Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Audio Interface Screen Capture Issue
Taylor Warinsky [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Mar 27, 2020 21:32 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Hello,

I'm a music teacher forced into the realm of distance learning because of the COVID pandemic! I have been using screencapture to make videos for my classes and have been using an outboard microphone through my Focusrite Clarett 4 Pre audio interface to get a better sound quality than my laptop speaker. However, there has been audio clipping and dropouts when I try to use the microphone combined with the computer's internal audio.

I made sure the sample rate and bit rate matched on PowerDirector 17's audio preferences and on my audio interface's settings but that's about the extent of my troubleshooting skills with this.

Any advice on how to set up an external mic with the screen capture to get high quality audio would be greatly appreciated!
PepsiMan
Senior Contributor Location: Clarksville, TN Joined: Dec 29, 2010 01:20 Messages: 1054 Offline
[Post New]
welcome to the forum.
please read this Read Me Before Posting - Suggestions to Get the Best Results and give us at least this one- Generating the DxDiag.txt File at the bottom of the list.

Quote ... using an outboard microphone through my Focusrite Clarett 4 Pre audio interface to get a better sound quality than my laptop speaker. ...

you need to troubleshoot

1. microphone: is it in good servieable condition?

2. connectors to Focusrite Clarett 4 Pre in good condition. not broken, bent connectors or cords not frayed...

3. is USB cable in good condition? try different one...

4. try another USB port on the laptop.

5. lastly your laptop...