CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PD14 speed up shadowfile generation?
Reply to this topic
Eugen157
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 641 Offline
[Post New]
Has anybody tried changing the registry to increase the shadowfile generation speed?

Belated Happy Newyear, it MUST be better than the last one

Thanks

Gene 73s, WA6JZN ex DL9GC
CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
PD14,
Win10,64bit.CPU i7 6700,16GB ,C= 480 GB SSD ,GPU GTX1060 6GB 1 fan. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HDD's for video etc.LG WH16NS40 reads UHD.
4K 24" ViewSonic monitor.Camera Sony FDR-A
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4692 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Has anybody tried changing the registry to increase the shadowfile generation speed?

Belated Happy Newyear, it MUST be better than the last one

Thanks

Gene

I've not seen anything in registry that controls shadowfile generation performance. However, since PD14, CL has unthrottled the process some so it is faster. Some changes occurred in PD15, a few more in PD17, which is essentially the same as PD18 and PD19. Relative to PD14, shadowfiles generate about 2X faster in 17, 18, and 19.

It is still a CPU only task as in PD14.

Jeff
Reply
Eugen157
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 641 Offline
[Post New]
Quote

I've not seen anything in registry that controls shadowfile generation performance. However, since PD14, CL has unthrottled the process some so it is faster. Some changes occurred in PD15, a few more in PD17, which is essentially the same as PD18 and PD19. Relative to PD14, shadowfiles generate about 2X faster in 17, 18, and 19.

It is still a CPU only task as in PD14.

Jeff


Thank you Jeff.
I sold my Ax100 last year because of its weight and not too good stabilization and now shoot with a GoPro 8 , linear at 60 fps and 100Mb HEVC 4K and have no more shake problems.

My replays on the PD14 timeline stutter and I now have to wait for the shadow files that are set to full HD quality. I searched the past issues for any info on speeding up Hanamax.exe since it only works at a low 20%?? percentage of CPU availability but found none.

My CPU is a i7 6700. But in the back of my mind I remember a discussion about this subject in the past. I think a registry change is all it takes. Also remember that llater versions of PD offer a option of changing the $ number.

Thanks again
Eugene

I do not want to change from PD 14 bcause I like its Magic Music feature.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 10. 2021 14:40

73s, WA6JZN ex DL9GC
CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
PD14,
Win10,64bit.CPU i7 6700,16GB ,C= 480 GB SSD ,GPU GTX1060 6GB 1 fan. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HDD's for video etc.LG WH16NS40 reads UHD.
4K 24" ViewSonic monitor.Camera Sony FDR-A
Reply
optodata
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Sep 16, 2011 16:04 Messages: 6212 Offline
[Post New]
Quote I do not want to change from PD 14 bcause I like its Magic Music feature.

As long as you have SmartSound/Magic Music installed on your computer, all newer versions of PD can still access it. In PD19/365, it's under the Plugins menu:



All your purchased tracks are still available and you can buy more if you want to.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jan 10. 2021 14:57

Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4692 Offline
[Post New]
Quote Thank you Jeff.
I sold my Ax100 last year because of its weight and not too good stabilization and now shoot with a GoPro 8 , linear at 60 fps and 100Mb HEVC 4K and have no more shake problems.

My replays on the PD14 timeline stutter and I now have to wait for the shadow files that are set to full HD quality. I searched the past issues for any info on speeding up Hanamax.exe since it only works at a low 20%?? percentage of CPU availability but found none.

My CPU is a i7 6700. But in the back of my mind I remember a discussion about this subject in the past. I think a registry change is all it takes. Also remember that llater versions of PD offer a option of changing the $ number.

Thanks again
Eugene

I do not want to change from PD 14 bcause I like its Magic Music feature.

Yes, that 20% PD14 utilization was increased at PD15 and PD17. Initially some performance issues with H.265 source vs H.264 but I believe that was corrected, at least my H.265 files. If you have a sample footage you can share, I can verify PD14 to PD19 shadowfile delta performance to aid your decision.

As far as Magic Music, I had stated can be compatible at your last inquiry, https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/82570.page#post_box_340155

Jeff
Reply
Eugen157
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 641 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks both for the info.
I will look into it. So PD17 would be a good compromise? All projects and saved data would be transfered I assume. My 265 files are standard gopro 8 stuff.
My main concern is to screw up what is now a well operating PD14 editor. I would of course have HD:C clones and backups to go back to 14.

Thanks again

Gene 73s, WA6JZN ex DL9GC
CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
PD14,
Win10,64bit.CPU i7 6700,16GB ,C= 480 GB SSD ,GPU GTX1060 6GB 1 fan. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HDD's for video etc.LG WH16NS40 reads UHD.
4K 24" ViewSonic monitor.Camera Sony FDR-A
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team