Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Capture Working but not as expected
Bob Mc [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Sep 24, 2009 20:50 Messages: 39 Offline
[Post New]
Hello All..I'm a bit of a newb to PowerDirector8, I'm actually only still playing with the trial version.

Currently I use Pinnacle Studio 12, but I'd like what PowerDirector offers better but before I purchase it I'm running through the trail. One of the things I'm have issues with is the capture. I'm using a VHSC camcorder, Panasonic, that I'm capturing from a VCR. When I capture the content from PD it capture the entire movie as one clip, where as when I capture it through Pinnacle it recongizes when I've paused and it will mark that as one clip, and the next and so on. When I want to edit a specfic clip I can isolate much easier in Pinnacle. Can I get PD to recongize the pauses or something so that it captures the clips indiviually vs as one giant clip?

To give you a better example, is I'm filming a high school football games, to create a highlight video at the end of the season, so inbetween each play i pause, but I film each and every play. When I go to edit the film, to shorten certain clips, or cut out clips or what ever its a lot easier in Pinnacle cause I can isolate that one clip, where as in PD it seems to be very time comsuming, unless I'm doing it completely wrong.

The only option I found in PD was to go through the entire film and do a muti trim and split out each section, but even then I can't really isoiate that one clip, I still have go through the entire time line when I want to trim that one section even after I've segemented.