speeds given the above specs? Any information would be greatly appreciated! Thanks,
[Thumb - GPU.JPG]
 Filename
GPU.JPG
[Disk]