Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Importing mp4 error, not supported? NEED HELP!
Jeff [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Nov 20, 2009 20:40 Messages: 5 Offline
[Post New]
Can anyone give me a reason why I can't import mp4 files into PD? When I try to import a video, it says there is an error because that type of file is not supported.
I have PD 8 Ultra, and I'm using a Sony Cybershot camera that shoots 720p... and I'm running Vista, if any of that is useful.
PLEASE HELP!!
Jeff [Avatar]
[Post New]
Okay... So I've just learned that PD 8 does not support mp4... I'm a little new at this, but I know there are ways to convert files to different formats. Are there any that don't cost anything? I can't seem to find a way to convert all my movie clips that isn't going to cost me more $$$.
Thank you in advance!!
Jeff [Avatar]
[Post New]
Doesn't this say right here that mp4 is a supported video import format???

http://www.cyberlink.com/products/powerdirector/languages-formats_en_US.html

I really need somebody to tell me I'm not losing my mind right now.
vn800rider
Senior Contributor Location: Darwen, UK Joined: May 15, 2008 04:32 Messages: 1949 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Jeff,

PD8 does support .mp4. However, like .avi and some other file formats, .mp4 is a "container" within which different video and audio streams can be carried.

This means that different manufacturers can implement it slightly differently and this sometimes causes problems.

If you haven't already you might try installing ffdshow which often cures this sort of an issue.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/ffdshow/