CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Video Layers heirarchy? Top not the main one?
Reply to this topic
HMeaderRE [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jan 25, 2020 20:05 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
I swear this has worked previously but now??? I have done the latest update, yes.

So I'm trying to make a video with some PIP Callouts and lil overlays to sandwich on top of each other, on top of the main video.

My main video clip is in position 1. The other bits are in other 2+ #'d positions, But now the top #1 video clip does not show when the other elements play? The 'lower' elements seem to be higher in the viewing heirarchy?

Just trying to add some fun titles and effects, not stop the main video from playing. I could've sworn I've done it like above in past.

Help?

Thanks,
Reply
[Post New]
Quote I swear this has worked previously but now??? I have done the latest update, yes.

So I'm trying to make a video with some PIP Callouts and lil overlays to sandwich on top of each other, on top of the main video.

My main video clip is in position 1. The other bits are in other 2+ #'d positions, But now the top #1 video clip does not show when the other elements play? The 'lower' elements seem to be higher in the viewing heirarchy?

Just trying to add some fun titles and effects, not stop the main video from playing. I could've sworn I've done it like above in past.

Help?

Thanks,


Check in settings
Preferences / Editing / Reverse timeline track order (tra 1 at bottom)
As in the past is unchecked

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 11. 2022 12:17

AMD-FX 8350 / Mem. 16GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD RX570 / Display Philips 272V8
Windows 10-64Pro / PD19/365
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 5233 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Check in settings
Preferences / Editing / Reverse timeline track order (tra 1 at bottom)
As in the past is unchecked

That simply displays tracks in reverse order on the user GUI but does not change track content hierarchy.

For PD, default track 1 timeline contents are always first on the pile so to speak. So default track 2 media contents are on top of track 1 and hide track 1 contents, track 3 contents on top of track 2 and track 1, so on.

When PD had a "Title" track, it was convenient as it was always on top of the pile so never hidden behind anything.

Jeff

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 11. 2022 13:45

Reply
[Post New]
JL_JL

After I saw your answer I checked here because in the past this worked,

With PD open, only changed the numerical order, closing and reopening PD the thing works as it should.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 11. 2022 13:57

AMD-FX 8350 / Mem. 16GB DDR3
SSD SUV400S37240G / 2-HD WD 1TB
AMD RX570 / Display Philips 272V8
Windows 10-64Pro / PD19/365
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 5233 Offline
[Post New]
Quote After I saw your answer I checked here because in the past this worked,

With PD open, only changed the numerical order, closing and reopening PD the thing works as it should.

Must be version specific then, closing and reopening does nothing. Default track 3 media contents are on top of track 2 media contents and track 1 media contents. The screen order just reversed.

Jeff
[Thumb - PD20_TrackOrder.png]
 Filename
PD20_TrackOrder.png
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
698 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
9 time(s)
Reply
HMeaderRE [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Jan 25, 2020 20:05 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Quote

Must be version specific then, closing and reopening does nothing. Default track 3 media contents are on top of track 2 media contents and track 1 media contents. The screen order just reversed.

Jeff


I think this helps me from a thought perspective, having the tracks reversed in the order. Didn't know this! Thanks all.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team