Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Creating video preview thumbnails
ErikV [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Mar 13, 2020 15:52 Messages: 6 Offline
[Post New]
Dear people at CyberLink Forum

Let me first tell that I am a newbie to video. As a Teacher I want to produce some education-videos for my website. I can of course shoot mp4 with my digital camera and insert the files on a webpage. This approach is however not preferable. If the video is let's say 20 minutes in duration and the user wants to go quickly through it to find the place, where he/she want to listen. Then it can become quite cumbersome. Then I was inspired by how they do on YouTube. After opening the video, a thumbnail appears, when the cursor is touching the "timeline". That way the user can quickly find the appropriate moment to begin watching the video.

Now, I don't know if these thumbnails have been created as part of the video or they are activated by some html/javascript code on the website? Anyway does PowerDirector have a tool to produce such a video with thumbnails eventually by creating the necessary code for the website?

NB! I know "video preview thumbnails" sometimes also might refer to the process when the user hover over a thumbnail for a video before the video is opened, which can create a short series of thumbnails showing the content of the video. I am however interested in the thumbnails being shown when the video is opened/running and the cursor points on the "timeline".

I hope someone can help clarify something here ...

NB! At the moment I have a license for PwerDirector 15.

Regards,

Erik V.
tomasc [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Joined: Aug 25, 2011 12:33 Messages: 6464 Offline