CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Constant Crash at 5 percent when producing video
Reply to this topic
Envy [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Dec 06, 2019 02:08 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Not sure whats going on but when I try to product a video it goes up to 5 percent but then crashes. It crashed when I use some of the video effects filters on my videos. Once I remove those effect. It doesn't crash

How can I fix?

I checked my Windows 10 logs and saw this

"Faulting application name: PDR.exe, version: 18.0.2204.0, time stamp: 0x5d83442b
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 10.0.18362.418, time stamp: 0x99ca0526
Exception code: 0xc0000374
Fault offset: 0x00000000000f9269
Faulting process id: 0x6ca0
Faulting application start time: 0x01d5ac011b6c9b3c
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDirector18\PDR.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 2ad5f1ce-cfd5-42bf-a49f-4f16a122f74f
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID: "


*Update*. I believe I found the culprit. On one of my video clips I added 3 effects to it. Quake, shaking effect. etc. Now everytiime I load my project. When I click on that one video clip that has the earthquake effect.. it instant crashes the program. Its only when I click on that clip out of 20 clips loaded in my project. I tried deleting it so can continue with the produce but crashes everytime I click on that clip on my storyline. Its impossible to remove without crashing

Program feels not stable when using effects. SMH should go back to Davinci or adobe
 Filename
2019-12-06_3-22-49.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
32 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
6 time(s)
 Filename
2019-12-06_3-20-20.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
32 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
3 time(s)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Dec 06. 2019 03:27

Reply
Bronze_F [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Aug 04, 2015 21:31 Messages: 16 Offline
[Post New]
If it occurs with certain clip only, move the video file to other folder temporarily in windows file explorer.

Moving the file aims to let powerdirector not load it at all after opened your project.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Dec 06. 2019 03:13

Reply
Envy [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Dec 06, 2019 02:08 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Yes. I deleted the file but problem Cyberlink Doesn't delete/remove the effects that were added to the project. So When i click on the black space cause of the deleted clip. It still crashes due to the effects still being loaded
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4419 Offline
[Post New]
Envy, deleting or moving a video clip outside of PD will have the result you noted of a black "missing" clip and all the editing effects still applied.

Since you have isolated issue to the earthquake effect, more than likely a GPU issue since this is an accelerated effect. As such, you might try a few things,
1) make sure nothing is selected in pref > Hardware Acceleration
2) when you produce, make sure nothing in "Fast video rendering technology:" area is selected
3) try to produce and see if crash repeats

Since you have isolated to earthquake effect and you can load effects screen as you showed in pic 2019-12-06_3-22-49.jpg, just delete the effect there by highlighting earthquake and then the "-" negative to remove effect.

Jeff
Reply
Envy [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Dec 06, 2019 02:08 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Thank you for trying to find a solution. I did all those steps you mentioned but yup still crashes at 5 percent.. The culprits out of all my 20 video clips are just two. Those 2 are the ones with Earthquake effects. That i can't seem to delete the effects / clips without Cyberlink Crashing.


2) I was able to quickly click on the black video without crashing and click on "Effects" so i can remove those effects but as soon as I remove an effect it crashes. See screenshot.. Its not just earthquake effect.. It seems any effect "mirror" If i try to remove any of these effects from the video clip.. Instant crash


3) I also tried uninstalling and reinstalling the program twice to see if that helps and disabled my antivirus just in case but that didn't help. I installed the latest graphics driver for my 1080ti Nvidia Sli and latest windows updates too. Never had a crash when working with effects on other programs like Davinci, Wondershare or adobe
 Filename
2019-12-06_9-42-27.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
76 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
4 time(s)
 Filename
2019-12-06_9-45-50.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
47 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
3 time(s)
 Filename
2019-12-06_9-59-52.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
34 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
2 time(s)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Dec 06. 2019 10:08

Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4419 Offline
[Post New]
You are working with a timeline pds file that you have moved all your video, hence all the black 0,0,0 segments shown in 2019-12-06_9-45-50.jpg. Even if it would produce, you'd have nothing but black as all your video in the timeline is replaced with black color boards.

Your two red arrows shown in 2019-12-06_9-45-50.jpg, the first one points to a clip that has no effects applied to it, no orange "i" in left corner so unclear how you think the earthquake effect is at fault there.

Your timeline is 33sec long, the produce operation is fairly linear so a failure at 5% is well prior to the two clips you highlight at approximately the 15-25sec range.

Looks like you may have to start a new project and not use the earthquake effect if you think that's the source of the crash. You might check in pref if you have autosave on and a previous project saved prior to adding some of these effects.

Jeff
Reply
Envy [Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Dec 06, 2019 02:08 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Quote You are working with a timeline pds file that you have moved all your video, hence all the black 0,0,0 segments shown in 2019-12-06_9-45-50.jpg. Even if it would produce, you'd have nothing but black as all your video in the timeline is replaced with black color boards.

Your two red arrows shown in 2019-12-06_9-45-50.jpg, the first one points to a clip that has no effects applied to it, no orange "i" in left corner so unclear how you think the earthquake effect is at fault there.

Your timeline is 33sec long, the produce operation is fairly linear so a failure at 5% is well prior to the two clips you highlight at approximately the 15-25sec range.

Looks like you may have to start a new project and not use the earthquake effect if you think that's the source of the crash. You might check in pref if you have autosave on and a previous project saved prior to adding some of these effects.

Jeff


The reason why its a short video is because I was trying to find out which clip was the reason I keep getting crashes, so even If I delete 80 percent of my project, with leaving the 2 bad apples that I can't get rid of without crashing.. When I click on produce automatically will crash at 5 percent cause that clip is at the beginning of my project.. If you want to see full project loaded. Heres' the proof. 3 min long project that took a whole day to edit, no black 0'0. Clearly the effect is at fault if thats the only reason Im gettig crashed on. It must not be happy with nvidia 1080ti graphic cards

If you're telling me, the only solution i have is to just have to start a whole new project because of some faulty effect Cyberlink provided, I believe that deserves a refund don't you?
 Filename
Full project.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
141 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
2 time(s)
 Filename
2019-12-06_10-40-27.jpg
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
167 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
3 time(s)
Reply
JL_JL [Avatar]
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Arizona, USA Joined: Oct 01, 2006 20:01 Messages: 4419 Offline
[Post New]
Quote If you're telling me, the only solution i have is to just have to start a whole new project because of some faulty effect Cyberlink provided, I believe that deserves a refund don't you?


https://www.cyberlink.com/support/purchase-faq-content.do?id=16356

Jeff
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team