CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Mov files
Reply to this topic
ken 1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Feb 18, 2020 11:46 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
I cannot import mov files ? I have tested the same files on a filmora editing and had no problem ? Urgent help needed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Feb 14. 2022 08:04

Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 5477 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I cannot import mov files ? I have tested the same files on a filmora editing and had no problem ? Urgent help needed.

mov file import in PD still requires Apple's QT or QT Lite to be installed.

Jeff
Reply
StevenG [Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Joined: Jan 14, 2014 14:04 Messages: 494 Offline
[Post New]
You can install Quicktime Lite codecs here.
https://www.free-codecs.com/qt_lite_download.htm
Reply
ken 1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Feb 18, 2020 11:46 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Thank you both for your help, I dont understand why this cannot be fixed by PD as it is too much hassel having to go into quicktime. If filmora can do it without quicktime. I would hate to have to leave PD because of this problem but its looking that way.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at Feb 16. 2022 19:29

Reply
Warry [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: The Netherlands Joined: Oct 13, 2014 11:42 Messages: 662 Offline
[Post New]
Quote
Thank you both for your help, I dont understand why this cannot be fixed by PD as it is too much hassel having to go into quicktime. If filmora can do it without quicktime. I would hate to have to leave PD because of this problem but its looking that way.


In this forum nobody has insight why. Suggest that you put forward a suggestion to Cyberlink using: Rate us & provide suggestions, in the file menu.
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 5477 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Thank you both for your help, I dont understand why this cannot be fixed by PD as it is too much hassel having to go into quicktime. If filmora can do it without quicktime. I would hate to have to leave PD because of this problem but its looking that way.

PD used to provide QT as part of the PD install automatically, they stopped doing that at PD15 when Apple said QT player was no longer supported and CL then dropped QT import MOV and output support. https://www.cyberlink.com/support/faq-content.do?id=19350

Since then, PD modified MOV import formats to only read MOV (H.264 in 8bit 4:2:0 and *Apple ProRes in 10bit 4:2:2 and *V210 YUV in 10bit 4:2:2) like shown here for PD20, https://www.cyberlink.com/support/faq-content.do?id=26470 . Since MOV is a container and can support various video types, they removed the generic basic MOV import they used to claim at PD14 timeframe and only highlight a few features they can import from a MOV container.

So if one needs MOV QT import support, apparently it's just left to the user to resolve while other packages provide a real solution.

Jeff
Reply
ken 1 [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Feb 18, 2020 11:46 Messages: 3 Offline
[Post New]
Quote

PD used to provide QT as part of the PD install automatically, they stopped doing that at PD15 when Apple said QT player was no longer supported and CL then dropped QT import MOV and output support. https://www.cyberlink.com/support/faq-content.do?id=19350

Since then, PD modified MOV import formats to only read MOV (H.264 in 8bit 4:2:0 and *Apple ProRes in 10bit 4:2:2 and *V210 YUV in 10bit 4:2:2) like shown here for PD20, https://www.cyberlink.com/support/faq-content.do?id=26470 . Since MOV is a container and can support various video types, they removed the generic basic MOV import they used to claim at PD14 timeframe and only highlight a few features they can import from a MOV container.

So if one needs MOV QT import support, apparently it's just left to the user to resolve while other packages provide a real solution.

Jeff


Thank you Jeff for your reply. I have written to PD and they requested some info about the message I get when I try to import mov but I expect there answer will be the same as yours. I cannot understand why this problem cant be fixed if others do it. At least I have the option to move on.
Ken
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team